We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach
Nearby Hotels
Amatara Wellness Resort(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$132
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Panwa Hotel(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panwa Boutique Beach Resort(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bandara Phuket Beach Resort(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
By The Sea(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$39
US$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$36/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bandara Villas Phuket(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$253
US$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Korsiri Villas - Panwa(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$160
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mangrove Panwa Phuket Resort(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$49
US$41
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$381
US$335
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (878)
Filter reviews
878 results
Traveller rating
479
255
91
27
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
255
91
27
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeachfront resortloft pool suitesam's kitchenmosaic restaurantlow tidelobby loungesea viewphuket panwa beachprivate beachbeautiful hotelchinese touristsbreakfast buffetfamily suitewelcome drinkkids clubthe general managerquiet area
Filter
Updating list...
571 - 576 of 878 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We (family of 3 plus friends-family of 3) stayed 2nights at the Crowne Plaza in July 2012. The hotel is beautiful. I can't say enough about view. It's amazing. The lobby is gorgeous. Our room was quite a walk away but that's okay. The staff was very helpful. The infinity pool is very nice. We spent a lot of time in the infinity pool so I can't speak for the activities that the hotel provided. The beach was nice but the water was very warm so not quite refreshing. There was a decent selection at breakfast. We had dinner there on the first night and we ordered drinks from the bar when we were at the pool. It was expensive but prices are similar to other hotels we've stayed at. This hotel provides great atmosphere for relaxation so it is a bit of a taxi ride to other areas of Phuket.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NS0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisMartin_HKT, Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2015

Dear NS0903,

Thank you for taking the time reviewing your stay with us and sharing your valuable comments with us and others.
We are glad to read that you have had a very good experience and we are looking forward to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I woke up one Monday morning and decided that it was time for a short break and Phuket being a short flight away from Kuala Lumpur was the obvious choice. Now my friend and I just wanted to get away from work and sit on the beach doing nothing at all. This hotel provided just that and did it exceptionally well.

We requested a pick up from the airport and this was duly arranged by the hotel, the driver was on time and we were immediately whisked away to the Crown Plaza. The lobby of the hotel is absolutely stunning and check in was easy and we were even given a discount when we upgraded our room. As with most hotels in Thailand the staff are extremely polite and friendly and the same can be said for the staff at the Crown Plaza. The hotel is new and beautifully furnished. Breakfast was good and plentiful, I absolutely loved the dragon fruit smoothie...yummy!!!

Being a new property there are some areas that need improvement and the most obvious of which is the quality of housekeeping. But with a little bit more practice Im sure all will be better in a couple more months. The price of food is steep and there is really nothing much near the hotel. However there are ample taxi's outside the hotel, just go negotiate a daily rate and the taxi guy's will take you where you want and wait for you, pay only when you get back to the hotel at the end of the day. Please bargain thats really important. We were there during the weekend so there was a night market that was cheap with everything from food to clothes and everything else in between.

There are ample towels at the pools, lovely day beds and the private beach was just what I needed. Needless to say this was where I was most of the time although I prefered the pool thats near Mosaic (restaurant where breakfast is served) as the kids pool does get a little rowdy. There were some tour groups when I was there however as with most tour groups they leave at about 10 and dont get back till much later in the day.

So its important to note that this hotel is no where near the action of Patong beach but if relaxation is what you need then I definitely recommend the Crowm Plaza Panwa.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smee_7701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisMartin_HKT, Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2015

Dear Smee_7701,

thank you for your comments and review.

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We are a family of 4 (mum, dad, teen daughter and pre-teen son). We had 5 days at the Crowne Plaza + 1 week at the Radisson Blu down the road. We loved the Panwa area - it was a bit of a taxi or shuttle bus ride to get anywhere (about 20 minutes to Phuket town, 45 minutes to Patong, an hour to the airport, etc) but we didn't mind this. We loved that we could go into the busy places when we wanted to, and then escape back to the relative tranquility of Panwa.

The Crowne Plaza is brand new, clean and very well thought-out. The lobby and the view from the lobby when the tide is in is gorgeous. The lobby descends down over 3 levels and features water, stone, fire and a jaw-dropping view of the Andaman Sea.

The rooms were nice, nothing out of the ordinary. The beds seemed a bit smaller than standard queen size. Housekeeping left complimentary bottled water each day.

The 2 pools were both really attractive and right down on the beach. There were kayaks the kids enjoyed using to paddle around the bay. Each of the pools had a restaurant or cafe where you could get a drink, sandwhich or pizza. The main pool's restaurant/bar was also open for dinner and was right down on the beach, with some of the chairs literally in the sand.

Staff were all lovely, polite and helpful. I am amazed that so many of the Thai people are quite proficient in speaking and understanding English.

The breakfast buffet was extensive and included both Asian and western food. Room service and both of the poolside restaurants were prompt and tasty. Prices were ok by Australian standards, but expensive for Thailand.

Where was the happy hour??? I don't think we have ever stayed at a tropical resort that didn't have some sort of happy hour at the pool bar. We missed this, and they missed out on some of our $ by not having it.

There is a mini mart across the road which is much much cheaper for stocking up on basics like beer, soft drinks and snacks. I think there was also one restaurant across the road, but not much else within a short walk.

We fouind a lovely taxi driver who hangs out just outside the Crowne Plaza's driveway (same side of the road) and hired him for several day trips.

We enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza - make sure you spend some time appreciating that amazing lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kd2226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisMartin_HKT, Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2015

Dear kd2226,

Thank you very much for sharing with us and others the details of your very good experience in our property.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon back to Phuket,.

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Bad location far from anywhere! Very bad service really is not suitable to Thailand! Very expensive prices so much more expensive from Europe or the U.S. but hello we are in Thailand! Beautiful beach for swimming but not for low water so that you can not swim. Check-in late evening and clean the room very late and only after that call acceptance!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AVIV a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gagudju, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Aviv A,

Sorry to read your review. I'm having trouble reading your complaint about our service or what you have found expensive......we just may need to find a translator to assist. Perhaps you can get in touch with us, and we can find a way to put things right?

With best wishes
Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Lovely resort hotel but lacks in areas.

My wife and I have just returned from 6 days in Phuket, 6 days of which we spent in a beachfront hotel at the Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach Resort.

Having been regular travellers to South East Asia, we had done a fair amount of research as to where to stay, somewhere peaceful and quiet, away from the crowds.

Arrival:

We had arranged for a private transfer from the Airport and was greeted by a friendly driver (holding up one of those signs at the airport after the baggage claim). Everything was pretty easy and coordinated, so had an easy 40 minute drive to the resort. On arrival, check in was a tad slow but fairly easy, the usual cold drink was offered and quite refreshing.

The lobby is impressive - with huge ceilings, and a view that expands out to the main swimming pool and the ocean beyond. The atmosphere was very relaxed, summery, and modern. (New resort)

The Rooms

Great - very spacious, and the view looks out towards the main pool and the ocean. The big double sliding doors can open up so you can sit on the enclosed balcony. The two queen beds were enormous and oh so comfortable, the bathroom was equally as impressive with a huge shower. All the amenities were there as you would expect.

The Pools

Everything about this resort is water! There is an enormous main pool and a just as big secondary pool with various sections. Surrounding the pool are the obligatory palm trees and the deck chairs. Further down near the beach side restaurant is the infinity pool and the resorts own private beach and sunbaking area / deck chairs etc. Best of both worlds really with the ocean beyond and the all important cocktail service!

Food & Drink

The dining options are great at the Crowne Plaza because you have a choice of Italian, Thai or other traditional western style food . The main restaurant serves the buffet breakfasts in the morning, this however is where the hotel lacks in service, make sure you are seated either early in the morning or attend after 9.30am as the place is struggling to cope, not enough staff were on hand to cater for the rush. The Egg Station where they make you anything you want was particularly lacking, one morning they had only one young lady cooking who clearly lacked any real experience, not totally her fault but she could do with some extra tuition in the art of cooking eggs. Also, if you like bacon with your eggs, you have to ask for it as it always seemed to be hidden away under the cook top for some reason.

The menu items for lunch / dinner etc contained a mix of Western and Thai food.


Being a little far from all the normal goings on in Phuket, there is nothing in the way of bars or restaurants around the Resort, we did however find a gem of a restaurant approx 10 minutes away at the tip of Cape Panwa, the Laem Panwa Restaurant, choose your own fresh fish and prawns as you walk in, so cheap to dine here, $60 - $70 for 4 with drinks. Get a cab from the stand outside.

Fitness & Activities

The gym is great and managed to get some exercise in, also has Kayaks for a paddle around the bay. Definitely recommend.

Conclusion

Great new resort that is perfect for lazing about by the pool or beach, I'd go back here again but please fix up the breakfast shemozle.Less crowds, better value, and the rooms are great.

Room Tip: A room on the ground floor near the secondary pool was great, step from your room to the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank copperiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gagudju, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Copperiw,

Thank you for your review and I hope you enjoyed your trip to Phuket overall. I'm glad to hear you loved the aspect, design and outlay of our resort.

I've shared your comments in relation to your breakfast experience with our staff and fellow management. I understand this has been mentioned a few times by our valued guests either direct to us or via other forums.

In response, we're undergoing a deep round of "sequence of service" training for all our front line staff in the next few weeks. We're giving it our top priority. It is very important we give our staff the tools and knowledge to convert their obvious enthusiasm into amazing service. I have every confidence they can.

On your return I'd recommend a few more bars in the area. Ao Yon beach, just 3 km's south from us, has a few good bars on the beach and Phuket Town arguably has the best restaurants in Phuket. I personally recommend Suay, Raya and Dibuk restaurant.

Thank you for your feedback, and I hope to see you on your next sojourn to South East Asia,

Best wishes
Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews