We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fiji Time at Botaira”
Review of Botaira Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Botaira Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naviti Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2017

My wife and I have been visiting Fiji on and off for the last 26 years and love the island life. This was our first visit to Botaira.
If you want a quiet and relaxing holiday then Botaira Resort is the place for you. It is not a luxury resort. There is no internet and no tv. We stayed 4 nights and wished we could have longer.
We were greeted with a typical friendly Fijian welcome and felt relaxed from that moment. Our bure was spacious enough and metres from the beach. The staff were typical friendly Fijians.
Meal plan was included. There was choice at breakfast, but not for lunch and dinner. We had to tell them to serve us half portions because we could not eat it all. There was an adequate bar serving Fijian beer and some wine. Our waitress Mary was very friendly and attended to all our needs, especially supplying me with sweet chiili sauce.
There was a problem with water supply in the shower and second day no water. This was fixed by filling the tank on our bure with sea water. They are still recovering from the cyclone 2 years ago. Snorkelling was ordinary also due to the cyclone.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alumita S, Manager at Botaira Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thanks John for this review......If only you were here one week after your stay you would have enjoyed the abundance of water made possible with now our new desalination plant that desalinates the water that comes out of our borehole (minimal salinity - compared to seawater). So next time if you wish to visit us again .... let us know and we will offer you a special rate to make up for the problem you faced during this stay.
Thanks again and all the best to you...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017

After reading some previous reviews of Botaria we were a little apprehensive about going. However, it did provide some of the highlights of our trip. The staff are wonderful, helpful, polite and extremely friendly. Solo is a jack of all trades, Man-Friday and goes out of his way to make you feel valued and make sure you enjoy your stay. The food was simple and nice. The bures are comfortable. The water pressure is a trickle and we took our solar shower as there is nothing needed more at the end of a days swimming and hiking than a good shower. We only used it once and that wasn't because he had too, simply that the sun had warmed up the water beautifully and it would have been a shame to waste it.
We stayed for 2 nights, visited the local village and school and really enjoyed chilling out at an undisputed piece of paradise. If you're looking to for 4 or 5 star this isn't for you, but if you just want to kick back and relax, then go for it. And make sure you do the village visit. The school children are so friendly and gorgeous and the ladies of the village do a little market where you can buy their handcrafts.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KathrynAnneElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alumita S, Manager at Botaira Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thanks Kathryn ...... first for not backing off after reading the negative reviews....second for the good review ....and we are glad that you enjoyed Botaira after all. The water is okay now ... We so do like to offer you a good rate if you wish to return - just let us know.

Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much) :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We went only for the day. We were well recieved with a flower collars but that was all. The beach has beautifull white sand but when we went to take a bath and enjoy the cristal waters, it was full of sharp stones and finally after having our feet hurt, we decided to go out. Really a pitty. Maybe the resort can do something about this matter in the space in front of the entrance or offer the visitors some close water shoes because ours were open and they slipped away. The meal was good but for the price we payed for the day tour it was very poor. A soup, grilled fish with some potatoes and half a banana! We offered to pay extra for an ice cream or any dessert but they had non of these. The place is poorly conserved, the bathroom was clean yet basic. No lounger available to rest enjoying the paradise where this place is found, only chairs. Really we expected much more. I don't know about the guests' rest rooms, only about the common spaces.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susana l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alumita S, Owner at Botaira Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thanks Susana...... What you walked on was actually the reef which is revealed at low tide at certain time of the month. This is why we have a concrete walk way to use when you can not swim out from the beach..... and I sincerely apologise if you were nbot shown this.
The soup you mentioned would have been "kokoda" a fijian dish of raw fish marinated and cooked in wild lemon with coconut milk, onion , tomatoes etc. We normally add a piece of fruit with lunch which in your case would have been fish, potatoes and either salad or veges. I apologise for the ice cream - we do have ice cream only for the bar and deserts for our in house guests... minimal... because we do not have the facilities to serve or sell ice cream at random. It's one of the things we like to source in the near future.
What you paid also included your return boat transfers which is a very special rate compared to people paying the normal trip.
We do apologise for your dissatisfaction and thanks for voicing it as this will be something to definitely improve on to satisfy our day guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

This was our fourth trip to Botaira, lured back by the "Luxury of Simplicity" we had enjoyed so much on our previous visits. The natural setting of Botaira is beautiful, offering easy access to the water and access to hikes along a ridge for magnificent views. Sadly, lack of maintenance of some of the basic amenities made this stay very different. Yes, it is in a remote location, that is so much of its charm. Yes, Cyclone Winston wreaked havoc in the water and on the land. Yes, there has clearly been little rain. Hopefully the owners, with effective day to day management, can rectify the problems with water supply, lighting, continuing safety of access to the water via the concrete path, pest control and food and beverage delivery to restore Botaira to the welcome holiday destination it once was.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank charleswj2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alumita S, Owner at Botaira Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thanks .....Vinaka Charles... yes thanks for the honest review ... we are doing our best to rectify all our downfalls... we have now installed our new Desalination plant and a new generator as well as pumps....so waterwise we have improved a lot .... I do agree with you in trying to maintain our reputation .... this is why we need our regular guests like you to keep coming so that we can make ends meet.

Vinaka again and all the best to you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon and I wish we left the moment we arrived on the island!! I can't put into words how poor and run down this resort is, which is a real shame as the island itself is stunning. We booked to stay here as the activities sounded interesting and we were keen to learn more about it eco friendly stance. When we arrived we surprised to find out that there was only one other family staying on the island, the rest of the guests were college students from the US. Who when I left felt sorry for knowing how long they had left staying on the island. The staff informed us that the electric is not always available and that we had to be careful how long we wash/shower for as water was in low supply, which we of course understood their ethos. But low water supply was an understatement, the first evening on the island we couldn't even shower, there was no water whatsoever. Three times we had to say something to staff, when finally at 10pm in the evening someone finally came to our bure to inspect the fault. They went off came back and told us to try the water and it trickled out of the shower but was cold, when we turned it to hot it stopped. We manage to wash ourselves using the water and baby wipes, I have been to festivals that had better showers. In the morning at breakfast the other guests told us that it was best to shower in the morning, so when we went back to our rooms we filled bottles and left them in the sun so we could use them in the evening, after a day of sunbathing and being in the sea, a shower was well needed. Once again we had no water but luckily we had our bottles which had been warmed up in the day. The water was that bad we couldn't even flush the toilet or brush our teeth. We were given a bottle of free drinking water. I was relieved to be finally checking out the next morning, just knowing I would be heading somewhere that had running water. No other resort we stayed at had this issue & the showers were amazing. When we checked out they did give us a small discount off the bill but I was just grateful to be leaving knowing I would never come back. To top it off, when we were waiting for the island hopper to take us to the next island, they ran out of bottled drink water!! We couldn't even have a drink.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alumita S, Owner at Botaira Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Again....I'm not denying anything said...and I apologise sincerely. This problem arises occasionally and randomly....it is really unfortunate that it happens to certain guests. This time I can only explain that the group that you mention get up and shower earlier than you. Since they are a group of more thàn twenty the water level drops dramatically. The hot water tanks on the roofs requires a lot of pressure to get filled. Again our hearts are with you and càn relate to your frustrations...I read that you never like to return and we are sorry.. but if any case you might like to retry us we will make it up to you wiith a very discounted apologetic rate and a promise that our water problems will be solved and will be a lot better because right now we are installing our new water desalination plant and looking forward to no more water havoc...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naviti Island
7.1 km away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
788 reviews
31.5 km away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
1,462 reviews
24 km away
Naqalia Lodge
Naqalia Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waya Lailai
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28 km away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
108 reviews
22 km away
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
30.7 km away
Viwa Island Resort
Viwa Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Yasawa Islands
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botaira Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botaira Resort

Address: Naviti Island 679, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Naviti Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naviti Island
Price Range: $164 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Botaira Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOTAIRA RESORT is located on a tropical island and consists 10 private Fijian Bures with ensuite facilities on a white sand beach in the beautiful Yasawa Islands in FIJI. All inclusive vacation packages of accommodation and meals. The perfect honeymoon and wedding destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Botaira Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botaira Beach Hotel Naviti Island
Botaira Beach Naviti Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing