We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it was”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Collingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2017

The Wood Hall is an hotel that we have now visited four times, we come back every year to go to the Ebor racing at York and always stay here as we love it so much as you will see is you look at my previous glowing reviews, but something has changed.!!

It began at reception really where the greeting wasn't really the friendly first impression that we usually get, perhaps a little bland I would say whereas in the past you felt like you were their very special guest. They took what they said was swipe of the credit card, which obviously gave the young lady a bit of problem, she said her computer was playing up. (I will expand on the so called swipe later)

We went off to explore our room quite happily and all seemed well as we had a cup of tea, this time we had just a classic room so that we overlooked the valley which is beautiful view and we knew that we were more or less assured of that view in those rooms .

We went down to have a bar meal a little while later where the new Operations Manager made himself known to us, nice chap only been there a week but what followed later perhaps he is needed and been bought in for a reason. As we returned to our room we requested more tea and milk from reception which we were told would be sent up. An hour an a half later it arrived after I picked up the phone to see what had happened to it, but the phone didn't work, there was another phone I noticed but not till later. In between a gentleman came to turn down the bed and asked if we needed anything and I asked again for tea and milk which he gladly gave us and then a little later the original request was delivered by the same person.

There were no face flannels in our bathroom but having seen them on the cleaners trolley presumed they would be there when we returned later in the day (NO!!) And neither was the tray replenished in the bathroom either, so no shower cap or other stuff,

On the first morning we went down to breakfast and were asked if we would like toast with our juice and tea or with the meal and we opted for the meal, this didn't arrive and I had to remind the waitress that we had no toast, there was no butter on our table and no tongs for the sugar lumps either and I had to ask for that as well, although if they had been rushed I would have understood but there were three tables of two in there at that time.

Little things that just seemed such a shame after all our lovely visits, then the final straw was when we checked out we were asked did we want to use the same card that the swipe had on their system and we agreed that would be ok and were given an invoice which was less than they said the swipe would hold and off we went.
Then the following day upon checking our credit card I saw that they had taken £48.20 more than we were billed for on the invoice so I rang the hotel (this was Friday 25th August and I was told that the difference would be refunded between 2 and 5 days time but it hadn't been done already due to bank holiday (which is today bank Holiday Monday not last Friday) but soon realised that never before in all the hotels we have stayed in around the world has someone taken a swipe and had to refund money, it became clear that instead of taking a swipe they took full payment and added £100.00 on to our room rate to cover incidentals, but this most definitely isn't a swipe, perhaps this was why the lady was struggling with her computer but the response when I called was not what I expected it to be. No apology just 'Oh you'll get it back in the next 2 to 5 days' Not good enough Wood Hall especially as the payment left the card on the day we arrived 22/8/17 and then we were asked if we wanted to use a different card which begs the question would you have taken it again??..

A letter giving the weather forecast was enclosed with the bill saying they hope to see us again soon, not us Wood Hall and I have read a few other reviews so not just us I fear. The weather over the Wood Hall Hotel & Spa is decidedly Glum .

One good point the beds are comfy

I would have overlooked some of the small things but after the bill that was enough to get me to write this missive, so apologies if it is a little long

Room Tip: Overlook the valley, it is truly lovely and a good pub with excellent food at the end of the road, T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017

Beautiful hotel in lovely grounds. But, we had no toilet roll in our bedroom upon arrival and despite calling House Keeping, Reception and Room Service from our in room phone, there was no answer. So, we ended up sorting it ourselves.

Understaffed reception area meant long waits to check in, out and when asking simple questions.

Despite this, likely would stay again if prices were lower. But, for £221 a night, could certainly get better in the local area.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alisonmC5652UD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Proffesionly run, a warm welcome from all staff,food excellant,spa facilities,couldn't fault it .lovely location,the accommodation was also good,overall would recommend this hotel for a very enjoyable stay ,should have 5 stars not 4 stars

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 564visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

My husband, daughter, son in law & granddaughter visited Woodhall for some photos in the rose garden, to commemorate my daughter's Wedding there in Nov 2015, followed by drinks in the lounge. We waited at least 15 minns...,but no staff came to take an order....had to go & find staff. Drinks took ages to arrive & we were the only guests in the lounge..& another 2 in the bar!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Very pleasant stay. Hotel and grounds were lovely, evening meal was delicious and breakfasts were gorgeous. Location perfect for exploring the area, especially York, Harrogate and knaresborough - all highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 146lorrained
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingham
7.3 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,685 reviews
13.6 km away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
9.9 km away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#2 of 3 in Wetherby
1,850 reviews
8.0 km away
The Bridge Hotel and Spa
3.6 km away
Mercure Wetherby
Mercure Wetherby
#3 of 3 in Wetherby
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wood Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wood Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Trip Lane | West Yorkshire, Collingham LS22 4JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Collingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Collingham
Price Range: $193 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wood Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a country escape for the Scott family, Wood Hall Hotel & Spa in Wetherby remains a tranquil country house hotel where today's pressures seem an age away. Ever since the house was completed around 1790, it has been a place of peace and relaxation. Fittingly, it currently stands next door to a Carmelite monastery, home to a order of nuns. However Wood Hall Hotel is not simply about quiet contemplation: the hotel offers 44 bedrooms, a 2 AA Rosette restaurant and a small health club and spa. Inspire your delegates with our training and meeting facilities, take over the house for your dream wedding or celebrate a special occasion in one of our private dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wood Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Hall Hotel Wetherby
Wood Hall Hotel And Spa
Wood Hall Wetherby
Hotel Wood Hall
Hall Hotel Wood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing