We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais Il Canalicchio
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canalicchio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2015

We stayed for a week in late September and had high hopes for a very special holiday. Sadly that wasn't to be. Yes it is in a beautiful location and the building is amazing but I have to echo the negatives. Ofcourse you need a car that goes without saying. The rooms are shabby most people we spoke to asked to change for one reason or another. We were initially given a room suffering from noise problems only to be offered a room in the country suites which we declined mainly due to the poor state of the grounds that were very neglected. Our third attempt was a room at the back of the hotel which had a small Juliet verandah. We accepted this knowing that the general standard of all the rooms was probably very similar. The food was not the best but ok. I would say that the best meal of the week was the one we cooked ourselves during the cookery lesson. Yes it was nearing the end of the season but you would expect the swimming pools to be usable one was a beautiful shade of green and closed down the other was just not clean such a shame. The spa well even if was free I doubt we have would have used it. Positives yes of course beautiful building, relaxing atmosphere great staff and some lovely towns to visit nearby. Would we go back sadly not. I so wish this review could have been more positive

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 154 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2015

Lovely time during a five-night stay at this hotel. The staff are great and cannot do enough for you. The location is beutiful, but quite isolated. We didn't have a hire car, but the hotel have trips available.

The food is okay, we booked half-board. There is a lovely restaurant nearby for lunch.

The cookery class was great fun.

There are a few issues: there are two pools in need of cleaning/improvement. The accommodation is comfortable, but fairly basic.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great value for money and we will return.

Room Tip: Hire car is advisable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

If TripAdvisor alowed a three and a half rating, thats what we'd have given.
Having said that, we had a wonderful relaxing time here. It's location does mean you are captive without a car, any pre holiday research would tell you that, so it is not a resort for holiday with children if you need entertainment.
Our apartment was more than adequate, it was clean and comfortable. Tea making facilities are not
standard but readily available if you ask.
The staff are the most helpful and friendly I have encountered for a long time. Their fluency in English was excellent. I wonder if Italian visitors to some of our English hotels would be able to converse with staff so easily in their own language?
We didn't go here for a fine dining, gourmet experience. To be honest, the price of the deal booked through Fleetway was so good I'm surprised the chef had much of a budget to feed us. The point is he did and although the meals weren't great we ate them!
For a different location within walking distance, go to La Locanda del Colle, the restaurant opposite the hotel entrance. Reasonably priced, home cook food served in a friendly way.
Relais is a great place to stay away from the madding crowd but with access to Assissi, Rome, Orvieto and within a beautiful area. Would definitely go again.

Stayed: October 2015
1  Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

Very relaxing, excellent staff, beautiful building!

Very remote; good for unwinding! If you want activities other than walking you need to hire a car or be prepared to pay for trips (which can book up fast).

View from room was excellent! We were given incorrect room but they changed it to upgrade 2 days later once they had availability.

Spa facilities are good; would recommend their massages.

Cooking class is well worth it; great way to meet others. You get to eat the meal you have prepared together.

Food was average at best. They often run out of menu items, brought incorrect dishes to the table, or we had to return unsatisfactory dishes I.e. pork that was raw in the middle. Restaurant at bottom of the drive was LOVELY! Excellent prices too.

Disappointing swimming pool was shut.

Would return for one night if travelling through Italy.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandjea-Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015

A car is essential unless you do not want to pay through the nose for over priced trips run by the hotel and most definitely book your car in advance (far & away more cost effective) or chose to do nothing & go nowhere and suffer from acute boredom as both swimming pools were out of action and filthy. The hotel does offer mountain bikes, tennis & a pool/snooker table, 1 English speaking TV channel and a quiet area for reading - so those are your options if you don't hire a car. We stayed in room 108 for which we had to pay an additional 20 euro's per night because we had asked for a room with a balcony (most people seem to get their upgrades free but not us!) we were offered instead Room 200 as we objected to the extra cost because according to Fleetway we had a "Superior" Room but this cold, dark and damp complete with its own dehumidifier (which says it all really). Whilst our room did have a spacious terrace (at a cost) it was shabby (without the chic) and showing definite signs of wear & tear dirty carpet, ripped armchair cover and especially in the bathroom which is in serious need of some immediate attention .I struggled with the food every single night and most nights just asked for a plate of cheese - which I was given and as previous guests have stated the menu is repetitive, the breakfast was ok but come the end of the week I was sick of the sight of pastries/cakes/scrambled eggs & cheap herta-type sausages for breakfast. The drinks are a little over-priced, especially cappuccino but you are a captive market so it's to be expected. The cooking class was a brilliant way in which to get guests to socialise and was rather fun to do on what was otherwise a horrid rainy day, the accompanying wine with the fruits of our labours was also much appreciated. The staff were very good, at all times pleasant and polite (not an easy task given they are about to lose their jobs in a few weeks time when the hotel closes for the winter in November). I get the feeling that the hotel management are trading on a past reputation when times were better - it could be absolutely wonderful as it does have stunning views, its a spectacular building externally with a quirky layout which could make it unique, but it needs a huge injection of cash to bring it up to what I would consider to be a 4*. Do read the reviews very carefully if you do not want to be caught out in any way, we did and as a result we knew what to expect of the food, location and overall standard so as a result we enjoyed our holiday because quite simply its Italy and as such a trip to Italy never disappoints.

Room Tip: 108 has a terrace but you will have to pay an extra 20 euros per night for the privilidge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Nicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canalicchio
12.1 km away
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
#1 of 3 in Torgiano
1,758 reviews
23.8 km away
Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa
19.3 km away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
L'Antico Forziere
L'Antico Forziere
#1 of 1 in Casalina
240 reviews
25.8 km away
Villa di Monte Solare
Villa di Monte Solare
#1 of 2 in Tavernelle di Panicale
699 reviews
22.6 km away
Castello di Petrata
Castello di Petrata
#5 of 72 in Assisi
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Il Canalicchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Il Canalicchio

Address: Via della Piazza 4, 06050 Canalicchio, Collazzone, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Collazzone > Canalicchio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canalicchio
Price Range: $177 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Il Canalicchio 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Il Canalicchio stands like a small gem inset into the summit of a hill. The picturesque town built around the Castello di Poggio, which dates to the 10th-11th centuries, dominates the town with its imposing tower and a splendid little church close to the vineyards and olive groves at the centre of the lush Umbrian countryside. The luxury Relais has almost completely remodeled and enclosed the town of Canalicchio, an intact and resplendent oasis of peace, where only the twittering of birds interrupts the relaxing stillness. Inside, the historic and rural origins of the place are obvious; it still has its apparent castle-like structure and boasts an enormous and exquisite millstone, the old press and some lovely arches, evoking the enchanting atmosphere and charm of times gone by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Relais Il Canalicchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Il Canalicchio Di Collazzone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing