We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place with amazing climate”
Review of El Cafetal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Cafetal Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Atenas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 December 2010

I wasn't sure what to expect here on my last trip but it was great. I stumbled across this place and read that it was not too far from San Jose. It turned out to be a very nice get away. The only tough part was getting the directions right. Make sure you ask clearly for directions to the hotel. The roads are good quality, but curvy in some places.

The hotel was great and very clean. I consider this place higher end (in terms of quality) compared to some other places I have stayed. If you're looking for a comfortable place thats not too far from San Jose, this place is great. The view at night is a great view of the city. When I was there I was lucky enough to have a lightning storm off in the distance. It was amazing to see lightning bolts over the city.

The food was good. The included menu (part of the package I had) was limited in options but if you want to go for the full menu and pay a little extra, they have a great selection. The breakfast was one of the best, if not the best included breakfast at a hotel. Instead of a cheap "continental style" breakfast, they brought out the works. Empanadas, huge selection of fruits, rice and beans, coffee, juice, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2010

This is really a beautiful spot. Rooms are musty from the humidity. Otherwise, it is awesome. Decor, food, staff, surroundings are fabulous. More of a hotel than a B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbjsandwiches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

On our honeymoon to Costa Rica we came upon this gem by looking up hotels in the area on our gps. It was so beautiful in Atenas {mountains and rolling hills} and the hotel owner, Romy, was so kind and welcoming {he said "welcome home" with a warm smile, as we arrived with no reservation} that we just HAD to stay. We also got a great deal; $60 a night with breakfast, 2 people, in the green-season; even though it was at the time, when we returned home, advertised for $100/night.
We were pleased with the beautiful and unique architecture of the house and grounds, the plentiful {all you want!} awesome, and authentic Costa Rican breakfast with grown-there {!} coffee, and breakfast on the cute terrace overlooking the mountains. In the morning {5 to 6 am} you heard the sheep, roosters, and birds from all over the valley, to us a beautiful part of waking up in paradise.
The owner Romy was always pleasant and gave us great recommendations for a fabulous seafood reataurant near-by; he sketched us a detailed and accurate map to get to a waterfall/park a good mountain-drive away. He allowed us our space and at the same time was friendly and attentive. We spent some time getting to know him and how he came to own this little piece of paradise, which was a lovely story and quite enlightening as one day I hope to own and live in a BnB.
Our room had great views, I wish I remembered our room number; comfortable, spacious and had a nice sized patio with a sliding glass door/screen. The days definitely weren't hot {for a Floridian}, nights were cool and we loved leaving the windows open, beautiful breezes and cools down a lot at night {no a/c; we were there in Oct. and really we thought a/c wasn't needed}. There was a huge picture window in our room that was very unique, it was huge and curved, a semicircle; perfect for the breathtaking views! We got some neat pictures sitting in front of it {see my photos!}
There was plenty of hot water, rooms were clean and comfy, no luxury here but clean and spacious, great for our needs. A community refrigerator for guests to use downstairs, and did I mention the breakfast is phenomenal!? The grounds were just, I don't know how else to say, impressive?! and we enjoyed exploring them; there are coffee plants and fruit trees everywhere, and the pool was nice at the end of a warmish day hiking around. It was a good mini-workout, the hike to and from the pool, down the hillside. There were plenty of private areas and beautiful nooks on the grounds, and beautiful vegetation everywhere, with little benches and such here and there for you to chill if you so desired.
We will definitely return to El Cafetal in the near future, and have told friends that frequent Costa Rica, as we do, that this is the place to be when in the vicinity of the airport or north of there {San Jose} and perfect if you are in between San Jose and the Pacific coast. We stayed for three nights, and could have easily stayed for a week! {or forever}
This was a real Costa Rican hotel/bed and breakfast. It wasn't an American hotel. It was our favorite surprise find on our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endiaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Relaxing place but the owner can be friendly then moody. Very uncomfortable to be around. No warning if restaurant is closed for the evening. Beware the place has bed bugs. Would not go there again due to the uncleanliness of the rooms. Bed sheets don't get changed daily.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kooger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We didn't get a chance to enjoy this place for very long - we were only there for less than a day due to our flight time out of San Jose. The gardens were beautiful and pool was very nice, but a bit dirty. The room was small and very dark, but one of the walls was a gorgeous curved window that overlooked the garden. I loved all the romantic nooks and crannies on the property - it was easy to find a quiet place to relax. One problem we had was with leaving in the morning. We had to leave at 5:15 am (we told staff), but struggled to find a way to exit the house since the front doors were locked (we only had a key to our room). Luckily we found a key in the back door, which I could not lock again when we left.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler27704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atenas hotels
1.4 km away
Eden Atenas
Eden Atenas
#2 of 7 in Atenas
143 reviews
8.4 km away
The Retreat Costa Rica
5.2 km away
Barons Resort
Barons Resort
#2 of 4 in Atenas
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Hotel Colinas del Sol
5 km away
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
3.1 km away
Hotel Boutique Villa Toscana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cafetal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cafetal Inn

Address: Carretera Sta. Eulalia | 100 mts norte de la Iglesia de Santa Eulalia, Atenas 20505, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Atenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Atenas
Price Range: $112 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cafetal Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your El Cafetal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cafetal Hotel Atenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing