We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No atmosphere!”
Review of Kanda Residences

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kanda Residences
Ranked #61 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed recently for 9 nights. If you want a quiet time then this is for you. Booking.com promoted this property as '1.2k from Centre' - very misleading ! It was a 10 minute taxi ride every time you want to get to Chewang beach.
I booked this property to be able to walk to Centre if needed. You cannot walk to anywhere from here.
There is no pool bar, no activities going on, the beach is gritty & rocky entrance to sea !
The villa set up is ideal for couples staying together, but not for kids. 'Open style' villa once you go through main doors, therefore by daughter's was downstairs and for security either had to lock herself at night or we had to lock her in ...... didn't feel comfortable with this at all.
Breakfast buffet was lovely & staff were very nice...
so in a Nutshell if you want a quiet place with nothing to do and no atmosphere.. this is it !!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank louisedunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KandaResidences, General Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Louisedunn,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We will take it up with Booking,com to correct the information on their site. We always make it very clear that we are 10 minutes from Chaweng. The resort also has free shuttles that run between Chaweng and the resort daily. The resort has 2 bars in upstairs in the upper part of the restaurant and one on the bottom deck of Rockpool. The bars are open from 7am until 11pm at night. We do advertise our-self as a quiet resort with private pool villas, most of our guests wants the peace and quiet that we offer and do not want all the crowds of tourists around all day.
We hope that you will have many fond memories of your stay with us.

Best regards
Kanda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Spent 8 nights at Kanda with all the inclusions of Luxury Escape Deal.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the service was impeccable.

Check in was simple and the escort to and around our villa was exceptional.

We stayed in a 2 story villa (number 5) which was very well appointed with amazing views. Downstairs was the kitchen, dining, bathroom and lounge areas which were all well appointed. Out to the rear from there was the pool which was refreshing temperature. We had slight sea views from pool.

Upstairs was the Main bedroom & bathroom which was massive in size, along with a great balcony with sweeping sea views. The bedroom and bathrooms were also very well appointed. The villa was a private pool villa but I would like to note that the privacy is not that good. Unfortunately the Villa’s either side can overlook into your private pool and sunbathing area. This was the biggest downfall.

Whilst we were there we had a issue with the air conditioning which was attended to within minutes, again adding to the exceptional service.

Kanda is situated on a cliff which has beach access but the beach is not good for swimming. There are too many rocks. However the location is sensational. The Rockpool Restaurant within Kanda is a fantastic place to spend the evening where once its dark you will see a myriad of local fishing boats out catching squid. Rockpool is one of the better places you will eat on the island. Is subject to another review of mine. You need to take note of the special they continually have throughout your stay. If your lucky to be there for a Sunday Brunch (arvo session) you will be very impressed.

It is a very steep walk back up to the room but I found it was necessary after all the food and beers.

Kanda is only 5 km to Chaweng Beach and they run a shuttle couple times a day. You can get a taxi back for 3 to 400thb, depending on the season. We found that it was better to go over to Fisherman’s Village. If you don’t want the hassle of dealing with taxi drivers, you can use the hotel outside of shuttle times or I recommend using Mr Samui for transport. Mr Samui does tours on the island but also runs transport, which is better than taxi and cheaper.

Overall you will be very impressed with Kanda and I would not hesitate in going back here.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SMT888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KandaResidences, General Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear SMT888,

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor. We are most pleased that you enjoyed our resort and restaurant and had a great stay. We hope that you will have many wonderful memories of your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards
Kanda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I were here for 5 nights. We booked through the luxurious escape. It was our first time in Thailand and we did really enjoy it. We upgraded our villa to the 2 level villa and the view from our room was amazing. The only thing is.. if you are frogs phobia like me, the frogs in here are not scared of humans. They jump on my hubby's leg on our 1st night walking out of the villa. The staff helped us to shoo the frogs away thou, which was very nice of them, but the frogs hid inside the rockwall around the villas outside door. The rockpool bar was great, a little pricey but its a resot restaurant. You would expect any restaurants in any resorts would be more expensive than the restaurants outside. The view from rockpool bar is also very beautiful. The gym was really small.. hard to move around especially when there is another guess using it. The same with the massage place, very small and the massage rooms were only covered by curtains. The massage itself was great thou. I really enjoy the complimentary massages. I sprainned my back muscle and the masseur fixed it up with a massage and tigerbalm. They do need more staff in the massage plc especially in the morning. Sometimes the masseur was half way massaging me and she had to stop because another customers came to book a time. Complimentary cooking class was awesome! One of the highlights of our holiday. The staffs were so friendly and always trying their best. If you want to book some tourists activities like watching muaythai fight, the hotel will help you to book the tickets. All you have to do is pay for the tickets and no other extra cost. When you ask for a cab from the hotel, they provide you with their private car with the same rate as taxi off the street (around 300-500 bath).

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KandaResidences, General Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Jessica M,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the villa and the RockPool restaurant. Koh Samui has many frogs , but they are harmless, we are sorry to hear that you were scared of them. We do though hope that you and your husband will have many wonderful memories of your stay withus and we hope to see you back in the not to distant future.

Best regards
Kanda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

the villa was very large and well equipped, including our own pool of a reasonable size and very private , a large sun bed and two sun lounges, there was never really a need to leave! the breakfast was good, not an extensive choice but all on offer was great, the staff and this place were the best, they were so attentive and friendly, for the first time we took a cooking class, in our villa kitchen, it was such fun and we got so much food it fed us for 2 days, very yummy

Room Tip: we had a room high up was great view but a bit of walk to restaurant and uphill on return, in end us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rosemariie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KandaResidences, General Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear Rosemariie F,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are most pleased that you loved the villa and the cooking class and enjoyed your stay with us. I am not sure if you are aware that apart from the Buffet breakfast you can also order from the Ala cart menu for breakfast it is all included in the room rate. We hope you will have many wonderful memories of your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards
Kanda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

My husband and I stayed at Kanda Resorts with our baby girl in April 2017.

The place was very spacious. I think it may have included a second bedroom etc in the outbuilding but we just rented the one bedroomed main building.

The facilities in the villa were great - fully equipped kitchen and basic toiletries in the bathroom.
Really nice terrace area with private pool. You are quite close to your neighbours though so prepare to potentially hear the family with 3 kids next door!
Lovely view from the bedroom of the ocean.

The dine-in food was delicious and always delivered to the villa promptly.
Really enjoyed the ambience at Rockpool and the food was delicious.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

We had one small mishap with a babysitter who couldn't speak much English. A lady from the front desk came to translate for me, which seemed good at the time but either my directions weren't translated clearly or the childminder just decided to ignore them, because I returned to find the woman playing with my daughter when she should have been in bed.

Location isn't the best but it was perfect for us; we just wanted a chilled weekend away and only popped into town once (it's horrible there!)

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Donna_Duckworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KandaResidences, General Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Donna_Duckworth,

Thank you for the great review on TripAdvisor, we are most pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Kanda. We do hope that you will have many happy memories of your holiday with us and look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Best regards
Kanda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
2.0 km away
Royal Muang Samui Villas
Royal Muang Samui Villas
#2 of 10 in Choeng Mon
813 reviews
2.0 km away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
909 reviews
4.5 km away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#30 of 185 in Bophut
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
22.2 km away
Conrad Koh Samui Residences
Conrad Koh Samui Residences
#4 of 7 in Taling Ngam
84 reviews
0.8 km away
Outrigger Koh Samui Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanda Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanda Residences

Address: 80/32 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Karma Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#40 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#43 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $261 - $1,286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanda Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally-located, elegant, ocean-facing, over-sized pool villa retreat. Five minutes from both Koh Samui International Airport and Chaweng Beach. Choose from One to Three bedroom villas with minimum size of 400 square metres. Grand living area, private swimming pool, outdoor terrace and Thai-style sala (pavilion).Home to "Rock Pool" the iconic beachfront restaurant. Asian Wellness Centre with certified Wat Po Thai Massage therapist, Reiki treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kanda Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Karma Samui Koh
Kanda Residences Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing