We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last a decent grilled fish in Madeira. Fresh, simple and quality. nice”

Restaurant Vila do Peixe
Reserve with
Restaurant Vila do Peixe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$29
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of of Câmara de Lobos, the Vila do Peixe and Vila da Carne Restaurants overlook this picturesque fishing village and the most photographed bay in Madeira. Their modern warehouse design, using large glass panes to make the most of the spectacular views, makes them both welcoming and informal. Both offer an interior (with sliding glass panels to provide a real alfresco feeling for those balmy Madeiran days and nights), and an exterior terrace with large sun umbrellas, and customers are always able to choose their preferred ambiance. The Vila do Peixe reflects the best traditions of grilling the day's catch by the sea. Using only the freshest of fish, it is prepared in the simplest form (with rock salt and a little olive oil), and grilled over the open fire embers, with a finishing touch of infused olive oil (the house secret recipe). In addition, the Restaurant presents a restricted number of house specialties, such as shellfish rice, octopus rice, fish rice, rich bouillabaisse, a selection of Cataplanas and other Madeiran dishes. The Vila da Carne continues the tradition of the Madeira Espetada, using specially selected meat. Additionally, it offers, amongst others, pork ribs, pork on the skewer, chicken on the skewer, chicken piri-piri, Brasilian beef picanha with selected sauces and delicious sirloin and rump steaks, all grilled over the open fire embers. The restaurant also has a menu of Selected Meats that includes Iberian Pork and Lamb, a few house specialties (including Surf&Turf) and the renowned steak on the stone. Desserts are all homemade and traditional. Both esplanades are a wonderful place to enjoy an aperitif, and to taste the traditional village Ponchas, in what is, after all, a balcony over Câmara de Lobos CAPACITIES Vila do Peixe Vila da Carne Restaurant (interior): 180 people 150 people Terrace (exterior): 70 people 50 people Total capacity (interior & exterior): 250 people 200 people Welcome Drinks or Open Bars may be served in both esplanades.
Reviewed 5 August 2017

You see the raw fish, you sellect what you want and they grill it . Clean and nice service. We got tired of bad quality fish in Madeira and ended up runing away from packed places for tourits.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linetach S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2Rodrigues, Gerente geral at Restaurant Vila do Peixe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear customer,

thank you ever so much for your lovely comment left here about us.
It’s really important for us to know customers feedback, and yours is very positive, thank you for sharing that with others futures customers.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Vila Do Peixe / Vila da Carne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 75 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

The girls in the family like fish, which they said was lovely, and you can go to the fish counter to select you fish.
For meat eaters, the steak on the stone is excellent.

Thank julian_t00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2Rodrigues, Gerente geral at Restaurant Vila do Peixe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Sir Madam,
My team and I were really pleased to know that you had a wonderful time with us.
Thank you so much for your lovely comment left here.

I hope to see you in the future.

Best regards,

Vila Do Peixe / Vila Da Carne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

The food was delicious and service just amazing. Fresh fishes in the ice were on the table so we could choose specifically which one we want. The waiter was pouring water to our glasses every time when we had half glass. Much better than restaurants downtown and with even a better view.

Thank Leoš V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2Rodrigues, Gerente geral at Restaurant Vila do Peixe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Sir Madam,
My team and I were really pleased to know that you had a wonderful time with us.
Thank you so much for your lovely comment left here.

I hope to see you in the future.

Best regards,

Vila Do Peixe / Vila Da Carne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

You will find a nicely decor place with fresh fish you can directly pick
The employees are extremely friendly and they have an easy and genuine smile
The view is superb
You have free parking of the restaurante, the entrance is near to the supermarket Pingo Doce
To repeat any time in Madeira!

Thank Pinelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2Rodrigues, Gerente geral at Restaurant Vila do Peixe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Sir Madam,
My team and I were really pleased to know that you had a wonderful time with us.
Thank you so much for your lovely comment left here.

I hope to see you in the future.

Best regards,

Vila Do Peixe / Vila Da Carne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Went there for lunch when such restaurants are not crowded, was seated by the large window with a nice view over the small harbour.
I had the olives, octopus and crab salad appetizers, followed by a plate of limpets (lapas in portuguese) cooked with garlic butter. As main course I had grilled fishes I had chosen myself from the fresh fish display: 3 sardines and 1 red mullet (salmonete in pirtuguese) accompanied with tomato and ornion salad. A couple of glasses of white Alentejano were the perfect match with the meal. 30-35 € altogether. Certainly a bit overpriced but these guys know how to cook fish. Not to become my everyday cantine but is definitely worth a go.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arnaud L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2Rodrigues, Gerente geral at Restaurant Vila do Peixe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Sir/ Madam,
My team and I were really pleased to know that you had a wonderful time with us.
Thank you so much for your lovely comment left here.

I hope to see you in the future.

Best regards,

Vila Do Peixe / Vila Da Carne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Vila do Peixe also viewed

Camara De Lobos, Madeira
Camara De Lobos, Madeira
 
Camara De Lobos, Madeira
 
Camara De Lobos, Madeira
 

Been to Restaurant Vila do Peixe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing