We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,099)
Filter reviews
5,099 results
Traveller rating
947
2,038
1,158
530
426
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
947
2,038
1,158
530
426
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstandard roomjolly beach resorta la carte restaurantsjerk chickenseafoodann marieentertainment staffsupersaver roomswim up barsuper saver roomcoconut grillstar resortquiet poolthe main buffet restaurantindian foodthree stargo with an open mind
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 5,099 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this resort from April 7-14 travelling from Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada. For comparison we have visited Cuba 8 times and Punta Cana 1 time. This was our first visit to Antigua which was a wonderful country with wonderful people.

Super Saver Room:
The room was small but was fine for two people. I think it was something like 40+ USD per night to upgrade so wasn’t interested. The room had an iron/ironing board, hair dryer, and used 110V plugs same as Canada so no need for converter. The closet was small but included about 13 hangers and we brought a few of our own. We had enough to hang all shirts/dresses for the week and just lived out of our suitcase for the rest. There were also a couple of small shelves in the closet to stack things. A bar fridge would have been nice but no big deal. The bed was big enough for two people and comfortable. Good sized balcony with a great view of the ocean. Well worth $15 USD for the safe lock. There was also an alarm clock. Hot water most of the time except for peak hours. Good water pressure. Overall, definitely a small space but was completely fine.

Front Desk:
They were great. Very friendly when we arrived. Also, had an issue where our toilet didn’t work and was missing one balcony chair. They responded quickly to both issues so very happy with quality of service.

WiFi:
Had good free wifi reception in the lobby and games room, and sometimes could get it on beach.

Bars:
Bar staff was fantastic, particularly at the main bar - Robyn, Neil, Rowan, and so many more. They made the evenings so much fun, danced around, and had a great time. I really like the main bar layout as it’s a wrap around with lots of room for everyone to wait for a drink. Much better than those lobby bars where everyone is crammed up front to wait for a drink. The pool bar was ok too but I didn’t get the same excitement at the pool. The entertainment staff did a good job but around 5:00 it just went dead. When they start playing the theme song to Titanic (elevator version) it’s hard to stay in the party mood. Also harder to get served at the swim-up part of the bar. I loved that they kept ice water dispensers at all the bars and buffet so you can easily fill up your own water bottles all week. We brought a couple water bottles in our luggage and bought a few from the supermarket. Worked great and never had an issue since the resort doesn’t leave water in your room. Also never had an issue drinking the resort water.

Food:
The food was fantastic and much better than anything we had in Cuba or Dominican Republic. The Coconut Grill has good cheeseburgers, baked potatoes, jerk chicken, etc. The only thing I didn’t care for at the grill was the pizza. They microwaved little pieces of cheese pizza and wasn’t very good compared to everything else. We enjoyed the buffet lunch the most - chicken, scallop potatoes, fish, coleslaw, potato salad, etc. Very tasty. I ate the salads and everything all week and had no stomach issues at all. Breakfast at the buffet was also really good. We tried the Mexican and Italian a-la-cartes and both were fantastic. Italian was the only one that required long pants and closed toe shoes for men. We never made it to Lydia’s (Seafood) but heard it was quite good. There is also a Sunday brunch there which we issued. They also had the buffet on the beach one night and then another night had BBQ with ribs, chicken, baked potatoes, corn on the cob, and salads. Excellent! There is also a $35 USD lobster dinner option on Wed and Fri (I think those were the days). There is also a self serve coffee machine in the buffet so would normally go there to fill up our mugs in the morning for a coffee on our balcony before breakfast.

Entertainment:
The evening entertainment was amazing. I haven’t seen this quality at any other resort we visited. Plus, most shows were right by the main bar so very convenient. The Carnival Beach Party, Fire Limbo Show, Steel Drum Bands, and Rock Band were all fantastic.

Beach:
Amazing! Definitely rivals Cuba. So many great pictures of that turquoise water. They were building lots of new shade structures while we were there.
You can also walk down the beach to Jolly Harbour. Lots of vendors, and Nathan the Aloe guy stomped his feet angry when we wouldn’t buy, but all vendors for the most part professional and courteous. The souvenir vendors had better prices than the gift shop or airport. I was surprised by the volume of vendors soliciting us, but of course it is a public beach.

Excursions:
We did the Extreme Speed Boat Tour. Although a bit pricey at $170 USD per person, it included snorkeling, lunch on private beach, Stingray City, water tour of Nelson Dockyard, and a wild ride on both the Caribbean and Atlantic side of the ocean. We also paid $1.50 USD per person each way to take #20 bus to St. John’s. Nice to walk around and visit the shops. Always felt safe. We wanted to do more but found that everything was quite expensive in terms of cabs and shuttles. The supermarket is within walking distance and has lots of supplies at reasonable prices.

Summary:
Highly recommend this resort. The 3* rating may be the aging of the buildings but does not reflect the service, food, and staff. Excellent Vacation.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
11  Thank TASMiramichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikhail S, General Manager at Starfish Jolly Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear TASMiramichi,

Thank you for choosing Starfish Jolly Beach Resort and Spa as your holiday vacation destination and sharing your amazing experience with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our friendly and helpful teams, cuisine of our Restaurants, excitement of our Bar with a variety of Entertainment and more.

Your commendations are appreciated and will be shared with our teams, especially Robyn, Neil, and Rowan, as they truly enjoy providing a great vacation experience.

It was a pleasure having you with us and will keep providing the great service that you will continue to love on your next visit.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,

Rudy Richardson,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

I must say that there a lot of mixed reviews for this resort so I was very skeptical about booking. However, I usually follow my gut feelings about destinations and my gut hasn't failed me yet.

Starfish Jolly Beach was GREAT with a few sprinkles of missteps but definitely a great vacation.

Let's begin.

- check-in was smooth and done right at the airport (sunwing). when we arrived to the resort, we were greeted with cool rum punches and smiling faces who ushered to bellman who drove us to our rooms.
- our room was small but definitely clean and all we needed was provided: furnished balcony. multiple towels, toiletries and a flat screen tv. A lot of people complained about the closet space. Our closet had about 10 hangers and shelves - we were fine. plus, there was high clean shelf above the closet as well as a night stand and vanity with stool.
- we arrived on a wednesday which is carnival night. There was a BBQ by the large pool, music and employees dancing in carnival costumes. A great welcome to the jolly beach resort.
-initially food was luke warm but by the 2nd day we completed surveys - noting the lack of heat in food - and the problem was fixed immediately. Reception even called my room for clarify some of the comments. Well done
-breakfast, lunch and dinner is served at hemisphere. Small buffet selections but good options and tasty meals. There is an omelette station as well chef stations for meat carvings or pasta dishes,
- 3 a la cartes are avaible: italian, mexican and seafood. we enjoyed all of them. They claim that you have to call one day prior to book reservations but if you are not picky about time, you can get a same-day reservation; which we did often.
- lunch is also served at the coconut grill, a pool side stop that shells out cheese burgers, jerk chicken, salalds, fries etc. VERY GOOD and a staple of our vacation. closes around 4:45 p.m.
- ALL YOU CAN EAT LOBSTER is offered on Fridays and Mondays with a charge of $35 USD. The meal is pool side and ambiance is great. However, "all you can eat" is a bit of a stretch, Each order includes half of a lobster either served grilled or thermidor (in a cream sauce) and if you should make it to your 4th order or lobster, the chefs as well as the servers will inform you that they are preparing meals for the other patrons first and will get to you when they can. My husband waited for his 4th order for over 30 minutes and finally gave up when i informed him that hemisphere was having a backyard BBQ with ribs and steel pan. So we left but it was good nonetheless just not "all you can eat".
- Jolly harbour is short walk from the resort and has beautiful yachts, some for hire. There is also a small plaza of shops and grocery store/supermarket across the street. They have great prices on alcohol - better than duty free in my opinion.
- One of the reasons I chose Jolly Beach was because of its picturesque beach and it did not disappoint. SO BEAUTIFUL and goes on forever. We took a walk to the end of the beach and every 5 minutes there was more beauty to be amazed about. Truly a gorgeous and calm beach.
- Nightly entertainment is pretty good; especially for a 3 star. Backyard BBQs, Carnival night, Fire breathers, Beach Bonfires, Karaoke Night, All-white party etc
- Day entertainment was not enticing to me but good for my husband. Volleyball, Cricket, Aqua fitness, Bingo, and Drinking Games. We rented Kayaks for free but Jet Skis are $50 USD for 30 minutes. The resort also offers free rentals of paddle boarding.
- Along the beach , you will find beach vendors; some with decently priced goods. Some vendors will work out deals multiple purchases.
- There are 2 pools: the Fantasy pool with swim up bar, volleyball net and large waterfall. The waterfall area is TO DIE FOR. it is gorgeous and made of stone. When you first approached, you notices steps. after ascending the steps there is a smaller Jacuzzi-like pool and ascend to the next level to find a great chilling area. Ascend high to find beautiful flowers and large stones near a Gazebo. All the while, water is flowing from the top of the waterfall to the pool. GORGEOUS!!!!! the other pool is smaller and more laid-back/quiet.
- We did an island tour to: English Harbour, Nelson's Dockyard, Shirley heights, Dows Hill Interpretation Center, and Devils Bridge. SO BEAUTIFUL - the views, the scenery, the vegetation...
- The following day we explored St. Johns - our sunwing representative gave us a map and noted the important spots so we followed his suggestions and they were great. We were a group of 4 and happy to do the tour on our own. We felt very safe in town and would recommend doing just we did, It was great, we stayed as long as we wanted and visited only the spots that we were interested in: Kings Casino, Museum of Antigua and Barbuda, The police Starion, The fire station, The Antiguan Cathedral, The recreation center, The Bust at Heroes Park, Heritage Quay (duty free shopping)
- The weather was super hot but it did rain a few days. The rain was literally liquid sunshine. Light sprinkles of water while the sun was shining and blue skies. Nights were on the cooler side but i get Cold easily
- Even the resort itself is a site to see. It definitely needs some reservation but definitely has a great charm about it. It has personally unlike some of the newer resorts which resemble apartment buildings. Starfish Jolly Beach feels like a resort; which is a requirement for most of my vacations.

Overall, this vacation was a SUCCESS and I would definitely recommend Starfish Jolly Beach for a vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
12  Thank sherrilabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikhail S, General Manager at Starfish Jolly Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear sherrilabelle,

Thank you for choosing Starfish Jolly Beach Resort and Spa as your vacation destination and sharing your holiday experience with us.

I am happy to hear that you had a great vacation enjoying the cuisine of our Restaurants, our variety of events such as the All You Can Eat Lobster Night, regular Entertainment, and more.

Your commendations are appreciated and will be shared with our teams as they made your vacation experience memorable.

Our aim is to provide the best holiday vacation and will keep improving to better your next visit.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,

Rudy Richardson,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

Great Resort. One of the best beaches I have ever seen. Food exceeded our expectations. The a-la cart restaurants are just as good or better then a 5 star resort. This resort is old (nothing fancy) and the rooms show it, but after all it's just a place to sleep. Both pools are old and need major renovations. The swim-up bar pool was closed for the 1st 4 days of our vacation due to maintenance and we did not swim in in either pool all week due to the bad filtration system. The amazing beach made up for the lack of pool time. Great bang for your buck. All the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to satisfy you. I would recommend this resort for the price point alone and will be going back again next year.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank helenandsteve2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikhail S, General Manager at Starfish Jolly Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear helenandsteve2018,

Thank you for choosing Starfish Jolly Beach Resort and Spa as your vacation destination and sharing your holiday experience with us.

I am happy to hear that you had a fantastic vacation enjoying the amazing beach, cuisine of our Restaurants, and friendly teams.

Your commendations are appreciated and will be shared with our teams as they truly enjoy providing a great vacation experience.

We would also like to thank you for your recommendations and have already made the relevant improvements.

You will be pleased to know that the Pool upgrades have been completed and now available for your enjoyment.

We await your return to enjoy the variety of upgrades we have made, as we continue aiming to provide the best vacation experience.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,

Rudy Richardson,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

Great Resort. Good value for your money. Beach is beautiful. Food is awesome. Staff are very friendly and aim to please. Rooms a little dated but overall this resort is rated a 3 star and exceeded our expectations by far.

Room Tip: Some rooms are more updated than others.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank kimr653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikhail S, General Manager at Starfish Jolly Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear kimr653,

Thank you for choosing Starfish Jolly Beach Resort and Spa as your holiday vacation destination and sharing your amazing experience with us.

We are delighted to hear that your expectations were exceeded as you enjoyed the beautiful mile-long beach, cuisine of our Restaurants, and our friendly and helpful teams.

Your commendations are appreciated and will be shared with our teams, as they truly enjoy providing a great vacation experience.

It was a pleasure having you with us and will keep providing the great service that you will continue to love on your next visit.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,

Rudy Richardson,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

The Resort is old, the shower was luke warm, but the beds are comfy, staff very nice, beach best I have seen, food way above expectations. I know they need to update, it is a tough thing to balance as the more you do the more it cost to go there may put it out of reach for the average traveller. That would be a shame as a lot of the resorts are very expensive. Only suggestion a cappuccino bar would really elevate it.
So take advantage of the lower cost while you can and don't complain, if they really fix it up it will be beyond the average joe

Stayed: March 2018
5  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikhail S, General Manager at Starfish Jolly Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear James W,

Thank you for choosing Starfish Jolly Beach Resort and Spa as your vacation destination and sharing your holiday experience with us.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our beds, friendly teams, amazing beach, and the cuisine of our Restaurants.

Your commendations are appreciated and will be shared with our teams as they truly enjoy providing a great vacation experience.

We would also like to thank you for your recommendations and will continue to improve for your comfort.

We await your return to enjoy the comfort and beauty of our resort, as we continue aiming to provide the best vacation experience.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,

Rudy Richardson,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews