We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Golden Rose(Kolymbari)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrispy World(Kolymbari)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chryssana Beach Hotel(Kolymbari)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karmi Studios & Apartments(Kolymbari)(Great Value!)
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aphea Village(Kolymbari)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lefka Hotel(Kolymbari)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pergamos Village(Kolymbari)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alonia Apartments(Kolymbari)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$315/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,380)
Filter reviews
1,380 results
Traveller rating
884
357
88
39
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
884
357
88
39
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolasian restaurantal frescocretan breakfastanimation teammain restaurantpool barstar hotelhotel areabeautiful hotelmain poolpiano playermodern designkids clubamazing spaspecial thanksdress code
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,380 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Avra Imperial Hotel is located in Kolymbari about 40 min from Chania Airport and will cost 60 euro to get to by taxi. I stayed here with my wife for a conference and some additional nights. The hotel is actually a resort catering for large numbers of families, particularly popular with Scandinavians. We were delighted to be housed in a deluxe room whose balcony had direct access to a private 50 metre pool that I was able to swim laps each day. The room itself was large enough, fairly quiet, clean and comfortable and provided reasonable facilities. The only negatives for us were the absence of a clock in the room so inconvenient when waking at all hours of the morning with jet lag not knowing what was the time and having to grapple with the cell phone to find out. The second negative was the shower door kept getting jammed on the silicone gasket which was damaged so it was very difficult to open the shower door. Despite reporting this defect to the hotel, nothing was done to repair during our stay. The Avra has superb eating facilities providing a wide range of international cuisines, so much so that we found the food better than in the hotel than in the surrounding restaurants and therefore chose to eat mostly in the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and, on the whole spoke some English so communication was not a problem. The only problem I had was on departure for the airport I had booked a taxi for 6:00 am through the front desk but the taxi was 25 min late and the driver claimed the hotel had given him 7:00 am as the pickup time. Other than this our stay at the Avra was quite delightful and comfortable and we certainly would recommend it for visitors looking for a resort style holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

.All the staff at the Hotel were excellent and very helpful. Our room was kept very clean and plenty of toiletries and fresh towels provided. Bed very comfortable and facilities were perfect.
Plenty of pools to swim in for all ages and very luxurious places in the hotel to be quiet and the Spa is free to use and relaxing. The Concierge Jimmy is Australian but Lives in Greece and it exceptionally helpful nothing is too difficult for him to organise with regards trips, or leisurely activities as are the receptionists. There is the beach to access very close to the hotel which is quiet and enjoyable for swimming however wear sea shoes as bit pebbly when walking into the water. They have a great shop in the hotel where you can buy these or other necessities. You are provided with fresh towels and beach towels which is very good.
Our favourite place in the hotel is the the authentic Cretan Restaurant only open for Breakfasts and across the road from the Hotel in the other part of the Hotel complex probably a 2 minute walk but worth it the food is cooked from scratch and very fresh and local it is superb and the staff are fantastic. We are going again in September.
The other restaurant has a great variety also morning and evening.
Overall nothing to fault and a wonderful stay. Kolymbari itself is 5 min walk the supermarket is fab and staff happy and our favourite cafe is up the road about 5mins further call Art Cafe we got a fabulous Pizza made on the spot and a Crepe filled with fresh fruit again freshly made and omlette very reasonable perfectly cooked and lovely staff highly recommend.

Room Tip: we had deluxe twin room with pool view it was excellent and sunny all day
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divine277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived on Saturday evening. On Sunday morning the hotel hade a hiking with the trainer Michalis, so lovely to walk in the area with a guide that gave us a lesson about the places we saw, he also answerd all of our questions about Crete and the lokal area. We higly recommend the morning walk, which will be the tings we will remember the most from this trip and Avra imperial hotel over all. The hotel has lovely staff and is very beautiful. The confranser was very helpfull and kind when we wanted to book trips.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Henrik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avra_Management, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest,

On behalf of the entire Avra team, I would like to thank you not only for having chosen Avra Imperial Hotel for your holidays in Crete but also for putting so kind words on our staff members. It is heartening to learn that you could make the most of the hotel’s location and of your stay in Chania, thanks to the recommendations and all interesting information provided by my colleagues. Please make sure that I will share all these positive comments with them, since there is no better motivation than your satisfaction.

We do hope to make your next visit to our town even more memorable, suggesting new places for exploration and experience of Greek life.


Warm regards,
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel:
Great hotel and we had a very relaxing vacation there.
It is a very big hotel with many areas for you to sunbathe and relax.
Great wifi all over the hotel.
Fantastic breakfast, wonderful greek salad (at the beach bar) and pizza at the restaurant (Al Fresco) by the pool.

Our special thanks to:
- Elli (restaurant hostess)
Wonderful, warm and super professional woman.
Always happy and in control of the restaurant.
Always said hello when she saw us, even outside of the restaurant.
She even surprised me with a very nice birthday cake and sang “Happy birthday” during the breakfast on my birthday. It was a lovely surprise for me who love my birthdays.

- Olimphia (our cleaning lady)
Very nice, warm and friendly lady.
Always checking if we need something else.
She really loves her job and you can see it by the quality of it.

Also thanks to: Stefanos (beach bar) and Jimmy (Concierge).

If you have a late afternoon/night flight you can ask for towels and toiletries and use the shower under the main pool or under the pool on the other side of the street.

Spa was very nice, even if you do not do any treatment. Very relaxing.

Kolimbari:
Very small village, but there are restaurants, a supermarket, hairdresser and shops.

I like to support the locals, so we bought souvenirs at the shops in Kolimbari and what I did not see there we bought when we went to Chania.

I really enjoyed our dinner at restaurant Edem (by the beach walk).
Everything was very nice: food, service, location, price.
Can really recommend it!

We ate sometimes at Freshness and it was nice everytime.

I tried a typical lemonade from Kreta called Temenia. Very nice, specially ice cold. It can be bought at supermarkets and restaurants.

As I said, I like to support the locals, so I asked for a nice hairdresser in the village. Christina Coiffeur was the one recommended.
She speaks very little English, but very helpful and extremely good hairdresser. I loved my haircut and back home lots of friends said it looked great.
Very clean saloon, very good prices and 5 minutes walk from the hotel.
To go to her saloon: out of the main entrance of the hotel, walk until the big supermarket (Inka). Cross the road to the other side of the street and walk until Bank of Chania. Her saloon is the other side of the street, in a small entrance (see the photo) between a restaurant and shop.

Stayed: April 2018
3  Thank Chris_och_Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avra_Management, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest,

We would really like to thank you for all the nice comments relating to our facilities, services and especially our staff!

It is rewarding to hear that you truly loved our installations, charming restaurants and team members. Indeed, Avra Team always does its best, so you receive is as you deserve.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us during your trip to Chania, and nothing would give us greater joy than to welcome you back in the future!


Warm regards,
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first time in this part of Crete. Kolymbari is a small village with a selection of shops,bars, restaurants and a small harbour. This modern hotel is located on the front and has its own section of sunbeds on the pebble beach. (which is exceptionally clean). This stylish hotel has large rooms, beautifully appointed and also the bathrooms have the best shower unit I have come across! Apart from the beach, there are various swimming pools, something to suit everyone. There are many rooms with their own private pools which are well maintained. There is also a wonderful indoor Spa area, Sauna, Steam Room and various treatments available. The choice of food available in the various restaurants is excellent and there is plenty of choice!
Should you wish to travel to Chania, the local bus stops outside and takes just under an hour each way.
This stylish hotel has so many areas to relax in, all kept immaculately however the thing I will remember the most is the staff. ALL staff, Reception,Restaurant, Bar, Cleaning, Car Hire and Jimmy the concierge were all exceptional. Genuinely friendly helpful. The only thing I would like to see is possibly some more entertainment, there are a couple of nights when there is a piano player available but I think something a little more lively would make it better.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank LlanelliOldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avra_Management, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us online.

It is great to read that you had a wonderful first impression of our hotel and that our services were exemplary. It is so lovely to hear that Avra is now part of your most beautiful memories.

Hopefully, we will see you again in the future!


Warm regards,
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews