We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Paradise Cove Resort(Naukacuvu Island)
US$543
US$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$483
US$466
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$360
US$325
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Oarsman's Bay Lodge(Nacula Island)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Naqalia Lodge(Waya Lailai)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island(Tokoriki Island)
US$441
US$323
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel(Lautoka)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
137
74
32
17
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
74
32
17
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanta raysfishother guestswater pressurelow tidefiji timebeachfront burelaid backmod consvillage visitwestern stylea real fijian experienceceiling fanlunch and dinnersea wateryasawa flyercoral reef
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017

After reading some previous reviews of Botaria we were a little apprehensive about going. However, it did provide some of the highlights of our trip. The staff are wonderful, helpful, polite and extremely friendly. Solo is a jack of all trades, Man-Friday and goes out of his way to make you feel valued and make sure you enjoy your stay. The food was simple and nice. The bures are comfortable. The water pressure is a trickle and we took our solar shower as there is nothing needed more at the end of a days swimming and hiking than a good shower. We only used it once and that wasn't because he had too, simply that the sun had warmed up the water beautifully and it would have been a shame to waste it.
We stayed for 2 nights, visited the local village and school and really enjoyed chilling out at an undisputed piece of paradise. If you're looking to for 4 or 5 star this isn't for you, but if you just want to kick back and relax, then go for it. And make sure you do the village visit. The school children are so friendly and gorgeous and the ladies of the village do a little market where you can buy their handcrafts.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KathrynAnneElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alumita S, Manager at Botaira Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thanks Kathryn ...... first for not backing off after reading the negative reviews....second for the good review ....and we are glad that you enjoyed Botaira after all. The water is okay now ... We so do like to offer you a good rate if you wish to return - just let us know.

Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much) :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We went only for the day. We were well recieved with a flower collars but that was all. The beach has beautifull white sand but when we went to take a bath and enjoy the cristal waters, it was full of sharp stones and finally after having our feet hurt, we decided to go out. Really a pitty. Maybe the resort can do something about this matter in the space in front of the entrance or offer the visitors some close water shoes because ours were open and they slipped away. The meal was good but for the price we payed for the day tour it was very poor. A soup, grilled fish with some potatoes and half a banana! We offered to pay extra for an ice cream or any dessert but they had non of these. The place is poorly conserved, the bathroom was clean yet basic. No lounger available to rest enjoying the paradise where this place is found, only chairs. Really we expected much more. I don't know about the guests' rest rooms, only about the common spaces.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susana l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alumita S, Owner at Botaira Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thanks Susana...... What you walked on was actually the reef which is revealed at low tide at certain time of the month. This is why we have a concrete walk way to use when you can not swim out from the beach..... and I sincerely apologise if you were nbot shown this.
The soup you mentioned would have been "kokoda" a fijian dish of raw fish marinated and cooked in wild lemon with coconut milk, onion , tomatoes etc. We normally add a piece of fruit with lunch which in your case would have been fish, potatoes and either salad or veges. I apologise for the ice cream - we do have ice cream only for the bar and deserts for our in house guests... minimal... because we do not have the facilities to serve or sell ice cream at random. It's one of the things we like to source in the near future.
What you paid also included your return boat transfers which is a very special rate compared to people paying the normal trip.
We do apologise for your dissatisfaction and thanks for voicing it as this will be something to definitely improve on to satisfy our day guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

This was our fourth trip to Botaira, lured back by the "Luxury of Simplicity" we had enjoyed so much on our previous visits. The natural setting of Botaira is beautiful, offering easy access to the water and access to hikes along a ridge for magnificent views. Sadly, lack of maintenance of some of the basic amenities made this stay very different. Yes, it is in a remote location, that is so much of its charm. Yes, Cyclone Winston wreaked havoc in the water and on the land. Yes, there has clearly been little rain. Hopefully the owners, with effective day to day management, can rectify the problems with water supply, lighting, continuing safety of access to the water via the concrete path, pest control and food and beverage delivery to restore Botaira to the welcome holiday destination it once was.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank charleswj2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alumita S, Owner at Botaira Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thanks .....Vinaka Charles... yes thanks for the honest review ... we are doing our best to rectify all our downfalls... we have now installed our new Desalination plant and a new generator as well as pumps....so waterwise we have improved a lot .... I do agree with you in trying to maintain our reputation .... this is why we need our regular guests like you to keep coming so that we can make ends meet.

Vinaka again and all the best to you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon and I wish we left the moment we arrived on the island!! I can't put into words how poor and run down this resort is, which is a real shame as the island itself is stunning. We booked to stay here as the activities sounded interesting and we were keen to learn more about it eco friendly stance. When we arrived we surprised to find out that there was only one other family staying on the island, the rest of the guests were college students from the US. Who when I left felt sorry for knowing how long they had left staying on the island. The staff informed us that the electric is not always available and that we had to be careful how long we wash/shower for as water was in low supply, which we of course understood their ethos. But low water supply was an understatement, the first evening on the island we couldn't even shower, there was no water whatsoever. Three times we had to say something to staff, when finally at 10pm in the evening someone finally came to our bure to inspect the fault. They went off came back and told us to try the water and it trickled out of the shower but was cold, when we turned it to hot it stopped. We manage to wash ourselves using the water and baby wipes, I have been to festivals that had better showers. In the morning at breakfast the other guests told us that it was best to shower in the morning, so when we went back to our rooms we filled bottles and left them in the sun so we could use them in the evening, after a day of sunbathing and being in the sea, a shower was well needed. Once again we had no water but luckily we had our bottles which had been warmed up in the day. The water was that bad we couldn't even flush the toilet or brush our teeth. We were given a bottle of free drinking water. I was relieved to be finally checking out the next morning, just knowing I would be heading somewhere that had running water. No other resort we stayed at had this issue & the showers were amazing. When we checked out they did give us a small discount off the bill but I was just grateful to be leaving knowing I would never come back. To top it off, when we were waiting for the island hopper to take us to the next island, they ran out of bottled drink water!! We couldn't even have a drink.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alumita S, Owner at Botaira Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Again....I'm not denying anything said...and I apologise sincerely. This problem arises occasionally and randomly....it is really unfortunate that it happens to certain guests. This time I can only explain that the group that you mention get up and shower earlier than you. Since they are a group of more thàn twenty the water level drops dramatically. The hot water tanks on the roofs requires a lot of pressure to get filled. Again our hearts are with you and càn relate to your frustrations...I read that you never like to return and we are sorry.. but if any case you might like to retry us we will make it up to you wiith a very discounted apologetic rate and a promise that our water problems will be solved and will be a lot better because right now we are installing our new water desalination plant and looking forward to no more water havoc...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We stayed 6 nights; drawn to it by the reports of good snorkeling right off the beach. The snorkeling was really wonderful and we're happy we decided to stay there. That said, there are some issues; many of the services advertised were not in fact offered. An older couple staying there really wanted to take one of the advertised fishing trips but were put off, put off again and finally gave up. The food was pretty good with quite a bit in the way of fresh produce and seafood. There was electricity most of the day while we were there, so that was not a problem. We were able to keep cameras, etc charged. The one big issue for us was the lack of water in the shower. There was never enough water to wash off the beach sand; which got very frustrating. Reports from people who had been to other resorts in the area are that the other resorts are the same or worse. There is a serious water shortage throughout the Yasawas, We'd do it again but maybe for only 4 or 5 days, not 6.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alumita S, Owner at Botaira Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thank you for the honest review......Our water situation will be much better from now on as we are now for the first time installing our new water desalination plant. We look forward to welcoming you back..... Thank you and all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews