We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Wedding Come True!.....(and then some!)”
Review of Eden Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eden Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Beruwala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We had our wedding at Eden Resort and Spa on 28 October 2011. I will get the only two negatives about this resort out of the way first. As many others have mentioned, the rooms are quite dated but the royal treatment you receive makes you disregard the 70's era decor. We originally booked one of the Eden rooms. It was on the 2nd level facing the pool. We never even got our bags into the room before I asked for an upgrade. It's fine if you want a smaller room and can deal with all of the noise coming from the pool. Personally, I think it's worth the money to upgrade.

Now for our second negative. One feature of the wedding package was a couples spa treatment. I'm sorry to have to add just one more negative to this review but we were not overly impressed. We were looking forward to a nice, hour long, rejuvenating massage and ended up with a half hour oil rubdown. We also were not impressed on how they just had us strip to our underwear right where we stood. (As in most spa's would give you the courtesy of changing into a robe in privacy). My husband and I felt very uncomfortable. Top that off with the fact that the staff were yabbling away with each other the entire time.

We didn't even get all of our bags off the trolley into the Eden room before we immediately upgraded to a Superior room (111...I suggest you book this room if it's available!). This room was a huge improvement. It's on the ground floor with a sea facing view. It's very convenient if you frequent the beach or pool because you can walk right out your door to get to them. Pool boys always ensure you have a lounger to relax in the sun and fresh beach towels. This also meant our wedding was going to be right outside our room!

The wedding package--We chose the gold package and it was worth every cent. The ceremony went above and beyond our expectations! We wore traditional Pakistani wedding clothing, the girls at the salon were very keen to help me get ready. They did my hair and though they offered to do my makeup, ,I chose to do that myself. They were even capable of doing mehndi (henna tattooing). From the amazing escort by the drummers and dancers to the altar to the wonderfully cheeky officiant (she was a lovely lady and made you feel totally at ease), to the ride on Kumari, the elephant, we felt like absolute royalty. Anojika and Janaki...you were the BEST! Very accommodating. If you're looking to have a small, intimate wedding with a bit of pizzazz, definitely book Eden Resort and Spa. Just be ready to have bathing suit-clad guests attending your ceremony, taking photos, whether you want them to or not. We actually didn't mind. We figured, since none of our friends or family could come, why not just invite the whole hotel! Apparently, because of our traditional wedding clothing, we were quite the spectacle. Even the wedding coordinator said she's never had many Pakistani/Indian weddings at the resort....at least not in traditional clothing.

The final wedding surprise is the suite....which we never wanted to leave! We thought it was just magnificent. I couldn't keep the hubby out of the spa tub! There is a private balcony with an amazing view.

The food was pricey but well worth it, in our opinion. Curry enthusiasts will be very pleased. (Though if you don't like it super spicy, don't indulge!). There is a wide selection of European style food choices in the buffet restaurant and we were never disappointed.

A one hour boat ride was included with the Gold wedding package. You are taken in a small boat on the Beruwela River. We quite enjoyed the sunny day and scenery. At one point, they stop in along the bank where a man was sitting in a boat to let the tourists hold a baby crocodile. Further along, our boatman took us through the spectacular mangroves.

I can't elaborate on the beach boys or tuk tuk's as we never used any of them. We were only there a week for the wedding so didn't do much exploring outside the resort. We did go out on the beach a few times but the constant annoyance of the beach boys and hawkers wore very thin, very quickly so we just didn't bother. It's a very rough sea as well so take note of that.

I did buy a saree from the gift shop and the lovely lady working there helped me to put it on. She didn't have any blouses to fit me but recommended a tailor just outside the hotel gate. DO NOT go there for anything. It is a total ripoff. When we told the gift shop lady, she was quite shocked and offered us a free blouse for me to take to a tailor at home so I could have it custom made.

Overall, this is a marvelous place to get married and celebrate your honeymoon. It's also a fantastic place to just kick back, grab some sun and relax. We'll be back next year for our first anniversary!

If any one would like to see more photos, please contact me privately and I will give you a link to our web album. :)

Room Tip: Money spent on at least a superior room is well worth it. If your budget calls for it, go for the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KL_Sentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

899 - 903 of 1,635 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2011

..........this was our second visit and once again no disappointments.
This hotel shows signs of wear but the welcoming staff who always go that extra mile more than make up for a few paint chips.
my only complaint is the restuarant at eveing meal........food is excellent but it does have the atmosphere of a works canteen. My suggestion is do as we do.....go B&B and eat out on an evening. Its half the cost of eating in and you get to meet the real Sri lanka.
Breakfast is execellent both in food quality and diversity however be prepared this is all halal- no real bacon.
Oh...don't be afraid of using the tuk tuks at the front of hotel....all realiable and honest.

Room Tip: if you are with small children rooms nearer the sea away from the bar will be quiter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigGYorksire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

good place to unwind with family. the rooms are dated but with people going to the beach and back, must be expected.very very good staff at reception.
we wanted to have a celebratory champagne diwali party and the staff set it up for us in no time.
the pool is very large and nice.
bar is a nice place to unwind after a day at the beach or pool
breakfast at the restaurant was really good with a lot of choices
poor quality of toileteries in room
the beach is very very very dirty with lots of flotsam and jetsam not a pleasant place at all

Room Tip: choose beach facing rooms at the end of the wings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Rooms were very tired and in dire need of refurb, on the plus side, bed linen and towels were changed daily.
We opted for all inclusive...don't make the same mistake, AI is not what you might reasonably expect. Buffets are the only food option and there was confusion amongst the staff concerning what was and was not included in AI! Ultimately we passed on lunch buffets and ate outside the resort on alternate nights. On one night per month, alcohol is not served, but there is no adjustment to the room rates to reflect this.
Flies infested the buffets. Not a single UV device was in place to help deal with this.

Staff overall were fantastic..a real credit to the hotel. ...the management is another story.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sayitasisawit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Eden Spa is a perfect place to relax. It has wonderful pool side bar. Food and drinks are good and well priced. The staff is co-operative and provide good service. Rooms and other facilities in Eden spa are very basic.

Over all we had a pleasant experience staying at Eden spa.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaurangipotdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beruwala
1.5 km away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
1,738 reviews
3.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.6 km away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 km away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,299 reviews
1.3 km away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#5 of 11 in Beruwala
857 reviews
2.5 km away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Resort & Spa

Address: | Kaluwamodara, Beruwala, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beruwala
#2 Spa Hotel in Beruwala
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Beruwala
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beruwala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beruwala
Price Range: $151 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eden Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on a beach chair with a tropical cocktail and watch the sun set over the Indian Ocean. Walk on miles of pristine beaches as the sky and water merge as crimson and gold. Let our experienced massage therapists melt away the stress from your body at our elaborate spa. Select a bottle of wine from our elaborate wine cellar and sit down to a fine dining experience like no other. Curl up in your luxurious room and drift into your dreams without a care in the world. Enjoy five-star luxury at the Eden Resort and Spa, your ultimate beach holiday destination in Beruwala, Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eden Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Beruwala
Eden Resort And Spa
Eden Resort Beruwela
Eden Hotel Beruwela
Eden Resort Sri Lanka
Eden Resort & Spa Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing