We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views. Enjoy some handmade cakes, quiche or biscuits.”
Review of Cabo Girao Cafe

Cabo Girao Cafe
Price range: US$4 - US$9
Description: Bright coffee shop with fresh and delicious food, friendly staff and great views. We are very proud for offering all home made cakes and beautiful sandwiches and salads.
Restaurant details
Description: Bright coffee shop with fresh and delicious food, friendly staff and great views. We are very proud for offering all home made cakes and beautiful sandwiches and salads.
Reviewed 8 December 2017

We went to Cabo Girao to see the Miradouro (beautiful view). Afterwards we went to the cafe to enjoy a coffee and some great handmade quiche and salad plus some great handmade cakes. I bought some coconut biscuits to take home and these were also fab. A surprisingly great little cafe at the top of the highest sea cliff in Europe.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joycehird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo Girão Café C, Manager at Cabo Girao Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Hi Joycehird,

Thanks very much for such great review.

We are very happy to see that the effort we put in our work is so highly appreciated by our customers. Yes, everything we serve here is homemade and we believe that it makes all the diference in terms of quality.

We will share your kind words with all the staff.

Many thanks.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2017

This small cafe with seating inside and out was a good surprise. The coffee was excellent and the food items looked delicious. We settled for coffee but would certainly see this as a place for a light lunch.

Washrooms in the square.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo Girão Café C, Gestor at Cabo Girao Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Hi Tony O

Thanks for your review.

It is very nice to know you enjoyed your coffee break with us.

We hope to see you again soon so you can try our food as well.

Thanks very much.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Breakfast? Nothing. Not a sausage.

What about some croissants!? Pastries? A nice bacon roll?

So it was coffee only and move on to somewhere else for breakfast.

Coffee was not bad, but none of the staff seemed very happy, and there was an enormous dog lying motionless on the floor. Maybe it was on the menu for later?

Thank Triston R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo Girão Café C, Manager at Cabo Girao Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Hi Triston R,

Thanks for your review. We take all our guests comments very seriously as we find them a good tool to make us improve.

I am surprised and sad that out of all cakes and sandwiches we do you did not find something for your breakfast. We do have bacon and egg roll on our display, we do not have bacon roll on our menu, but certainly it is something we could have done easily had you asked for it.

We proud ourselves of having a nice choice of homemade cakes, some of them gluten free, one of them Vegan, delicious sandwiches made with fresh products everyday, we do have "Portuguese style" croissants you need to try them, home made biscuits, the famous traditional bolo do caco.

We also are a dynamic place and we are always thinking what to do next and listening to our guests’ suggestions, so we are taking your words on board and will discuss about it.

In relation to our staff, we will share your comments with them, and make sure we do not seem unhappy to our guests because in reality we are happy.

The stray dogs around Cabo Girão, are a problem we have identified, that is an issue in Madeira which we regret and would like to help avoiding as we love animals and dogs in particular.
We do not encourage the dogs to enter our place, but regardless our try to avoid it the most we can it is not something we can control totally as even guest around the tables love them and actually feed them, so this is something we will always try to control but is definitely part of a bigger issue we would love to be resolved in the whole Island.

I hope this does not inhibit you from coming back and enjoying a good experience with us.

Many thanks.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Great - no pressure whatsoever to view or purchase the souvenir trivia. The food on offer is what you would expect - good quality at a fair price.

Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo Girão Café C, Manager at Cabo Girao Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Hi Christopher B,

Thank's for taking your time to review your experience with us.

It is very nice to know you enjoyed your food and that you think it is of a good value.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Nice café at the entrace area to Cabo Girao. You can get some refreshments there and also have a piece of cake or a sandwich. Staff is very friendly and will serve you to your table. It's not really cheap there but for a tourist place also not too expensive. Very clean!

Thank falkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo Girão Café C, Manager at Cabo Girao Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hi falkson,

Thanks very much for your amazing review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your food and found it to be of a good value. We work hard every day to improve the quality of our products and it is fantastic to see our guests happy about it.

Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff, it makes us very proud of them.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cabo Girao Cafe also viewed

Camara De Lobos, Madeira
Camara De Lobos, Madeira
 

Been to Cabo Girao Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing