We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal with a wonderful chef - a place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Duong To
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This is my first ever review but I felt I owe it to all the staff here to do, so sorry it's taken so long. We stayed mid December 2011 and it is a new hotel which we loved as we often had the pool to ourself or with one other couple, so it was very relaxing after our 5wks traveling around Vietnam (staying in all types of accommodation-youth hostels to other 4star hotels). We walked along the beach and from appearances we decided that yes we had the best hotel, and after having average food elsewhere we just stuck to our hotel food which is usual for us! We loved the red flags on the recliners so we could just wave it for a drink or food. There is an amazing French head chef who is training the staff really well. My boyfriend wanted to propose to me so he talked to the manager and they went out of their way to make it special. We had a table right on the edge of the sea so we were separate from other guests, surrounded by candles and decorated with flowers. We had a 4course meal and wine all selected by the head chef (as my boyfriend isn't a foody like me so wouldn't know what to choose), which was all amazing and personally served by the head chef (so we had him to ourselves for the night for no extra cost - only the cost of the meal!) I was very surprised about some reviews saying food ok but not special - we stayed 1wk and the food was great esp breakfast where there was everything you could think of: a chef cooking eggs/omlettes/french toast adding exactly what you want, different vietnamese cakes, fruit, fry up food, salads, cold meats - we looked forward to breakfast everyday. I loved the decor of the rooms, the wooden bath is lovely and deep and the ponds and flowers around the rooms are kept lovely - the trickling water from the ponds are lovely to wake up to. My boyfriend looked forward to the sweet treat that would get brought to our room every evening - we loved the surprise. So yes this is a new hotel with trainee staff but we found it more endearing than a negative as they are so willing to please and be personal to your needs; and it isn't crowded or noisy! We were saying that we were glad we stayed here before it become established and therefore more busy. The only thing that I think would improve the hotel is that they should not have the same Philippine band on every night, even if it's just music over a sound system, because if the band isn't to your taste it's a shame to be stuck with it every night if you want to eat on the beach (this is applies only the beach restaurant there is another restaurant which is exquisite but we love to eat on the beach). It is a quiet place perfect for relaxing but you can hire a bike and go and explore the rest of the island - development is in progress so I say to experience authenticity go asap. Not all the roads are completely tarmac but I'm a learner and it's not to bumpy just very dusty on some roads (take sunglasses or you'll struggle to keep your eyes open). The hotel offered great trips but we just chose to go and explore alone. Personally we thought this hotel looked better than La Veranda and find the previous negative comments strange! Ps we saw a wedding here and they used the bridge over the large pond as an aisle to their beach wedding - very beautiful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 114 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

After a 2 week trip through Vietnam we spent 5 perfect days at this resort and enjoyed the stay tremendously. The resort is beautifully designed, the rooms well equipped ,the staff charming and always helpful.In the beach restaurant on our last evening we had the opportunity of participating in a cooking class, directed by the French executive chef, Hugo Barberis.He had prepared to cook with us a typical Vietnamese dinner : spring rolls, fish and a delicious dessert. Hugo is a highly qualified chef and an excellent instructor for amateurs.
We had a most entertaining and interesting evening,the result of our activity was perfect and we can highly recommend this cooking class to guests interested in Vietnamese cuisine.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Just spent 7 days here. The setup of the hotel into 9 different buildings is great. Each building has 8 rooms. The rooms are good and clean. Lots of wood carvings which makes it a little dark unless drapes are open. Lots of lush vegetation,ponds with lotus plants, water fountains.

The best part of the resort was the staff....very friendly and helpful and fun if you engaged them.

Breakfasts OK. Had Italian food on the beach 1 night...not great but the Asian food in the restaurant was fantastic. We were sorry we did not try prior to our next to last night.

Only down point was wifi service being so sporadic but I needed to remember I was on holidays after all.

Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susietraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We recently celebrated our daughters wedding at Long Beach Ancient Resort. The ceremony was held on the resort's beach and the reception in a covered area within the resort grounds. The venue is absolutely idyllic for a wedding. The scenery, sunsets and architecture are amazing and these all lend themselves beautifully to wedding photography.

The reception was beautiful, the table layout gorgeous, staff attentive, food and service superb. Management, and in particular Mr John (Truong), were really helpful and keen to make the wedding as successful as possible.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billyNewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This resort is beautiful, the rooms are comfortable (apart from the too hard mattress!), the food (and the chef) was great and the location was fantastic (close enough to get into town but also quiet). The one thing that lets it down is that while the staff are doing their very best to be attentive and helpful, on the whole their standard of spoken english is poor.
We were there over Christmas and were treated to fantastic hospitality from the staff, all overseen by the widely grinning Malaysian who no doubt was the manager.... who despite often being visible and propping up one of the bars, never approached any of his guests. If you are indeed the manager then you ought to acknowledge how good your team is and should invest in improving their English and reduce the frustration of your guests (something I think many of your guests would have told you if you had asked!!)
Don't let that put you off staying, it is a slice of paradise and provides an idyllic holiday experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong To
1.4 km away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 49 in Duong Dong
628 reviews
24.1 km away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Ganh Dau
474 reviews
0.4 km away
Paris Beach Village Phu Quoc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Langchia Village Resort
Langchia Village Resort
#4 of 16 in Duong To
192 reviews
8.1 km away
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#12 of 49 in Duong Dong
197 reviews
0.6 km away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 113 in Phu Quoc Island
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc

Address: Cua Lap Hamlet, Duong To, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong To
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Duong To
#4 Spa Hotel in Duong To
#4 Luxury Hotel in Duong To
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Duong To
Price Range: $97 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stretching along the pristine beach, Long Beach Resort with 72 rooms open in the first phase possesses a unique architecture of Vietnam traditional village. The resort offers a new standard of exclusive and bespoke indulgence. Our unbridled luxury with obvious attention to design, details and pure escapism making the resort stand out in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing