We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven in Umbria!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais Il Canalicchio
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canalicchio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We booked this trip through a TravelZoo deal with Fleetway. Although many people who have posted here are from England, there were many Americans there the week that we were there. It was fun to meet other guests and find out where everyone was going that day and how was their day trip the day before and any recommendations they had. Our 7 day package included air, a superior room, rental car, breakfast, and a wine tour. Yes, this lovely hotel is off the beaten path (12-15 min. drive uphill from main road) but that is part of its CHARM!!! And what amazing views!!! We did day trips to many hill towns in Umbria and Tuscany (Siena, Assissi, Todi, Spello, Spoleto, Deruta, Gubbio, Perugia) and this was a great home base in the center of Umbria. Sooo glad we had a car!!!! We also rented a GPS (directions in English) and we are so glad we did that too. We had good maps but GPS was a life saver in visiting many small towns.
This hotel/former abbey/castle is beautifully restored and takes your breath away. Our rooms were charming with comfortable beds/pillows and we were fortunate to have a lovely private terrace off our rooms to enjoy some wine and snacks before dinner. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet which is basically the same each day, but with different pastries (all good!!). They only provide complimentary water in larger bottles to fill a glass at breakfast so we would fill up our personal water bottles each day at breakfast. All of the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful. Luigi, the Maitre D was exceptional. He tried to know each guest and make your mea/stay memorable. The dining room staff worked VERY hard to get meals out on time. We had dinner here every other night and enjoyed our food. There was a lovely young lady at the bar who was so cheerful and pleasant (sorry I forgot her name). And the receptionists at the front desk were helpful too, especially Bianca Maria, who is OUTSTANDING!!!! She is like an experienced concierge with amazing knowledge of the area and so many helpful tips on parking, eating, best gelato, maps, etc. We paid 30 euros pp for a cooking class with Luigi and Giuseppe (chef) which was so much fun and we got to eat what we made for lunch. Very delicious and plentiful!! Then we drove to the local winery for wine tasting (we followed the bus from the hotel so we did not have to pay for the ride). Again, another fun event - tasting good wine and meeting other guests and lots of laughs! Flights from the US leave at night so we arrived in Rome early the next morning. We stopped in the little disappearing town of Civita di Bagnoregio on the way to the hotel (definitely worth the trip to this old Etruscan town-check it out online) and also Orvieto. If we went directly to the hotel it would be about 2 hours, but we only detoured about an hour drive time to see these two lovely towns. By the time we arrived at the hotel our rooms were ready. We ate in the lovely restaurant across from the hotel entrance every other night. Great food and inexpensive, good local wine (5 euros for a liter). They get crowded so make a same day reservation if you think you want to have dinner there (just stop in as you pass it). Knowing a few words/phrases in Italian goes a long way and I believe shows respect. Since we were driving everywhere I made sure to know how to say in Italian "Excuse me do you speak English?" before we asked where something was in English. And we always had a map to point to. Others have commented about the older gentleman singer who is the entertainment one night at the hotel. He is not very good but he tries his best. Overall we loved our time in Umbria and loved this charming hotel!!

Room Tip: Loved our superior room with a private terrace. I think there are only 4 of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lovebeingretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais_Canalicchio, Direttore at Relais Il Canalicchio, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read of your enjoyable experience at Relais il Canalicchio as well as the comments about Hotel peculiarities and your excursion experiences in Umbria!
It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and we very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon!
My warmest regards
Gabriele Conrado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017

We stayed as part of a wedding party over a long weekend and had a wonderful time. The service was fantastic, the place is very clean and the pools very inviting. We decided to go horse-riding once morning and the lovely receptionist arranged it all, including their own taxi to get us there and back - just wonderful! Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tradwell07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relais_Canalicchio, Direttore at Relais Il Canalicchio, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your recent stay at our Relais.
My team and I are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.
We really hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon in Umbria,

Best wishes
Gabriele Conrado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

This hotel oozes atmosphere from the moment you take the cobbled slope to reception. We were at a wedding held at the hotel and the staff could not have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and they were always polite and smiling. We had a room with a glorious view which we didn't tire of the whole time we were there. This is certainly the place to go to relax. Both swimming pools were clean with a good supply of sunbeds. Beautiful food with the lovely Luigi in charge. Special mention to Rosa who was always smiling even when being run off her feet by a load of Brits! One small gripe was the water pressure - but you are 400m up!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank oldwalkerSoutheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

My wife and I stayed for 7 days in early August, the weather was excellent and so was the hotel. The staff were fun and attentive, special mention to Rossa and Luigi who were always there to help and made the stay most enjoyable.

A car is a must as the hotel is very remote, the journey from Rome takes 2 hours if you drive directly, its a fairly simple journey but make sure you know where to get off the A1!

Perugia is closer, 30 mins drive but only Ryan Air from Stansted fly there, so depending where you live in the UK will determine which route you take. We drove nearly 1500 km in 7 days, the roads are good and there is much to see, including a trip to the Adriatic near Ancona.

The food was good and the half board option works well, there is another restaurant at the entrance of the hotel which is also very good and provides for the obligatory change of seen.

In summary, a very enjoyable stay, friendly staff and a great place to relax

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank premiercrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Want sun, comfort, not too crowded, good food and wine and two swimming pools, you've found it. Just the job for a short break rest cure. But if you want to explore you're going to need a car, and it's two hours from Rome. We enjoyed being driven in the hotel's own minibus, but if you hire a car it may be worth flying into Perugia, which is nearer. I believe Lufthansa fly there from Stansted, but Birmingham to Rome with Monarch suited us better.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Fran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canalicchio
12.1 km away
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
#1 of 3 in Torgiano
1,747 reviews
13.4 km away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
681 reviews
23.8 km away
Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 km away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
7.8 km away
Relais La Corte di Bettona
27.1 km away
Il Baio Relais & Natural SPA
Il Baio Relais & Natural SPA
#1 of 1 in Camporoppolo
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Il Canalicchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Il Canalicchio

Address: Via della Piazza 4, 06050 Canalicchio, Collazzone, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Collazzone > Canalicchio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canalicchio
Price Range: $179 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Il Canalicchio 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Il Canalicchio stands like a small gem inset into the summit of a hill. The picturesque town built around the Castello di Poggio, which dates to the 10th-11th centuries, dominates the town with its imposing tower and a splendid little church close to the vineyards and olive groves at the centre of the lush Umbrian countryside. The luxury Relais has almost completely remodeled and enclosed the town of Canalicchio, an intact and resplendent oasis of peace, where only the twittering of birds interrupts the relaxing stillness. Inside, the historic and rural origins of the place are obvious; it still has its apparent castle-like structure and boasts an enormous and exquisite millstone, the old press and some lovely arches, evoking the enchanting atmosphere and charm of times gone by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Il Canalicchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Il Canalicchio Di Collazzone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing