We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (636)
Filter reviews
636 results
Traveller rating
419
150
40
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
150
40
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfjord viewbeautiful hoteldinner buffettwo nightsswimming poolindoor tennis courtdining roompublic roomsseafoodtour groupfruit treesevening mealwonderful experiencefamily runafter a long daythe hotel offersan upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 636 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Great hotel! Very large and beautiful building, with lots of facilities. The rooms were nice. The setting and location is great too, in. Hardangerfjorden. I really enjoyed the tennis court and swimming pool.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SupEvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

This is hotel is in a beautiful location. Rooms have balconies and those facing the fjords have a fabulous view. The pool and spa areas are also great, and service is decent.

The issue comes in with the hours things are open. The pool closes at 7 p.m. each evening, which is very early for a place where, in the summer, it stays light out until Midnight and many guests enjoy days on excursions. There were a few times when we were out for a hike, and craved a dip in the hot tub or sauna, but it wasn't open. The bar doesn't open until 9 p.m., as well. Additionally, just be aware that there are limited food options, however, the included breakfast was fantastic.

Room Tip: Get a fjord view! The other side faces the parking lot and road.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Z_Utne, Owner at Hotel Ullensvang, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear windowbird

First of all thank you for staying with us and thank you for your comment on TA. It is very nice to read that you were happy with the breakfast, our facilities and in particular the wellness area. At the same time, we are very sorry to learn about your disappointment with regards to the opening hours. We chose to close the wellness area at 7 p.m. for both security and hygiene (desinfection program) reasons. Our pool area is unattended (the depth of the pool allows us that according to Norwegian safety standards), but the combination of alcohol and water is not the best one and we would like to avoid unnecessary incidents as we unfortunately have experienced in the past.

Our lobby bar which offers both food and drinks is open daily from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m., whilst our main bar opens at 9 p.m. Our dining room serves lunch and buffet dinner every day and our à la carte restaurant is open for dinner during the summer from Tuesday until Saturday.

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Norway in this great weather and hope to be able to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Barbara Zanoni Utne
5th Generation Mg. Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

The most beautiful hotel we stayed in. The staff was very nice and the setting of this hotel is outstanding. We were on a tour and only had one night here. Wish we had stayed longer. Food was delicious and we really enjoyed it.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank ternd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

This is a large white hotel near the center of the Hardangerfjord. The staff was friendly and helpful as we had to deal with lost luggage by Icelandair. We enjoyed the free breakfast and dinner. Food was great and plentiful. Beautiful outside eating areas. Scenery was great with waterfalls in the background. Outdoor swimming area. You will not be disappointed
.

Room Tip: Ask for fjord view.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tisrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

Other reviews say it all really, but for me the view (from your own balcony particularly) is the most wonderful thing about this hotel, it has to be seen to be believed. The light changes all the time and it is just stunning. The hotel runs superbly and is a very well oiled machine. If you stay at this hotel make sure you get fjord view. We like trying different places and for me 3 or 4 nights of breakfast and evening meal in one place is enough even if the choice of foods is extensive. Would love to go back though as the peace of Lofthus is restorative.

Room Tip: Fjord view room
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews