We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more than charming !!!”
Review of Pousada Canicada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pousada Canicada
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canicada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I have been in there with my portuguese bf that used to go there when he was a kid.
what an amazing place, view, service and room !!!!
we are a young couple with really busy life and wanted to detox for 2 days...
Once we arrive we extend the 2 days by 4 days , it was so amazing this environnement !!!
the restaurant is a bit expensive but i think i never it better than that, the wine was excellent and the service just perfect, they dont do too much, just do enought, what customer like.
swimming pool was great too, is asahame there is not bar around and we cannot take any glass on it but whaever.
I think for young couple, 4 days is enought.
You need the car to go there and there is not too much to c around except nature and Geres.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edfromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 102 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

Pousada Sao Bento has been built in a rustic style of a hunter’s lodge within the National Park Peneda Geres. We visited in May. This hotel will please people who appreciate quietness and calm, astonishing nature, like to walk or just stare into the beauty of the surrounding countryside; from the hotel you have excellent vistas.
We stayed 3 nights in a suite (211), rustically furnished, well kept and clean, with a well layed out bathroom, and a small sitting area. The public areas were rustic and/or cozily furnished, with minor wear, still well kept and clean. The gobelin over the fireplace in the lounge, however, is in desperate need of restoration!
The staff were helpful and friendly, some shyish because of their little knowledge of English. Breakfast was good and plentyful. Diner however was very basic, in fact I wondered how a trained cook can ruin the flavours and taste of fresh ingredients. The meals were coarse without any subtlety. My partner made a little joke on one occasion when he said: this is smashed broccoli. I corrected him: you mean ‘Mashed’. ‘No’ he said ‘I mean Smashed, just taste it’. I had to agree: not even seasoned with salt and pepper, oil/butter these ruined potatoes and broccoli were the result of poor cooking.
These basic meals won’t harm anyone, but pousadas are special and quality lodgings who ought to provide ditto restaurant facilities. Therefore: fire the cook and the start anew on a higher level with a cook who knows his job, especially at this price level (on the verge of too pricy)!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZAS125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Located near by Geres national park . Fabulous nature , breathtaking view .The hotel itself is good 4 stars , with everything you need, friendly and helpful staff , good and clean rooms. Not bad restaurant, but if you are looking for some exclusive restaurants ,you might have a problem, don't take the advises of the stuff. If You stay in this pousada , you must make the national park trip ,it takes almost entire day with the car.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank constantinhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

A married couple in our early fities, we are keen on experiencing nature (walking and touring), food, wine and people.
We spent 4 nights in the Pousada Sao Bento, from July 26 to July 30 this year, and we couldn't be happier with our stay there.
We were booked in on a discount reservation, but all the same we recieved red carpet treatment - very welcoming staff, excellent service throughout our stay, a good room with a terrace (and magnificent view), free area map and route descriptions at the desk - in short:
The works!
Food: Good, one of us thinks excellent. Decent wine list, with a couple of pleasant surprises at very good prices.
Location: Somewhat remote. If you enjoy alcohol with your food, you must stay on the premises or take a cab to Gerés, 12 kms away.
Sleep: Quiet. Mattresses firm, to our liking - we slept well.
Good pool area, service a bit random. Order pool snacks and drinks at reception for prompt delivery at pool.

I believe we will return to this small oasis for further exploration of the Gerés district.
A big thank you to the staff at Sao Bento!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrammenAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada Canicada, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Dear Guest,
We were delighted to welcome you and the staff wants to thank you for having so much consideration for their work.
Gerês is definitely a great region to visit if one loves nature, good gastronomy and nice people.
Thank you so much for your nice and helpful comments on the overall service, the room, the gastronomy and swimming pool area.
We are glad you have left the Pousada with so many good memories and we hope to welcome such energetic people like yourselves again soon,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

I stayed one night at this pousada and it is very different from the others, that mostly are historical. This is a "nature" pousada: the building is nice and comfortable but not "special", instead of the view you can enjoy from the hotel: really unforgottable.
You will never be tired to look at such wondaful scenary.
As regard as the services, a special point is to the staff: very friendly and helpful.
The pool is acceptable. The hotel does not have any elevators and there may be plenty of stairs to reach to your room. If this could be a problem for you, notice it in advance at the booking.

The pousanda is about 8 kilometers from the nearest town, so it's better to have a car, good also to have trips to the wild sourrandings.
Dont forget to enjoy the sunset drinking a good local wine or Porto at the terrace and the looking to the stars of the night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serena71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada Canicada, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share such a helpful review.
This hotel has a very comfortable feeling, right in the heart of Peneda/Gerês National Park. The view over the river Cávado and the Caniçada dam is truly indescribable.
We inform that there are 4 different segments of Pousadas: Charm, Historic, Historic Design and Nature. Pousada do Gerês is indeed included on the Nature segment. Also, one of the rooms is included on the Dream Landscape Rooms of Pousadas de Portugal.
Thank you also for your wonderful feedback on the staff performance and for sharing such a wonderful tip on how to take the best advantage of the terrace.
Some activities that can be done outside the Pousada include horse riding, Natural Park tours (with or without tour guide), boat trips and canoeing.
We would be delighted to welcome you again,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canicada
7.2 km away
Pousada Mosteiro Amares
9.2 km away
Aguas do Geres - Hotel, Termas & Spa
26.4 km away
Tempus Hotel & Spa
Tempus Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Ponte da Barca
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.3 km away
Agua Hotels Mondim de Basto
Agua Hotels Mondim de Basto
#1 of 1 in Mondim de Basto
813 reviews
9 km away
Moderna do Geres Hotel
20.2 km away
Melia Braga Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Canicada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Canicada

Address: Avenida da Canicada no 1518 | Peneda - Geres National Park, Canicada 4850-054, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Canicada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canicada
Price Range: $101 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Canicada 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Caniçada-Gerês is located near the incredible Peneda-Gerês National Park, the only area in Portugal classified as a National Park. The Pousada is located in a gorgeous mountain chalet, sitting high in the mountains between forests, translucent waterfalls and unforgettable scenery. It is a vista point over the Cançada Dam, in the middle of the Rio Cávado. During your stay, you will be able to relax in our various common rooms, take a dip in the outdoor swimming pool and enjoy a meal at the restaurant with panoramic views and an esplanade. All of the rooms are climate controlled and have free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada Canicada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Sao Bento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing