We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The hotel is very new and this is reflected in how crisp and fresh everything is.
We were surprised at how low the rate was at around USd 350 for a 2 bedroom Family Suite given the quality. (we had left the Angsana which was a disaster)

Both pools are very pleasant and the kids club while small is adequate. The beach and ocean are a bay so very calm waters in high tide and mucky sand in low tide. Great views at the right time, but not an ocean goers favorite.

The service levels are high, and staff go out of their way.
Location is a little off the beaten track but with a car Phuket Town, Chalong, Kata and Patong are very accessible.

Maybe it is new but breakfast and F&B in general are not the strongest suits of the hotel. Not bad, just to great. Quality of product at breakfast is a little weak rather then quantity or variety (processed sausages and cold cuts etc..)

I would hope it maintains the standards and would come back if it did.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor Ocean Facing access the pool directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ioveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisMartin_HKT, Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2015

Dear loveit,

thank you for your review and comments.

Sincerely.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 509 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

We (family of 3 plus friends-family of 3) stayed 2nights at the Crowne Plaza in July 2012. The hotel is beautiful. I can't say enough about view. It's amazing. The lobby is gorgeous. Our room was quite a walk away but that's okay. The staff was very helpful. The infinity pool is very nice. We spent a lot of time in the infinity pool so I can't speak for the activities that the hotel provided. The beach was nice but the water was very warm so not quite refreshing. There was a decent selection at breakfast. We had dinner there on the first night and we ordered drinks from the bar when we were at the pool. It was expensive but prices are similar to other hotels we've stayed at. This hotel provides great atmosphere for relaxation so it is a bit of a taxi ride to other areas of Phuket.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NS0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisMartin_HKT, Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2015

Dear NS0903,

Thank you for taking the time reviewing your stay with us and sharing your valuable comments with us and others.
We are glad to read that you have had a very good experience and we are looking forward to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I woke up one Monday morning and decided that it was time for a short break and Phuket being a short flight away from Kuala Lumpur was the obvious choice. Now my friend and I just wanted to get away from work and sit on the beach doing nothing at all. This hotel provided just that and did it exceptionally well.

We requested a pick up from the airport and this was duly arranged by the hotel, the driver was on time and we were immediately whisked away to the Crown Plaza. The lobby of the hotel is absolutely stunning and check in was easy and we were even given a discount when we upgraded our room. As with most hotels in Thailand the staff are extremely polite and friendly and the same can be said for the staff at the Crown Plaza. The hotel is new and beautifully furnished. Breakfast was good and plentiful, I absolutely loved the dragon fruit smoothie...yummy!!!

Being a new property there are some areas that need improvement and the most obvious of which is the quality of housekeeping. But with a little bit more practice Im sure all will be better in a couple more months. The price of food is steep and there is really nothing much near the hotel. However there are ample taxi's outside the hotel, just go negotiate a daily rate and the taxi guy's will take you where you want and wait for you, pay only when you get back to the hotel at the end of the day. Please bargain thats really important. We were there during the weekend so there was a night market that was cheap with everything from food to clothes and everything else in between.

There are ample towels at the pools, lovely day beds and the private beach was just what I needed. Needless to say this was where I was most of the time although I prefered the pool thats near Mosaic (restaurant where breakfast is served) as the kids pool does get a little rowdy. There were some tour groups when I was there however as with most tour groups they leave at about 10 and dont get back till much later in the day.

So its important to note that this hotel is no where near the action of Patong beach but if relaxation is what you need then I definitely recommend the Crowm Plaza Panwa.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smee_7701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisMartin_HKT, Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2015

Dear Smee_7701,

thank you for your comments and review.

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We are a family of 4 (mum, dad, teen daughter and pre-teen son). We had 5 days at the Crowne Plaza + 1 week at the Radisson Blu down the road. We loved the Panwa area - it was a bit of a taxi or shuttle bus ride to get anywhere (about 20 minutes to Phuket town, 45 minutes to Patong, an hour to the airport, etc) but we didn't mind this. We loved that we could go into the busy places when we wanted to, and then escape back to the relative tranquility of Panwa.

The Crowne Plaza is brand new, clean and very well thought-out. The lobby and the view from the lobby when the tide is in is gorgeous. The lobby descends down over 3 levels and features water, stone, fire and a jaw-dropping view of the Andaman Sea.

The rooms were nice, nothing out of the ordinary. The beds seemed a bit smaller than standard queen size. Housekeeping left complimentary bottled water each day.

The 2 pools were both really attractive and right down on the beach. There were kayaks the kids enjoyed using to paddle around the bay. Each of the pools had a restaurant or cafe where you could get a drink, sandwhich or pizza. The main pool's restaurant/bar was also open for dinner and was right down on the beach, with some of the chairs literally in the sand.

Staff were all lovely, polite and helpful. I am amazed that so many of the Thai people are quite proficient in speaking and understanding English.

The breakfast buffet was extensive and included both Asian and western food. Room service and both of the poolside restaurants were prompt and tasty. Prices were ok by Australian standards, but expensive for Thailand.

Where was the happy hour??? I don't think we have ever stayed at a tropical resort that didn't have some sort of happy hour at the pool bar. We missed this, and they missed out on some of our $ by not having it.

There is a mini mart across the road which is much much cheaper for stocking up on basics like beer, soft drinks and snacks. I think there was also one restaurant across the road, but not much else within a short walk.

We fouind a lovely taxi driver who hangs out just outside the Crowne Plaza's driveway (same side of the road) and hired him for several day trips.

We enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza - make sure you spend some time appreciating that amazing lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kd2226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisMartin_HKT, Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2015

Dear kd2226,

Thank you very much for sharing with us and others the details of your very good experience in our property.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon back to Phuket,.

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Bad location far from anywhere! Very bad service really is not suitable to Thailand! Very expensive prices so much more expensive from Europe or the U.S. but hello we are in Thailand! Beautiful beach for swimming but not for low water so that you can not swim. Check-in late evening and clean the room very late and only after that call acceptance!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AVIV a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gagudju, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Aviv A,

Sorry to read your review. I'm having trouble reading your complaint about our service or what you have found expensive......we just may need to find a translator to assist. Perhaps you can get in touch with us, and we can find a way to put things right?

With best wishes
Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
2.3 km away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
19.7 km away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
2.6 km away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
37.9 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
5.5 km away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach

Address: 8/88 Moo 7, Sakdidech Road | Vichit Sub-District, Muang Phuket District, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range: $169 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hideaway in Phuket, yet just a stone’s throw from Phuket Town and a short drive to Patong, Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach is exclusively set in Makham Bay. This beautiful Phuket resort draws design inspiration from the rich heritage of the area with its marbled floors, rich woods and flowing water throughout the public areas and guest rooms, offset by contemporary art, light and space. The resort boasts two beachfront pools serviced by bars and restaurants. A third beachfront pool is semi-private for those who choose to stay in our Panwa Duplex Lagoon, some of the finest Phuket accommodations. Our lobby bar is elevated over Makham Bay to take full advantage of the wooded headlands, jagged cliffs and nearby islands. Suites feature baths by the bay window and all guest rooms have a separate bath from shower. All rooms have private, furnished balconies and free Wi-Fi connectivity that is easy to access throughout the resort. Our chefs are masters of traditional Royal Thai cuisine. We also have an Italian Patio set on the beach to take advantage of the Phuket weather and romantic twilight. Our activities manager can organise everything from evening beach campfires, kayaking trips to nearby islands or cooking classes. A tour desk is available so you can explore the island and surrounding waters. We also feature a signature spa for the ultimate in relaxation, Panwa spa. A supervised kids club, gym and cafe complete this fine beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach Cape Panwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing