We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais Il Canalicchio
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canalicchio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2017

An old 16th Century Castle nestled in the mountains of Umbria with fabulous views. The staff was super attentive and extremely helpful. The rooms were really nice and rustic. The restaurant was very good and the amenities were really nice (pool etc.) and easy drives to Perigia, Assisi and other nice little towns. I would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom,, beautiful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

A lovely hotel up in the hills if you don't want to stay in the confines of the hotel then you need to hire a car - although the hotel does do day trips. We hired a car from the airport in Rome and it was an easy drive to the hotel of about 2hrs. We stayed in one if the apartments which was very clean and all the decor was in good condition. We had a 1 bedroom apartment for myself, husband and 2 children and found it a good size. Just to note that there is a small kitchenette- hob & sink- in a sort of cupboard but this is locked and costs an extra 50 euros per week. Our travel company didn't make us fully aware of this but we found we didn't need it. We had a normal fridge which was fine as meant we could keep water and food for lunch if we didn't go out. All apartments have a small patio area with table and chairs which was great for sitting out for lunch, drink before dinner or just drying swimming things. We saw other comments about the air conditioning but didn't find it anymore noisy then other hotels. The bathroom was fine except the shower screen didn't fit properly so after a shower there were large puddles of water in the bathroom and hall. The water flow in the shower wasn't always that great but I think it depended on how many people were showering at the time. Be aware the hotel said it is a policy in Italy not to allow irons in rooms so you'd have to pay for ironing. They did eventually let us have one we just had to sign to say we accepted all responsibility if anything happened. The swimming pool area was great the pool was very cold when we arrived but fine once you actually got in. As the weather got warmer and the heatwave came it was great to cool down in. We don't normally go to hotels as hate all the hassles with sun beds but generally found that other guests were very good at not leaving towels on beds and disappearing for the day. Generally people were not up early claiming their sun bed so found getting one later in the day wasn't a problem. There is a gym but very very small and no aircon. We saw lots of negative comments on here about the food before we arrived. Dinner is a bit hit and miss some nights the food was great other nights it was over cooked. The vegetables were always over cooked. It would be good if they could always have a salad on the menu which is great when it's so warm at least a side salad on offer. Sides everyday were a veg and potato which didn't always go with the main meal. I did once ask for salad instead and got some iceberg lettuce. I think some of the problem is they don't take bookings and most people arrive in the first hour so they have an issue of getting all the food out at virtually the same time. All the staff apart from 1 receptionist were fantastic. We had put some laundry in and it came back 24 hours late and we'd been charged more. When we queried it she got very irate and ripped up the bill in front of us in temper. When we arrived she also told us we couldn't park near the apartments to unpack the car but later saw others being allowed to do this. Lugi and his team in the bar/restaurant were fantastic and went the extra mile with the children. Our cleaning lady was great and put up with us not always being out of the apartment when she needed to clean and came back later. Some reviews have said not suitable for children but we didn't find a problem. There is no water slides or kids clubs but this for us wasn't an issue. Views were wonderful especially in the evening watching the sun set - be careful of the Mosquitos. If you have a car there is a restaurant/ cafe in the town that was great for a quick family lunch and very cheap. Overall a good holiday would go back. Didn't give it 5 stars due to the shower, the 1 receptionist and not being able to get a decent salad each evening. Seen comments on here about the evening entertainment once a week. The singer is so bad that it was quite funny but our daughter enjoyed dancing to his singing

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Amnds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Would love to return, really beautiful and peaceful location. We just stayed for 5 nights and had no car, so a very relaxing holiday.

Impressed that even as a remote location the drinks were not extortionate, the house wine was only 12€!!

The hotel does provide trips to nearby Assisi, Perugia, etc, some people think the 30€ charge is a bit expensive but for me I was happy to avoid the hassle of driving. If you have a strong desire to visit a particular place that they go to perhaps phone before you arrive to check which days. They just plan the destinations by demand so they did Assis the day we arrived which I would have loved so we picked a trip to Perugia instead only to discover Assisi got added again the next day. A valid excuse to return

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DuggieM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

The hotel is very secluded and strongly suggest a rental car. The views are lovely, and the property is charming and well kept. My children loved the pool. We found a chess table in the reception area, and there's a pool table.

We used the hotel as a base to explore surrounding hill towns, such as Spoleto, Assisi, Todi and Cortona. We loved them all! We also went to Florence and stopped at Lake Trasimeno. There is so much to do and to explore.

Breakfasts were good, with an ample assortment. We had dinner at the hotel once, and it was good. We enjoyed a delicious and very inexpensive dinner at Locanda del Colle, at the foot of the hotel and discovered another "fast food" or "self serve" restaurant on the main road after you leave Canalicchio. It's in a strip ball near the supermarket. Don't let the description fool you...delicious and inexpensive authentic food.

It was very hot during our stay and I believe the hotel turns off the air conditioning during the night. Management gave us fans which helped a lot.

We stayed in the country apartments and had 2 rooms on the top floor. Both rooms were simple but spacious, clean and very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

My wife and I stayed at Relais Il Canalicchio for 10 days for our honeymoon, and we had a brilliant time.

The hotel is "classic Italy". There’s no modernisation, people may see this as "dated" but we loved the feel of the hotel and our room, and the staff were helpful and polite. The views are stunning, which we enjoyed from our balcony and the restaurant at meal times. The food was great in our opinion, probably because we're not fussy eaters. The meals are made from fresh local ingredients. The menu is different every evening and a buffet is available for breakfast and lunch. There's also a lovely restaurant outside the hotel where we went for lunch and dinner one evening. The hotel also offers trips out - we went to Assisi (a stunning place), Perugia and wine tasting. If you want to explore Umbria more I would highly recommend hiring a car as Relais Il Canalicchio is a hilltop hotel and quite isolated. We also had access to the spa (an hour every day) and booked in a massage, and there are two pools to enjoy, although I have to admit the sun loungers are uncomfortable but that’s only a minor negative.

Thank you Relais Il Canalicchio for a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bcharris1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canalicchio
12.1 km away
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
#1 of 3 in Torgiano
1,761 reviews
19.3 km away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
23.8 km away
Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 km away
Villa di Monte Solare
Villa di Monte Solare
#1 of 2 in Tavernelle di Panicale
699 reviews
22.6 km away
Castello di Petrata
Castello di Petrata
#5 of 72 in Assisi
543 reviews
4.3 km away
L'Antico Forziere
L'Antico Forziere
#1 of 1 in Casalina
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Il Canalicchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Il Canalicchio

Address: Via della Piazza 4, 06050 Canalicchio, Collazzone, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Collazzone > Canalicchio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canalicchio
Price Range: $178 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Il Canalicchio 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Il Canalicchio stands like a small gem inset into the summit of a hill. The picturesque town built around the Castello di Poggio, which dates to the 10th-11th centuries, dominates the town with its imposing tower and a splendid little church close to the vineyards and olive groves at the centre of the lush Umbrian countryside. The luxury Relais has almost completely remodeled and enclosed the town of Canalicchio, an intact and resplendent oasis of peace, where only the twittering of birds interrupts the relaxing stillness. Inside, the historic and rural origins of the place are obvious; it still has its apparent castle-like structure and boasts an enormous and exquisite millstone, the old press and some lovely arches, evoking the enchanting atmosphere and charm of times gone by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Il Canalicchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Il Canalicchio Di Collazzone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing