We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
17
5
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
5
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2016

This review was long overdue and the reason we write it now is for the reader to compare the experience in Archipelagos apartments with what we had experienced in other places more recently - Tenerife and Gran Canaria (coming soon). That seems to us the most fair way to rate something.
The apartment was spotless clean. Mrs Vicky-the owner- was cleaning the apartment , changing linen and all every second day, bringing us sweets, eggs, etc, many times.
It is located 1,5 km out of Arkassa facing the west and the fantastic sunsets, directly, with unobstructed view.Being isolated means peace and quiet. The wind was medium-strong, blowing mostly from the north- northwest, so the nice balcony was of little use at the end of September and first ten days of October.But at this time of year it was expected to blow. We stayed for 19 days. The apartments are some 200 meters from the sea with nothing in front ,the beach in front is rocky and no good.But the distance from the sea of the apartments is to cleverly not get the sea spray with the winds. The good thing was that we never used the air condition at night, the temperature was really pleasant.The wifi was good. The sea was warm, around 24-26 C. And we came only for real swimming, making kilometers , no sun frying.
For the best swimming one has to cross to the south east side, so a car is needed, the west being most of the time under the waves.
it was one of the best sea experiences we had.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pathfinder_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

I booked the studio in Archipelagos in March 2015 after reading the nice reviews at booking.com and tripadvisor. We arrived at Karpathos 2 days prior to the notorious "EU referendum crises" in Greece. Our hosts were a bit concerned about the outcome of the referendum, but nobody was seriously upset about the politics: they were more concern regarding the cancellation of the guests from Western Europe. When we arrived in the morning, our studio on upper floor was cleaned and ready (No.5), as I asked in my email, for which I would like to thank Irini again. Studio was specious and clean, sheets and towels changed every two days, view from the terrace spectacular: like full HD 16:9 picture :-). Bed was very firm, but that is usual on Greek islands, we got used to it (the only exception was very comfortable bed in "Vicky III" hotel at Lesvos).
Our hosts were nice family ready to meet all our needs. We had several breakfasts during our stay of 18 days. The breakfast was delicious,served in our room and pretty much the same every day (fried or scrambled egg, home made pastry with slice of bread, butter, honey, jam, slices of cheese and ham, juice, tomato from their own garden and different kind of home made sweets).
Archipelagos studios and apartments are really peaceful, quite and about 1.5km away from the center of Arkasa - a bit strange and not so typical village for a Greek island. Karpathos was our 13th island we visited and I have never seen such a village before: near the sea but not actually on the sea but scattered along the shore with no port, only one very windy beach. This western part of the island is extremely windy and by windy I mean really windy: wind blows 55km/h with gusts of 90km/h. On the other side, it is more quite that Ammoopi, 16km away on the south-eastern part of the island, with its many tourist facilities and 3 nice but somewhat overcrowded beaches. If you want to go frequently to the main village Pigadia, you should better stay in Ammoopi than in Arkasa, since from Arkasa to Pigadia there is about 20km drive on a good but winding road with series of bands.
I am delighted by the island of Karpathos! There are small villages pinned on the slopes of the very steep high mountains, fabulous beaches, not easy to reach, but definitely worth every single effort! We visited all villages and all beaches reachable by car on the paved roads. The only beach we dove on dirt road was Diakoftis, the amazing beach near the airport. Although you could on greeka.com that there were no facilities on the beach, that's not true, there are some sunbeds and umbrellas for rent. For me, the best and most beautiful is Appela beach, located in the middle of the Eastern part of the island, about 40km away from Arkasa. Although you will read on Greeka.com that this beach is most hard to reach, it is not quite true: all the beaches on the Eastern part of the island are more or less hard to reach because you have to turn from the main road and drive very slowly several km on a very steep and very winding and narrow (but asphalt) roads hoping that nobody is coming in the opposite direction. The road to Appela beach is not more difficult for drive than road to Ag.Nikolaos or Kira Panagia beaches, although these roads are wider. But when you reach the beach of Appela after about 4km, you are rewarded by the stunning beauty of the turquoise sea in front of you and steep mountains behind you. The beach is long enough not to be crowded ever.
Another village I would like to mention is Finiki - the small fishermen village across Arkasa (about 1,5km from Arkasa) with its small sandy beach sheltered from with this Maltemi wind, clear water and 3 or 4 tavernas with really fresh fish. There is a small port with fishing boats, couple of vacancies and nothing more. We ate in Marina tavern (also owns sunbeds and umbrellas on this small beach) and in Delphini. Both were excellent.
If you stay in Arkasa, I would like to recommend the Sofia's rent-a-car agency.
Karpathos is one very beautiful, very windy and not so commercialized island, with beautiful beaches, crystal clear sea and kind people.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the sea. Best view for me was in our room No.5.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AletaSerbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015

just excellent - family friendly, and very clean, big and spacious studios with the magnificent view of the sundown.. just a walk outside of the village of Arkasa and near by the beach of agios nicolaos.

Stayed: May 2015
Thank michalis1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2014

The hotel service was very poor and hotel management unacceptable and not professional. The reception, most of the times, was closed and owners unwilling to assist you. They made you feel bad whenever you were calling them for assistance. They were asking us to be out of the room every two days at 11 am to clean it for 15 minutes and then be back again. The cleaniness was very medium and only after our own indications the room became clean. Overall we were not satisfied by the hotels service at all.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MariaGrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2014

This property is run by an extremely nice family who welcomed us very warmly even late on a Saturday night when we arrived. They shared the fruits of their farm as well as their own snacks with us. The room was very nice and overlooked the sea, as they all do (I believe). The kitchen is a bit spare, though we were able to buy a "french press" style coffee maker at the local market as well as a spatula to make an English/American style breakfast. Its location is convenient to the whole island, since it's a small one, and it's very quiet at night. I would recommend it!

Room Tip: Our room was on the far end, and so the wifi signal was somewhat weak in the room but fine on the porch.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews