We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$23
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/11/21
Booking.com
US$23
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/11/21
FindHotel
US$20
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/11/21
PricelineUS$23
Trip.comUS$23
TravelocityUS$23
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,974)
Filter reviews
1,974 results
Traveller rating
591
872
342
103
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
591
872
342
103
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are small pool area budget hotel wardrobe space bophut beach sea view beach front stayed here for nights the main road night market beach bar pools village island thailand massage sunbeds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,974 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2021 via mobile

We stayed at Ibis Samui just a night only. It was value for money. Deposit during check in was required for 500฿ and was return when you check out. Room was small but it is Ibis standard. Room was clean, toilet flushed well, no issue with air con and soft bed. Buffet breakfast was good. Staff at front desk was quite friendly. Room maid was polite. Overall, if you are looking for budget hotel. I would recommend here.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank pangpond_NST
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirill Mokronosov, General Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2021

Dear Khun pangpond_NST,

Thank you very much for positive feedback, we are happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We pride ourselves on delivering a consistently good service throughout and It is a pleasure to read that this was your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to sunny Samui in the near future, and please don't hesitate to also visit other ibis Erawan Thailand hotels in Bangkok, Hua Hin, Pattaya, Phuket & Krabi.

Warm Regards,

Kirill M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2021

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kirill Mokronosov, General Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2021

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 September 2020 via mobile

Travelled here in February 2020 as a family of 4 for 12 nights- just before Covid 19 hit.
As a well travelled family this hotel has to be the worst we had ever stayed at.

The rooms are very misleading and are much smaller than what is shown in the pictures.
There was literally no sun beds last 7am in the morning. But who really wants to get up early on holiday to fight for a sunbed? This is Thailand people, not Benidorm.
The staff at reception were very rude. Did not want to help us change rooms even when we offered to pay.
The food at breakfast was very repetitive every single day- BUT the guy at the omelette station was amazing!
The massages at the hotel are also over priced for the service. Better service at the little places opposite the hotel and they are around 100Baht cheaper.

This hotel is awful BUT Koh Samui is amazing! The people at the restaurants outside the hotel are lovely, they are so happy and grateful.
The Friday night market is a must. We also paid to do an island tour for the whole day which was totally worth the money! (DONT book at the hotel, book at one of the little shops opposite).
The elephant sanctuary is also a great experience as you can feed the elephants.

Would recommend staying elsewhere in Koh samui such as Anantara which is down the road. Also elephant beach club and chi samui beach clubs are amazing and worth the money.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Kirran_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirill Mokronosov, General Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2020

Dear Kirran,

We appreciate constructive feedback on your stay back in February.

Please accept my apologies if our economy hotel facilities & services did not meet your expectations. It is true, our Standard Rooms are only 21sqm, however this size meets the economy ibis standard offered in our hotels worldwide. As you mention there are also several beautiful 5 star hotels in the area that visitors can enjoy. Such hotels indeed offer superior facilities & services, while the rates at the mentioned hotel go well over USD 300/night in peak season. At ibis we aim to offer quality economy accommodation & friendly, professional service at competitively low prices averaging at only USD65/night in February 2020.

I sincerely regret that we were not able to change room to a higher category in peak season. Rest assured our team does their best to honor guest requests whenever possible. In peak season room availability is limited and it is recommended to book higher room categories ahead of time.

On a positive note, we are happy that in overall, you enjoyed your time on this vibrant island. Indeed Samui is famous for its exciting beach club scene and the Fisherman’s Village night market that is near by our hotel is the best on the island.

It is our hope that you are staying safe & healthy during these challenging times. We would be delighted to welcome you back again on this beautiful island once overseas travel restrictions are lifted.

Warm Regards,

Kirill M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2020

This hotel is located in comparately calm area of Koh Samui.

The resort is as you expect an IBIS property. We had connecting rooms for our family with Balcony.

Food options for a vegetarian like me are always limited in a breakfast. We had fruits and bread for us.

In the Lunch and dinner, Wahn suggested we take a Thai Green curry , which she customised for a veg only version.

They provide pick up and drop to chaweng on per person basis at fixed times on advance booking basis. Transportation in Koh samui is expensive.

We reached around 12:30, the rooms were not ready, but by the time we had Lunch, they were made available. The pools and the view from there was Beautiful.

Regarding the hospitality, I saw Kim( Property Manager) herself helping a Honeymoon couple with their luggage while was walking in. When the management has such an attitude, it flows down to the team.

Overall it was a pleasant stay.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank rkmaskara
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirill Mokronosov, General Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2020

Dear rkmaskara,

Thank you very much for the 5 star rating & recommendation! We always appreciate positive feedback and I will be sharing this with the team to serve as an encouragement in continuing to deliver excellent standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to sunny Samui in the near future, as well as other ibis Erawan Thailand hotels in Bangkok, Hua Hin, Pattaya, Phuket & Krabi.

Warm Regards,

Kirill M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2020

Koh samui is a amazing place to visit. The people are so friendly and cannot do enough for you, and it not just because your spending money with them. The hotel in general is nice and clean and the breakfast was quite good. The day we arrived we were told we didn’t reserve a room with garden views and it was just a classic room. The views from our balcony was of a building site. After speaking to reception they agreed to move us after 3 days. I checked the hotel web site and there was no mention of a classic room. We were under the impression all rooms would be garden view. Be careful when booking your rooms.

The breakfast is quite good. They do fresh omelettes on order and have quite a selection of different breakfast options. There’s pork hotdog sausages,eggs,croissants and fresh fruit. There’s is also a good range of traditional Thai breakfast option.

The hotel massage is a waste of money. You can get a far better massage from the little places outside the hotel. There is one opposite 7/11 with orange signs which are amazing!!!

There’s one thing that the reviews on this site don't tell you and that is that the hotel is 95% full of Russian travellers. Everything in the hotel revolves around them. Only they can reserve the sun beds by putting there towels down at 5am in the morning and are allowed to move them when ever they see fit. They never try and integrate with the other 5% of foreign travellers. Even the Thai locals say the same thing....
DO NOT even try and sit by the pool bar on a evening after dinner unless you want to be confronted by a drunk when your sitting minding your own business with your family. The Thai people are great. There so polite and accommodating. They can’t do enough for you. I truly wish I would have know about the people staying here as I would have changed and stayed somewhere else.

One morning we had put our towels out on the sun beds just like all the other people in the hotel were doing and then sat down to have breakfast in the restaurant. My son finished breakfast and went to sit on the sun bed and to his surprise some one had moved all our towels. I confronted the guy sitting on the bed that’s when about 10 other people gathered around us which was quite intimidating. The guy sitting on our beds told me you cannot reserve the beds this way. Even though it was okay for every other person to do this everyday. We were later told that a big fat gentleman had removed only our towels from all of the other so that his relatives could sit there!!!!! Absolutely ridiculous, would expect this in Benidorm, NOT Thailand.

The hotel food prices are a little high. The food sold on the beach on the little fisherman boats is very good quality and half the price. The papaya and mango salad are fantastic a big plate for 100bht. There is also a restaurant opposite and further up from ibis called A.K restaurant, it is AMAZING. It’s a family run place with the mom making fresh food and the young brother and sister front of house. Would definitely recommend this place!

The fisherman’s village is 15 min walk and 5 min taxi from the hotel. They have small markets every Monday and Wednesday with a massive market on Fridays for street food. Would definitely recommend this, cheap and amazing traditional food.
Fisherman’s village is lively everyday of the week but not as busy as chewang.

Also just to let you know the accor membership scheme doesn’t mean a thing at this hotel. It really only counts when used back home.
If you want to visit Koh Samui stay in the Chewang beach area for a lively place or Lamai beach area for a quieter place. Be warned when you stay here.!!!!!! We have travelled to a number of countries and never encountered such hostile people staying in the hotel.
Be warned when you stay here. I WOULD NEVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL AGAIN!!!!!!!!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Raju S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirill Mokronosov, General Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2020

Dear Raju S,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion on the stay at our hotel. We appreciate your comments on cleanliness, friendliness of the staff and our delicious food offer. As an economy hotel brand, we strive to offer quality service & value for money, it is a pleasure to read that we were able to deliver that.

Please accept my apologies for our inability to offer rooms facing the garden. To clarify, our Standard Rooms are facing either our own garden or neighboring hotel, there is no surcharge for either view and room assignment is subject to availability. We do have Sea View rooms available, which come at additional charge and can be pre-booked in advance. This is identical on all our online booking sources. I am happy that our friendly team was able to assist in changing the room at the earliest possible time to fit desired allocation.

I understand that you had an unfortunate encounter with an unpleasant fellow guest. Rest assured we do not condone rude behavior and our team is there to assist with any issue that might arise. I would also like to note that we have a diverse guest mix, which varies greatly based on travel patterns in each region. It is true that February & March traditionally draw large number of North & Eastern European holidaymakers, seeking to enjoy beautiful beaches all over Thailand, while summer months attract Southern Hemisphere guests for the same reason. I would like to re-assure that we do welcome all nationalities with booking channels being open to all customers worldwide.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback. We do regret that you faced unfortunate issues during your stay and hope that we will have a chance to offer our friendly service once again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Kirill M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews