We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Porters
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lone Star Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2016

We stayed in the Cadillac Suite as a family of 4, with 2 teens in the living room. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, with an amazing restaurant to eat in every day, beautiful views of the sea, and our room was wonderful. We had a few minor issues with the air con which the staff were happy to sort out immediately. The butler was a nice touch too.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend the Cadillac Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galsy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2016

No other resort will hold a candle to the Lone Star. We stayed in the Buick. It exceeded our expectations for comfort, quality, and convenience. The king bed was comfortable, the bedroom and bathing areas were spacious, the outside balcony/deck were perfect when we needed away from the sun and the hospitality SUPERLATIVE! I loved that the resort was small and that we were not subsidizing the activities of other people. We had our pick of where to lounge on the beach. The other visitors staying at the resort were friendly, respectful travelers. Liesel, Kristian and Camille worked hard to book activities (golf, massage, personal trainer, catamaran, restaurants, drivers etc), answer our queries and checked in with us throughout the day to ensure we were having a great time. I will say that it was noticeable when Kristian had a day off. The beach service was not up to his standard because he delivers a rare level of excellence. We also missed his jokes and fun! We were able to swim out and snorkel without a tour, in order to see a stingray and a sea turtle. I do recommend buying fresh aloe vera at the beginning of the week from one of the beach vendors. It saved my skin. The housekeeping staff were timely, kept us stocked in toiletries and fresh towels, as well as bottled water. I would book for Christmas, but they are already full which made my heart sink. We cannot wait to return to the Lone Star. The staff have high standards, but they are not uppity or snooty. We slept like dead people and the room was quiet save for the sound of the surf. They are a staff comprised of fun, professional and caring individuals. My only quibble is that I am a coffee addict and there was no coffee maker in the room. I awoke at 7 am daily and coffee was not available at the restaurant until 8:30 am. I would have loved to have enjoyed my coffee out on the deck whilst my lover slept in. I would suggest having in room coffee or a coffee service set up in the restaurant from 6 am on. I researched a lot of places before choosing the Lone Star and we have absolutely no regrets!

Room Tip: All rooms have a spectacular view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nannibears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016

Just got back from a Wonderful stay in the Buick room. The room was very large and the balcony was enormous with a perfect view of the ocean. About half the time we enjoyed our breakfast from the balcony. The staff could half not been better. Liesel helped us with renting a car, restaurants and a sail. Kristen (sp?) beach service was great. The snorkeling off the beach was good and a you can swim with a few turtles in front of the hotel. If we come back to Barbados we will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iseveryusernametaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

Having travelled extensively and stayed at many lovely resorts on the Island of Barbados, The Lone Star Boutique Hotel is a real hidden gem! It really cannot get any better. The suits are spacious and very well equipped. Everything you would need for a relaxed, luxurious, hide away vacation. Every aspect of comfort has been thought of even a 'welcome' bottle of Rum Punch, bowl of fruit, tea/coffee making facilities. Preferential, beach front seating in the wonderful restaurant too. Just perfect. We are staying in The Shelby, a ground floor apartment with five other individually designed apartments - ideal for a large family vacation offering privacy and own space.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank GillianWalker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016

My husband and I stayed in the Buick room for a week in December 2015 and had a fabulous stay.

We arrived late evening and received a really warm welcome. Three people escourted us to our room, wouldn't let us lift the smallest of bags and ensured we had everything we needed.

There was welome rum punch (it'll wake you up after a long journey!), cookies and a lovely welcome note from our butler. The room was huge, with a four poster bed, massive bathroom and great wardrobe space. The balcony was huge and as we were straight on the beach, had a fantastic view. The renovations have been done with great care and attention to detail.

As the restaurant is one of the best on the island we were slightly concerned it would be stuffy, but nothing could be further from it. All of the staff were friendly and happy to chat and have a laugh. Our butler, Kristian, was great and checked regularly if we wanted anything and always made sure we had regular top up of drinks when we were sunbathing. There are sunbeds allocated to residents just outside the rooms and we didn't feel overlooked by those dining in the restaurant.

The cocktails were top notch and expertly made by O'Brian, Stefan and David (with a big dose of humour on the side).

Breakfast was included and you chose what you wanted off the menu (top tip, try the banana bread). All dining is silver service and of the highest quality and cooked to perfection. The chef used to work at the Burj (7 star) in Dubai and Sandy Lane, so he came with good credentials.

The Lone Star is in a great location, with St James Parish probably the best location on the island with stunning beaches.

If you haven't been to Barbados before, all of the Bajan people are so friendly, so proud of their island and made us feel really welcome. You can't help but want to go back.

We'll be going back soon, but will only stay at The Lone Star.

Room Tip: There two blocks of rooms, either side of the restaurant. Choice of beach view or garden view. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseB1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porters
1.2 km away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
4.9 km away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
631 reviews
19.7 km away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,091 reviews
16.7 km away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
353 reviews
4.7 km away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Star Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Star Boutique Hotel

Address: Mount Standfast | St. James, Porters, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range: $475 - $1,221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lone Star boasts a distinctive boutique hotel offering a sophisticated yet comfortable retreat. Comprising of 2 penthouses, Cadillac & Lincoln, 2 ocean front suites, Buick and Studebaker, 2 deluxe garden rooms, Shelby & Corvette. The Shelby and Corvette, each named in honour of an automobile legend, have recently been renovated to the highest standard. Cadillac, Buick and Studebaker are spacious rooms combining polished mahogany floors, 4 poster beds and sumptuous fabrics exuding simple elegance. Each features a private terrace with uninterrupted views of the turquoise ocean. Corvette and Shelby are situated in the coral stone Beach house. Beautifully restored and upgraded featuring garden terraces and glimpses of the ocean. Both rooms have direct access to the beach. Lone star is less a hotel and more your very own Caribbean respite where our own staff will cater to your every need! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Lone Star

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing