We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Experience”
other traveller has booked this property
First view of Carpe Diem villa with steps up to Sunset 2 at the far end of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
First view of Carpe Diem villa with steps up to Sunset 2 at the far end of the house
Steps leading up to Sunset 2 and its veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
First view of Carpe Diem villa with steps up to Sunset 2 at the far end of the house
Steps leading up to Sunset 2 and its veranda
Well equipped kitchen Crockery/cutlery for 4,toaster, kettle, stove with grill, large fridge freezer
Wet room style bathroom
Carpe Diem-seize the day! 
Glass of Pinot Grigio anyone !
Eat Al fresco on the veranda outside Sunset 2 and watch the birds and sunsets
Each studio has its own entrance Sunset 1 and 2 share the 45ft balcony. Perfect for Alfresco dining!
View of Castara main bay from the house
The balcony is perfect for Al fresco dining, sunsets and bird watching
Internal shot
View along the 45ft veranda
Main beach Castara. Just a 2 minute stroll?
Little or Heavenly Bay as it is know locally. Great for snorkeling
View of house in between the palms from the sea
Swimming in the pool at Castara waterfall
Picking and eating mangoes on Castara main beach
View from Little bay towards the main beach
Swimming at sunset
Castara bay first view from the Lookout point
Kitchen and door into the wet room styled bathroom
Castara is a perfect place to be married on the beach and/or honeymoon
Gone fishing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Castara, Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Eliska G
Jackson Hole, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My husband and I chose to stay in Castara for an 8-day vacation in February 2015 and found the Carpe Diem Villa on tripadvisor. We shared Chris & Yvonne's place upstairs and wondered if staying in someone's space would be OK - all of the wonderful reviews suggested it'd be OK, so we gave it a whirl. We are so HAPPY we did! Yvonne and Professor are absolutely amazing people, who made our first trip to the Caribbean unforgettable and provided us with great advice, stories and help when we needed. We loved everything about their house, garden, and the room itself. All we can say is THANK YOU!

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Owners
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
28 May 2016
Its great that you felt at home with us & look forward to seeing you both again in the future
Prof & Yvonne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny C
England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great views of beautiful Castara bay”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We really enjoyed our 2 week stay here. The accomodation was good, very clean, and as described with everything we needed at hand. The views are fantasic and it was lovely to wake up and look out over the bay in the early morning. The village is very friendly and there are enough small shops and places to eat. We bought fish from the daily catch from the fishermen and cooked ourselves on a couple of nights which was great. Second week we hired a car and visited other parts of this beautiful island. Found some fabulous beaches, our favourite was Pirates bay over the steep climb at Charlotteville. We did a lot of snorkling and found Little bay at Castara to be as good as anywhere else. There was a great variety of life in the sea including turtles and rays, but the last couple of days there were jelly fish. Very sad to leave.

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
28 May 2016
Thank you for the lovely review.
Castara is located really well for sight seeing day trips out but most guests are glad to get back "home" to chill out & relax
Looks like you got the balance right!
Chris & Yvonne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devonvisi...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“What a wonderful experience”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Carpe Diem is ideally positioned, the sea/beach and village are easily accessible and the accomodation is placed such that you observe the birds and wild life without having to move from the comfort of the veranda. The studio inside is comfortable and met our needs for our 2 week stay, although most of our time was spent outside.
From the start of our enquiry Chris and Yvonne the owners responded in a timely manner and were able to reassure and inform when questions arose, they arrived soon after us and were so helpful with their knowledge of the area and resources but without being too intrusive, they also shared their veranda to watch the beautiful sun sets.
Castara the village is an enjoyable experience, there are no holiday complexes, just the relaxed atmosphere that the locals provide.
In all this was a totally relaxing carefree holiday and would recommend to all who enjoy uncommercial holidays.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The veranda
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
19 Feb 2015
Sorry we missed you! It is always great to be able to put faces to the names of people we have been 'talking' to on the internet. The friendliness and helpfulness of the people here in the village was one of the main things that convinced us that this was where we wanted to be.
Thankyou for such a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianna04
Mountain Home, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Yvonne and the Professor were amazing in every way possible, from the time we submitted the request for booking until after we had already gotten home! The room is fantastic with a nice little kitchenette, bathroom, and comfy bed, as well as an amazing view of the whole Castara Bay! We went with no expectations as this was our first overseas travel together and we were completely blown away. The kitchen was stocked with all the necessary utensils, pots, and pans which allowed us to plan and cook many of our own meals in the room when we didn't feel like going out to dinner. When we did go out to dinner we had many different options, although we had to ask each restaurant in town if they were actually cooking dinner each night and make our decision based off that. The area is gorgeous with so much to offer tourists. The beaches are amazing and there is never too many people there. The weather was perfect in Jan, other than the extra rain they received, regardless it was still warm every day. The locals are extremely nice and helpful as well. We had to leave early due to a family emergency, however they were extremely helpful with every detail of getting off of the island, from offering assistance with arranging transportation to the airport late at night, to ensuring we were fed prior to leaving, also ensuring us to not worry about the state of the room so we could head out in a rush. There is no a/c, which is normal on the island, however with the villa doors open while we were in the room it was perfectly comfortable! The wi-fi worked just fine in every part of the villa, sometimes it would have issues when on the patio, however it did rain a lot so it may have been from that. Just an amazing stay overall and so completely affordable for us! Thank you so much again Yvonne and Professor, we thoroughly enjoyed our 1 1/2 week stay! We will definitely recommend Carpe Diem to anyone looking for a unique place to go and a place to stay!!

Date of stay: January 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
28 May 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review
Just a note to say that we now have fibre optic wi-fi so we dont have the same drop out problem when it rains!
Chris & Yvonne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toucanbob
San Francisco Bay, CA and Southern Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“They took us in for the night!”
Reviewed 19 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

There we were, stuck in Castara with no place to stay for one night. We were "between" stays in Castara Cottage, and were starting to wonder if we'd have to spend the night in the rental car (no, it wasn't really quite that bad), when suddenly appeared two guardian angels, Chris "The Professor" and Yvonne of Carpe Diem. It didn't hurt that we were all sharing a sunset beer down at the Boathouse at the time. They graciously offered to put us up for the night in one of their rooms.

So up the hill we wandered, admiring the colorful lizards, banana plants and birds along the path as we went. And discovered a delightful tropical house perched on the hillside overlooking Castara bay. The room was spotless, the location quiet (keep in mind "quiet" is a relative term in Castara) and the bird feeders a source of constant entertainment.

Thank you Professor and Yvonne!

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sunset!
Liked least: The shower head (too wide a spray).
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Mar 2013
Hi Bob & Gitti
Glad that we were able to help & that you enjoyed your stay with us even though short-its always worth asking the question as sometimes we have gaps inbetween flights days & the Boathouse on Little bay is a good melting pot-good food & vibes. Perfect for "liming" as its only just a short walk away. Keep in touch
Prof & Mrs Prof
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.