We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$32
US$31
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Palms Hotel(Beruwala)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$45
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sky & Sand Guesthouse(Beruwala)(Great Value!)
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Arena Hotel(Beruwala)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$70
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
US$36
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$51/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sagarika Beach Hotel(Moragalla)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$48
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gastehaus Isabella(Moragalla)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
US$158
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,785)
Filter reviews
1,785 results
Traveller rating
1,000
481
173
76
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,000
481
173
76
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstemptations restaurantsri lankaparadise roompool barbutler servicechameleon cafethe penthousegarden boysspecial thanksbeach boysour honeymoontuk tukroom boysuperior roomthe ground floorevery eveningboat trip
Filter
Updating list...
1,262 - 1,267 of 1,785 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2007

Just returned from 10 days at the Eden on 5th August. The hotel is very pleasantly situated on the beach and the gardens are lovely and peaceful. However, the sea was very rough and the red flag was shown every day we were there even though some people were in the sea. We were given room 201 which was a large comfortable room but right over the bar which did cause some complaint because of the noise on 2 nights. It lasted until 2.00 a.m/ on our first night and we were told this was an exception as any music ended at 11.45 pm. However, on our last evening I had to complain because it was very loud and was still going at 1.00 a.m. When we left the bar area there were only a handful of people there so I am not sure who was actually dancing to the music. We ate at the Temptation restaurant one evening and had a very good meal. However, we did not enjoy the meals in the buffet. The food in the outside Camelian cafe were average although were sometimes not very warm. We ate at Aida restaurant and Golden Grill, just a tut tut ride away. The Golden Grill was the best by far and the staff wonderful. I would recommend having an irish coffee especially if they are not busy - say no more, try it. The beach boys certainly were evident in that they stand all day outside the fence and look in. This can be very off putting but we just ignored them. They are looking for new holiday makers. We did go on a boat trip with Pette and found him to be excellent. He also went out of his way to take us to the turtles which was much better than being in a crowd. I would just warn you, he did try to get us to go on other trips but we declined because of the insurance angle. I also went to his family jewellers and would say they may try to overcharge you. I had my best bargain at Aida jewellery shop. All in all it was excellent and certainly one of the best hotels in that area. Room was cleaned every day from top to bottom with clean sheets and towels.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Digby55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2007

Had a 2 week stay at the eden end June into July weather was better than we could of hoped as it is the monsoon season, we had one afternoon and one evening of rain.Hotel is great the staff very friendly good choice of either buffet or al a carte menu, we found several resturents just a short Tuk Tuk trip away for about 3000 rupees one called the Golden grill ,there they will adapt any meal to your taste and it is unbelivably cheap.
We had a standard Eden room which was really nice , the rooms werecleaned everyday with fresh bedding and flowers laid out on the bed, complimentary bottles water are left in the fridge for you each morning and a mini bar is provided at extra cost.Towels changed daily and the mosquito tablet was changed each night.The grounds and spa are fabulous and right onto the beach, the beach boys are friendly and will organise local trips for you at a cheap price.The pool area is kept very clean the gardeners and pool staff work throughout the day to ensure all is ok, towels are provided on your sun lounger with matress and for a couple of rupees to the gardners or pool boys this will ensure you get a good spot in the sun each morning.It was very quiet while we were there the hotel only accomodating some 100 guests throughout our stay, the staff say things have been quiet this year.Its a fabulous country and theres so much to go and see the people are among the nicest Ive come across and many are still rebuilding their lives after the Tsunarmi .In the guide books it will tell you this hotel is among the best on the coast and its right it was a great location and very well kept we will certainly return to this hotel and sri lanka in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank BORO5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2007

Our stay at the Eden Resort & Spa was generally pleasant and relaxing. The staff could not be faulted for their endeavours to please. Their friendly faces a delight, an eagerness to provide for whatever the guest needed.

The Hotel setting was adjacent to the Indian Ocean – which was extremely rough and non-swim able. The beach was nice to walk along and banter with the occasional beach-vender – all manner of bargains available. A local bar, tailors, Jewellers and boys offering boat trips.

Our deluxe room featuring a four-poster bed, DVD & TV facilities and very comprehensive bar – stocked with everything one could desire.at reasonable prices. The room boy called twice a day to clean, change towels and spray pre-chosen perfumery about. On arrival we were given a choice of soap, pillows and perfume for our delightful quarters. Canapés & delicious fresh fruit juice delivered each evening at around 6.30pm. The room was fully air-conditioned throughout our stay.

Disappointingly and ably pointed out by Carole of Bournemouth some facilities were below standard for what we were expecting from a 5 star rated hotel. The main lobbies, restaurants and bars were not air-conditioned as stated by the hotel in its advertising. They had problems with the air-conditioning plant I later found out. Some areas like the superior rooms received priority, public areas were at times unpleasantly hot & humid.

Our first week was largely better than the second. There were more guests, hence more effort and facilities provided by the management. We only used the main restaurant once during the entire stay, all other times guests used the 24-hour restaurant. Entertainment was very much below average, a daily activities sheet posted that seldom materialised. The second week arrived, there were even fewer guests and obvious economies started to be put in force by the hotel management – less staff, even cancellation of the usual high standard buffet – changed for a printed menu with three basic choices of food and not very good either. Some guests went out in search of alternatives. The bars also ran out of certain beverages favoured by the guests at that time – “Ginger Beer” was a popular example – we moaned for days before management finally made a local acquisition of supplies.

The pool was beautiful, although could have had the tiles cleaned more often. A daily vacuum kept the water in tiptop condition. Many of us spent hours each day communing at this location.

Overall we did enjoy this location, but maybe and regretfully, choose a different Hotel for our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Englishborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2007

We stayed at the Eden 6th May - 20th May 2007,we travelled with 2 friends. First impressions were good. The staff are amazing the hotel clean & tidy, however for the first 3 days we had engineers sorting out the air conditioning in our room, something which was never really reasolved, air conditioning in the lobby was non existant, as for the 24hour restaurant & Bar unless requested the air conditioning was never turned on and complaints to ther management were fruitless.
The main Garden of Eden Restaurant was opened once in 14days meaning we had to eat in the 24hour restaurant. The food was good the first week, but deterioated the second week with very little choice, so we resorted to eating out, try the Taj Exoctic hotel buffet only £10.00 per person and brilliant.
The swimming pool was good though the tiles need a good clean, Jacuzzi never worked the whole time we were there.
As we have said the staff were amazing but due to so few visitors it seems that management are cost cutting and it is having a detrimental affect. We would return to Sri Lanka but not to this hotel.

13  Thank logic01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2007

We stayed at eden resort for 2 weeks and had a great time. The hotel itself was very clean, we stayed in a deluxe room which was big and spacious and drinks and canapes brought by the butler each eveining was a specail touch. The hotel staff are all very freindly! We paticularly enjoyed the sports team (Roshan mainly) who invlolved everyone in activites such as water aerobics ans squash!

Outside the hotel the maharaji bar to the left of the hotel on the beach was very cheap with lovely food. You can also venture out into benota in a tuk tuk for 500 rupees return where there is a lovely restaurant called the golden grill. Temptations restaurant in the hotel was outstanding, delicious food and great service. You can also hire the penthouse suite out for a meal for specail occasions, this was reasonably priced and the staff make lots of effort to make the evening extra specail!

We booked some trips via the hotel, overnight to Kandy where we visited the elephant orphanage, tea plantation and spice garden, this was excellent and kandy is a beautiful city to visit. We also went on an overnight trip to Yala where we went on safari, this was a long journey but with regular stops it gives you a chance to see more of sri lanka!

When taking a tuk tuk be sure to state where you want to go and agree a price, they may try to take you places on the way but if you just say no thank and state again where you are going theres no problem!

We took all englich currency and just took a short walk to the bank to change it for a good exchange rate!

Sri Lankan people are all very friendly and helpful, its a beautiful country and we definately hope to return!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank br0wns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews