We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
161
54
22
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
54
22
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the river plane trees basque country pays basque charming hotel lounge area swimming pool st jean pied de port each evening up to date michelin star longer stay across the bridge couple of nights on a half board basis day hiking christine
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2017

I was on a group hiking tour and stayed at this lovely hotel in October. This is a gem! The soothing sound of the river running along side the hotel, fresh air. And the food! Fabulous dinners. And beautiful breakfasts in a charming room alongside the river. The service was outstanding. I will definitely go back to the Basque country, if only to stay at this wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WiscExplorer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelArceBaigorri, Propriétaire at Hotel Arce, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear Guest ,

Thank so much for your compliments, we are please to know that you enjoyed our location and our food. We look foward to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Christine Arcé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Went to hotel Arce to eat something and be at a nice envirnonment.

Service was not nice, we asked if we could order something to eat. Straight answer was NO. We then qsked if we could have some cheese. Assiete de fromage? Our answer was yes. No hello, no thankyou, no options, no menu, no nothing.

Finally we had one coke, one beer (bière ambre) and one orangina. And n "assiete de fromage". Pls see picture to get a sight.

Final price 27,50 euros. Can not tell the price of each item as we never got a receipt. I had to walk to reception and ask to pay. Lady diddnt even look at me. She said my card was not accepted. Gave her another one. Finally paid and left. Environment is cool but service is not nice at all and price is crazy.
Pic is not of our cheese plate but size wassimilar. It was pretty good though.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank lcpholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelArceBaigorri, Gérant at Hotel Arce, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the environment.

The restaurant is open for the lunch from 12pm to 2pm, after 2pm normally we can't serve food because the kitchen is close. We try to pleased you and served you a plate of cheese and some drinks. We are sorry to know that you don't enjoyed our special service for you.

We hope we can see you again in our restaurant during the service time to change your mind.

Best regards,

Christine Arcé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

My fifth visit over the past decade or so; this time just for Sunday lunch as we were passing and couldn't resist the temptation to indulge and once again we were blown away by the cuisine - have they turned down that Michelin star ? And the fact that it's still the same team; not just Christine front of house effortlessly efficient, friendly but not over-familiar, (but that twinkle in her eye !) and Pascal conjuring magic in the kitchen, but the staff are largely the same individuals all this time. It must be the best restaurant for miles around. Not a matter of if but when we will return. Soon probably.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank PeterHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelArceBaigorri, Propriétaire at Hotel Arce, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your kind comments , we are delighted to know that you enjoy coming to Hôtel Arcé .Look forward to welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We were so glad to stay in Saint Etienne de Baigorry instead of nearby St Jean Pied de Port with its hustle and bustle, horns honking, and pilgrims coming and going. What could be more idyllic than a large tastefully decorated room with small balcony overlooking a picture perfect river, and going to sleep at night with the sound of the gurgling stream? We checked in mid September and weather had already cooled so meals were being served inside not on the terrace. No matter since the inside dining room is lovely in the evening, and it's great to rest up in the room after a day of sightseeing and then just go downstairs to dinner. We did not notice any other serious restaurants in town, either. As others have said, this small quaint hotel exudes attention to detail. I particularly enjoyed the paintings throughout including in the hallways.

Room Tip: River view rooms with balconies seem to be smaller than rooms across the hall.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank msaioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelArceBaigorri, Propriétaire at Hotel Arce, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Thank you for having choose your place. We are happy to hear that we succeed at making your stay idyllic. We hope that you will come back, maybe to enjoy a diner on the terrace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We stayed here for five days, having previously visited in 2011. We had a room overlooking the river on a half board basis.. The setting is beautiful. The food was really outstanding. Just like eating out in a top restaurant. Breakfast was varied and very good quality. Evening meals were superbly presented and very tasty.
The area is great for walking or cycling. The swimming pool is in a peaceful location across the bridge.
Madame Arce is an excellent hostess.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda58essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelArceBaigorri, Propriétaire at Hotel Arce, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Thank you Madam for this kind comment. I am doing my best to make guests' stays as specials as possible and I am glad that you enjoyed yours as weel as the meals you had. The chef, the team and myself are looking forward seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews