We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing stay”
other traveller has booked this property
First view of Carpe Diem villa with steps up to Sunset 2 at the far end of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
First view of Carpe Diem villa with steps up to Sunset 2 at the far end of the house
Steps leading up to Sunset 2 and its veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
First view of Carpe Diem villa with steps up to Sunset 2 at the far end of the house
Steps leading up to Sunset 2 and its veranda
Well equipped kitchen Crockery/cutlery for 4,toaster, kettle, stove with grill, large fridge freezer
Wet room style bathroom
Carpe Diem-seize the day! 
Glass of Pinot Grigio anyone !
Eat Al fresco on the veranda outside Sunset 2 and watch the birds and sunsets
Each studio has its own entrance Sunset 1 and 2 share the 45ft balcony. Perfect for Alfresco dining!
View of Castara main bay from the house
The balcony is perfect for Al fresco dining, sunsets and bird watching
Internal shot
View along the 45ft veranda
Main beach Castara. Just a 2 minute stroll?
Little or Heavenly Bay as it is know locally. Great for snorkeling
View of house in between the palms from the sea
Swimming in the pool at Castara waterfall
Picking and eating mangoes on Castara main beach
View from Little bay towards the main beach
Swimming at sunset
Castara bay first view from the Lookout point
Kitchen and door into the wet room styled bathroom
Castara is a perfect place to be married on the beach and/or honeymoon
Gone fishing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Castara, Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Brianna04
Mountain Home, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Yvonne and the Professor were amazing in every way possible, from the time we submitted the request for booking until after we had already gotten home! The room is fantastic with a nice little kitchenette, bathroom, and comfy bed, as well as an amazing view of the whole Castara Bay! We went with no expectations as this was our first overseas travel together and we were completely blown away. The kitchen was stocked with all the necessary utensils, pots, and pans which allowed us to plan and cook many of our own meals in the room when we didn't feel like going out to dinner. When we did go out to dinner we had many different options, although we had to ask each restaurant in town if they were actually cooking dinner each night and make our decision based off that. The area is gorgeous with so much to offer tourists. The beaches are amazing and there is never too many people there. The weather was perfect in Jan, other than the extra rain they received, regardless it was still warm every day. The locals are extremely nice and helpful as well. We had to leave early due to a family emergency, however they were extremely helpful with every detail of getting off of the island, from offering assistance with arranging transportation to the airport late at night, to ensuring we were fed prior to leaving, also ensuring us to not worry about the state of the room so we could head out in a rush. There is no a/c, which is normal on the island, however with the villa doors open while we were in the room it was perfectly comfortable! The wi-fi worked just fine in every part of the villa, sometimes it would have issues when on the patio, however it did rain a lot so it may have been from that. Just an amazing stay overall and so completely affordable for us! Thank you so much again Yvonne and Professor, we thoroughly enjoyed our 1 1/2 week stay! We will definitely recommend Carpe Diem to anyone looking for a unique place to go and a place to stay!!

Date of stay: January 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
28 May 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review
Just a note to say that we now have fibre optic wi-fi so we dont have the same drop out problem when it rains!
Chris & Yvonne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toucanbob
San Francisco Bay, CA and Southern Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“They took us in for the night!”
Reviewed 19 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

There we were, stuck in Castara with no place to stay for one night. We were "between" stays in Castara Cottage, and were starting to wonder if we'd have to spend the night in the rental car (no, it wasn't really quite that bad), when suddenly appeared two guardian angels, Chris "The Professor" and Yvonne of Carpe Diem. It didn't hurt that we were all sharing a sunset beer down at the Boathouse at the time. They graciously offered to put us up for the night in one of their rooms.

So up the hill we wandered, admiring the colorful lizards, banana plants and birds along the path as we went. And discovered a delightful tropical house perched on the hillside overlooking Castara bay. The room was spotless, the location quiet (keep in mind "quiet" is a relative term in Castara) and the bird feeders a source of constant entertainment.

Thank you Professor and Yvonne!

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sunset!
Liked least: The shower head (too wide a spray).
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Mar 2013
Hi Bob & Gitti
Glad that we were able to help & that you enjoyed your stay with us even though short-its always worth asking the question as sometimes we have gaps inbetween flights days & the Boathouse on Little bay is a good melting pot-good food & vibes. Perfect for "liming" as its only just a short walk away. Keep in touch
Prof & Mrs Prof
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn M
Rosetown, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Gorgeous View, Walking Distance to the Beach and Restaurants”
Reviewed 27 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We, 2 couples, stayed here Jan. 2013, for 5 nights, and would definitely go back here. We had one of the studios, as well as The Green Room, and it worked out perfectly for us. The owners, Yvonne and Chris, arrived 2 days before we left so we used the kitchen and deck on the upper level until that time, although we were welcome to use it after they arrived as well.

The beds are good...we left the netting around the beds the whole time, as there were mosquitoes around....the kitchens, both up and down are well stocked with cooking utensils. There were spices and such in the upper kitchen, so just borrowed them when we needed them. Showers work good, always hot water, although we did not use an over abundance as it was always nice to have a cool shower after coming back from the beach where it was lovely and hot. No problems with the WIFI.

The deck up is nice and big, with a gorgeous view of the bay....wonderful sunset pics there ! The deck on the studio level is not as large, but still large enough for 4 to sit around the table on it. The view is not as good there, being lower, but there are lots of birds to watch in the trees there. There are so many varieties of birds here, and a bird book to help identify them. We saw more birds here than any other place we visited.

The house is up on a hill, so anyone with walking problems would probably not want to stay here, but we had no issues as it isn't too far a climb. The home is not fancy, but was perfect for us...if you are looking for 5 *, stay somewhere else.

We arranged for airport pick up through the owners, and we had someone from the same family take us over to Speyside for a day, so we never rented a car while in Castara. There are lots of restaurants to walk to from here, we had picked up groceries before we arrived there, but could get some basics in town as well. Order some bread from the ladies baking at the clay oven on Wed. and Sat., or from Hazel just up the road from Carpe Diem...she also has fruit, makes Roti as well.

We walked to the waterfall, had a swim in the natural pool there. The beach was not busy at all, especially compared to farther south...you can rent beach chairs for next to nothing, or just lie on your towel.....beach towels are NOT provided here, so be sure to bring your own. The beach was great....no weeds, not a sharp drop-off...not much for snorkeling right there though.

We really like Castara, from there we moved to Mt. Pleasant, and we all agreed that we liked the feel of Castara better...it is a nice little town...people would soon get to know you here.

Yvonne and Chris were wonderful hosts ! They came for a visit the night they arrived, even though they had had a long day of travel...and invited us to come have Happy Hour with them the following night as well. They are a wealth of knowledge about the town, the country and the people. They are both very down to earth, easy to visit with, and certainly willing to help with any plans you need to make. I can't imagine the work involved hauling all of their supplies up onto the mountain to build their home...but they did !!

I would highly recommend Carpe Diem if you like a relaxing holiday, away from hustle and bustle and lots of tourists :)

Date of stay: January 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sunsets, few people on the beach.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
27 Jan 2013
Hi Marilyn
Thank you for such a lovely review & we are so glad to have had chance to meet you all even if it was just for a few days.
The 3/4 days of heavy sea swells that you experienced just prior to our arrival were most unusual & caused damage up & down the coastline-but the snorkeling particularly at Little bay has greatly improved since then & guests have seen a small turtle & a sting ray resting amongst the coral there for several days in a row now + all the usual parrot fish etc
Best wishes to you all & hope to see you again in the future
Chris & Yvonne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian S
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
“Beautiful location, comfortable apartment and great hosts!”
Reviewed 2 September 2012 for a stay in September 2011

My husband and I stayed in one of the downstairs apartments for our honeymoon in September 2011, and had a wonderful time! We were greeted by Chris and Yvonne who immediately made us feel at ease and welcome. The apartment was airy and well-equipped, the bed very comfortable and the view AMAZING. It makes all the difference to be perched up on the hill from the village and beach. The sunsets are gorgeous and the breezes keep the heat and mosquitoes at bay. In fact, despite keeping windows and doors open almost all the time, we had not a single bug in our room. We had lovely breakfasts on the balcony, filling the bird feeder with bits of fruit and watching the Banaquits, MotMots, Tanagers, etc. come and go. We had fresh mango and avocado practically falling straight onto our doorstep every day. The little beach to the right of the main beach where fisherman come in is lovely. It was never crowded, and the water was crystal clear and deliciously warm. We enjoyed this beach far more than the touristy Pigeon Point beach…
Above all, Chris and Yvonne were excellent hosts from beginning to end. They gave us plenty of suggestions for things to do and see, places to eat, etc. They truly went out of their way to make us comfortable, inviting us up to their apartment to have drinks and watch the sunset, offering to include us in plans they were making… The high point of our entire trip by FAR was the daylong boat trip we took with them and their visiting friends. We meandered along the coast stopping at various coves to snorkel, had a delicious lunch of fish we had caught along the way and other dishes prepared by the captain (I believe his name was Loadie) and slowly made our way back as the sun was setting. It was the best kind of trip…expertly organized but seemingly effortless and completely laid back.
We would highly recommend Carpe Diem to anyone who wants to have a relaxing, beautiful holiday off the beaten track in great company.
Thank you so much, Chris and Yvonne!

Date of stay: September 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and friendly, welcoming hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
28 May 2016
Honey moons are so special & it sounds like yours was too!
We are glad that we could make things happen for you..
Chris & Yvonne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seahorse3...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Idyllic place to stay with fantastic views!”
Reviewed 17 April 2012 for a stay in February 2012

We stayed at Carpe Diem Villa for 4 nights.....the accommodation was great with everything you needed to make your stay relaxed and comfortable....the view from the balcony was amazing and the owners, Chris and Yvonne were friendly, welcoming and helpful! The villa is set up on a slight hill so is perfect for watching Tobago's amazing sunsets. A short walk will take you to Castara's beach where the snorkelling is great....we were lucky enough to see big shoals of fish and a family of stingrays there! Castara's local amenities such as small shops, restaurants and the ATM are within close walking distance to the villa. There was so much bird life to watch from our balcony at Carpe Diem with regular visits from Motmots and Bananaquits to name just a few! We would definitely recommend staying at the Carpe Diem Villa for anyone who wants a peaceful and relaxed retreat in Castara! Cheers Yvonne and Chris :-)

Date of stay: February 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and peacefulness!
Liked least: We weren't there for longer!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
11 Mar 2020
How did we miss responding to this lovely review ! We are so happy that you wee able to see what it is about Castara that brought us here originally ! So many guests come again and again and do become friends as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.