We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,355)
Filter reviews
1,355 results
Traveller rating
838
362
91
35
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
838
362
91
35
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanana leaftapas bartawann restaurantkoh samuigarden villadeluxe roompool barprivate poolmain poolour honeymoonlow tidefire showshallow waterbuffet breakfastsea viewthe main roadspecial thanks
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 1,355 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

We went to Koh Tao and Koh Samui during our New Years visit to Thailand. I love the place. Serene and beautiful.
The Renaissance hotel is amazing. Right on the beach front. There is so much to do within the resort premises itself. The staff is courteous and helpful. Would love to stay here again during our next trip.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
Thank RSdesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aekphon, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Dear RSdesk,

Thank you for your feedback and I am delighted you had a wonderful experience on your recent stay at The Renaissance Koh Samui Resort and Spa.

Rest assured that I will share your feedback with the team who strive to deliver perfection to each and every guest.

We look forward to have you stay with us at The Renaissance Koh Samui Resort and Spa again soon.

Best Regards,

Aekphon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We had two nights at the Samui Buri and were very impressed with the quality of the hotel. From the minute you check-in you can tell you are in a place of quality and we were sad to be only staying for such a short time.

Location

Really good.

It is in a particularly quiet part of the island but there is still enough around it (shops, bars, restaurants etc) to keep you more than happy.

Although it is quiet, the surrounding area is beautiful and the views of the sea and Ko Phangan are quite breathtaking. You can also walk to the pier should you need to get a ferry onwards.

Rooms

In summary, big, comfortable and have everything you need. We went for the entry-level room and it was more than adequate and we would probably pick it over one of the pool bungalows or pool access rooms.

Ours was on the top floor and we had two really good nights sleep there and very comfortable bed with lovely linen. There are all the usual extras you need such as umbrellas, safe, hot drinks making facilities, lovely toiletries in the bathroom which has both a shower and a bath.

Balcony

Really nice,

It's had a clothes dryer, two heavy wood chairs and a table and was big enough to make spending time there very enjoyable.

Noise

There was no road noise to speak of and very little from anywhere else. We got great nights sleep both nights.

Pool

We are lucky enough to travel a lot but I can't remember any other pool as beautiful as this. It is an infinity pool build on the edge of the beach and with stunning views out over other islands.

I've never seen so many people taking photos by the pool and it's no wonder as I will have some wonderful memories. Pool towels are provided by the hotel and a nice touch is the carrying Wicker basket. There were always plenty of sun beds with shade available around and down on the beach itself.

Wi-Fi

Very good indeed. You are given a voucher at check-in that is good for three devices – we had four so were given another.

The speed is more than acceptable and the Internet can be accessed all over the resort including down at the pool and in the rooms. It is free of charge.

Food

We were room only so didn't use the restaurant. There are loads of places around for cheap eats though.

Staff

Cheerful, friendly and very attentive.

Room Tip: Entry level rooms on a high floor are great.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Off their P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aekphon, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Dear Off their P,

Thank you for this fantastic feedback! I am glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were impressed by our friendly service and the infinity pool.

I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and thank you for your glowing review. Renaissance Koh Samui Resort and Spa is a rather special place and is made so by a brilliant team though also blessed with lovely guests that make our jobs so much more enjoyable.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Aekphon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

The maximum score of TripAdvisor really is not enough. This place deserves an extra star. A paradise on the coast, with even more luxury than you would dare to wish. The hotel has a fantastic location on a bay, with private beaches. Enjoy the ***** sea views from terraces, one of the restaurants or pool. The attention to detail is evident everywhere, for example in the luxuriant gardens, rich of (palm) trees, flowers, statues, water features..., everything looks superb. The decor of the hotel is equally perfect: spacious, luxurious, well-kept, with attention to detail, quality and atmosphere.
But what makes this hotel the most beautiful are the people who pamper you from the moment you enter. You will continuously experience a spontaneous attention, a natural smile, care and love. The people at the reception (thank you Chin, Mai, Utilities, Dan, Tem, May, Honey Sai Yin, Tikky, Pooky, Nui, Nong, Melissa and all others), navigator Aod, the lovely people at the pool bar (Gunz, Jimmy Pop, Ton, Dome, Loy, Apple, …) and restaurants. You gave us an unforgettable week! You guys are really great!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the rooms at the park side, with a direct entrance to the 50m swimming pool. Feels like a private pool.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noordenbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The Staff at Renaissance Koh Samui were top notch, they would go out of their way to respond to any request we had. The accommodations were great. The view from our rooms was fantastic.

I loved the breakfast buffet that they offered. A huge variety of Thai and western options. The staff were at our side to make sure we had anything that we wanted.

The pool area was really unique and pretty. The beach was amazing, it was really clean, it had an abundant supply of beach chairs and a number of quiet places to relax. Thanks for a great week.

This location provided us many wonderful memories. I would recommend Renaissance Koh Samui Resort to anyone traveling to Thailand.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank aerete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

65,000 points per night for "beach front" villa... AND stay 4 and 5th should be free per standard Marriott policy. Not here. They still charged 25K (5 upgrade certificates) for that 5th night. And the villas are most definitely not beachside, so don't waste your points. Quite frankly, for those in the US, use those points for somewhere in Caribbean since the beach will be better.

Also, for Marriott gift cards, the hotel will try to charge you the "currency conversion rate" for these, so be sure to apply prior to arrival.

Pros: nice staff, solid breakfast for elite members (including a make your own Bloody Mary bar and good coffee... But even after 4 days of handsome tipping they will charge one morning for an additional guest... Even for couples without children), nice pool, pool bar with friendly staff, in-room dining incredibly flexible, and the beach activities are fun

Cons: way too many points, idyllic beach is not available, far from airport.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasana_pumsuwan2015, Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear K C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort and Spa, your feedback is highly valued and appreciated. Refer to the Marriott Rewards Points for free night, our Front Office Manager had explained in his e-mail since you not arrival.

I apologized for the wrong information in your bill about the breakfast. After investigated the team, we took it out once you report. Our Guest Service Agent Supervisor met you upon departure and apologized for the problem and explained about the exchange rate for Marriott Gift Card.

Please rest assured that I will personally look into those matters and will pass your feedback to relevant departments and I truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and restore your faith in Marriott particular Renaissance Koh Samui Resort and Spa.

Best Regards,

Wasana Pumsuwan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews