We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
100
87
29
14
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
87
29
14
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel air conditioning small parking area walking distance to center hotel's garden upper floor an added bonus restaurant area jet lag rooms are nice and clean park your car live music swimming pool breakfast is served little bit on foot chios island
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017

When looking for a hotel in Chios, we had relied on TripAdvisor in terms of looking for a nice hotel that was conveniently located and overall looked nice. Based on the reviews and pictures, we choose the Grecian Castle Hotel.

In reality, the pictures on TripAdvisor do not look like the reality of the hotel. From the outside, the hotel looks nice but its an average hotel definitely not a great hotel. The hotel is not centrally located - its about a 15 minute walk to the main downtown center. The hotel is located on the main 'highway' from the airport to the city centre, but there is not much around it. The hotel does have an outdoor pool (only open until 6p) and free wifi (although the wifi was inconsistent). The restaurant in the hotel is very popular and lots of locals come there.

The rooms themselves were alright - based on the pictures we saw we were expecting a better quality of rooms so we were a bit disappointed, but generally the rooms were alright. The quality in the picture is 4-5 stars but in reality its about 2-3 stars.

The service at the hotel was inconsistent - some of the rooms had working ACs while some not, and some rooms had other problems and the hotel was not in a rush to fix the problems - and that was the major issue was the lack of service.

Overall, it was a disappointed stay at the Grecian Castle Hotel. It was not near the Castle (that is located in the city center), the rooms did not look like the pictures, and the service was bad. had the advertising been a bit more truthful, then I would have given it a better review

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 0504Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

• Walking distance to center but not in center, therefore silent enough to sleep well. Center is a bit crowded and awake until morning lights esp for weekends.
• Free parking area
• Very good for mid age people. Youngs may find the Hotel a bit silent
• Good air conditioning and refrigerator in rooms.
• Rich breakfast
• Live music once in a week in dinner area.
• Local people meetings in restaurant area celebrating birthdays etc.
• Friendly reception staff.
• Mid size swimming pool usually easy to find free umbrellas.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank SabriUner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We had two rooms at the Grecian Castle, one for a month and the other for a week. From day one we were treated as family. Each of the staff members cares whether it is the front desk staff lending us a blood pressure monitor to the dining staff refilling and cleaning out the French press we brought with us. This is the best hotel to stay at if you want to be near Chios town. We would go back in a heart beat.

Ambience - The ambience of the hotel is great. It has a classical feel but the facilities are new/updated with modern amenities. I loved the old-school well/fountain out in the courtyard.

Rooms - Room decorations are simple but the rooms are all modern. We had a superior room with a queen size bed and a nice outdoor seating area. We initially had some issues with the air conditioning that were addressed immediately by the staff. They are extremely responsive and will help you at any hour.

Location - The hotel is located between the airport and Chios town. It is an easy walk to the town for a night out/dinner. There is easy parking at the hotel so having a rental car is not a problem at all.

Breakfast - There is a great spread. You get one cup of coffee/espresso with breakfast. I loved the home made bread, dried fruits, and yogurt. The hot bar has a variety of egg dishes, meats, and rotating pastries. You will not get bored with the options.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in one of the villas
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank StylianosAlatsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Chios island is a typical medium-sized Greek island except its main tourist base is just across the water - Turkey. So no mass tourism from western Europe, possibly an attraction? Sights to see, beaches to laze on, clear sea to swim in and local specialities to consume. Unfortunately there is no great range of tourism accommodation, so for a week I decided to split it into two places: one a hostel with no air-con & the other the GPH. This seemed fortuitous as the week there was blidtering: temperatures 40C and peaking at 47C in the sun. Two days & nights there seemed the prefect relief. Not. The AC in the main wing hwere we were put had broken down & despite promises, remained so until it was time for bed. After complaining, we were given another room to move to at midnight despite being told earlier it was full & thus a transfer impossible. The second room was barely better. We were not he only plaintiffs.Afer returning from a scorching day travelling around the island, another room in another wing with a sea view was offered along with complimentary wine, water & fruit. However, an American couple told me that they were offered the same plus dinner, but moved out even so.
Surprising too was that we got an inferior room to our friends despite me booking & paying for all four of us. Similarly the poolside 'Happy Hour' between 5-7pm clearly stated in English that every 2nd same drink was free. This seemed to be different to the information the staff were given, who claimed on the first two evenings that it was the third. Then the new witer on the last night knew as he told us pleasantly. But it was strange the pool closed then at 6pm. Why? And what was the point of the loud music during happy hour when surely most want a quiet drink & chat?
Not a pleasant experience & nowhere near value for money as those queueing to complain at the reception would probably agree. A pity as it has a nice pool area, dining-cum-breakfast room (where the AC worked continuously) & most of the staff polite & helpful. A good breakfast choice too.
The managers/owners hsould get more involved - especially when a breakdown lasts hours or perhaps days.
Tip for guests: get a room with a balcony as on the left there is a builders materials yard - not the best view!
This place could be fantastic, but.....

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony! Not all have balconies either, specify one or risk disappointment.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank HelsinkiJohnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

The staff at Grecian castle go above and beyond to accommodate their guests. We checked in early and slept the entire next day because of jet lag without interruption. Thank you to Fotini and Amalia that assisted my family. The rooms are nice and clean. Also breakfast is an added bonus. I would come back again. The pool is beautiful too.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews