We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grecian Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Chios Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for three nights. We were given a very nice room at the New building of the hotel oposite the pool. The room was spacious,clean, modern, and was decorated in beautiful colors... The veranda had nice sea views. Breakfast was a basic 4 star hotel breakfast and it was good. The personel were all very helpful and polite.The port and the city of Chios can be reached in 10 -15 minutes walking distance, where all bars, coffee shops and restaurants are located.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stella E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

When looking for a hotel in Chios, we had relied on TripAdvisor in terms of looking for a nice hotel that was conveniently located and overall looked nice. Based on the reviews and pictures, we choose the Grecian Castle Hotel.

In reality, the pictures on TripAdvisor do not look like the reality of the hotel. From the outside, the hotel looks nice but its an average hotel definitely not a great hotel. The hotel is not centrally located - its about a 15 minute walk to the main downtown center. The hotel is located on the main 'highway' from the airport to the city centre, but there is not much around it. The hotel does have an outdoor pool (only open until 6p) and free wifi (although the wifi was inconsistent). The restaurant in the hotel is very popular and lots of locals come there.

The rooms themselves were alright - based on the pictures we saw we were expecting a better quality of rooms so we were a bit disappointed, but generally the rooms were alright. The quality in the picture is 4-5 stars but in reality its about 2-3 stars.

The service at the hotel was inconsistent - some of the rooms had working ACs while some not, and some rooms had other problems and the hotel was not in a rush to fix the problems - and that was the major issue was the lack of service.

Overall, it was a disappointed stay at the Grecian Castle Hotel. It was not near the Castle (that is located in the city center), the rooms did not look like the pictures, and the service was bad. had the advertising been a bit more truthful, then I would have given it a better review

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 0504Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

• Walking distance to center but not in center, therefore silent enough to sleep well. Center is a bit crowded and awake until morning lights esp for weekends.
• Free parking area
• Very good for mid age people. Youngs may find the Hotel a bit silent
• Good air conditioning and refrigerator in rooms.
• Rich breakfast
• Live music once in a week in dinner area.
• Local people meetings in restaurant area celebrating birthdays etc.
• Friendly reception staff.
• Mid size swimming pool usually easy to find free umbrellas.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank SabriUner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We had two rooms at the Grecian Castle, one for a month and the other for a week. From day one we were treated as family. Each of the staff members cares whether it is the front desk staff lending us a blood pressure monitor to the dining staff refilling and cleaning out the French press we brought with us. This is the best hotel to stay at if you want to be near Chios town. We would go back in a heart beat.

Ambience - The ambience of the hotel is great. It has a classical feel but the facilities are new/updated with modern amenities. I loved the old-school well/fountain out in the courtyard.

Rooms - Room decorations are simple but the rooms are all modern. We had a superior room with a queen size bed and a nice outdoor seating area. We initially had some issues with the air conditioning that were addressed immediately by the staff. They are extremely responsive and will help you at any hour.

Location - The hotel is located between the airport and Chios town. It is an easy walk to the town for a night out/dinner. There is easy parking at the hotel so having a rental car is not a problem at all.

Breakfast - There is a great spread. You get one cup of coffee/espresso with breakfast. I loved the home made bread, dried fruits, and yogurt. The hot bar has a variety of egg dishes, meats, and rotating pastries. You will not get bored with the options.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in one of the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank StylianosAlatsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Chios island is a typical medium-sized Greek island except its main tourist base is just across the water - Turkey. So no mass tourism from western Europe, possibly an attraction? Sights to see, beaches to laze on, clear sea to swim in and local specialities to consume. Unfortunately there is no great range of tourism accommodation, so for a week I decided to split it into two places: one a hostel with no air-con & the other the GPH. This seemed fortuitous as the week there was blidtering: temperatures 40C and peaking at 47C in the sun. Two days & nights there seemed the prefect relief. Not. The AC in the main wing hwere we were put had broken down & despite promises, remained so until it was time for bed. After complaining, we were given another room to move to at midnight despite being told earlier it was full & thus a transfer impossible. The second room was barely better. We were not he only plaintiffs.Afer returning from a scorching day travelling around the island, another room in another wing with a sea view was offered along with complimentary wine, water & fruit. However, an American couple told me that they were offered the same plus dinner, but moved out even so.
Surprising too was that we got an inferior room to our friends despite me booking & paying for all four of us. Similarly the poolside 'Happy Hour' between 5-7pm clearly stated in English that every 2nd same drink was free. This seemed to be different to the information the staff were given, who claimed on the first two evenings that it was the third. Then the new witer on the last night knew as he told us pleasantly. But it was strange the pool closed then at 6pm. Why? And what was the point of the loud music during happy hour when surely most want a quiet drink & chat?
Not a pleasant experience & nowhere near value for money as those queueing to complain at the reception would probably agree. A pity as it has a nice pool area, dining-cum-breakfast room (where the AC worked continuously) & most of the staff polite & helpful. A good breakfast choice too.
The managers/owners hsould get more involved - especially when a breakdown lasts hours or perhaps days.
Tip for guests: get a room with a balcony as on the left there is a builders materials yard - not the best view!
This place could be fantastic, but.....

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony! Not all have balconies either, specify one or risk disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank HelsinkiJohnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chios Town
0.6 km away
Chios Chandris Hotel
Chios Chandris Hotel
#2 of 7 in Chios Town
301 reviews
4.9 km away
Sea View Resorts & Spa
22.3 km away
Mesta Medieval Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Ai Yannis Suites and Apartments Hotel
4.4 km away
Mouzaliko Hotel
Mouzaliko Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thimiana
131 reviews
6.6 km away
Kyveli Apartments
Kyveli Apartments
#2 of 2 in Vrontados
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecian Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecian Castle Hotel

Address: 6 Leoforos Enosseos, Chios Town 821 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Chios > Chios Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Chios Town
Price Range: $107 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grecian Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grecian Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing