We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveller rating
192
151
47
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
151
47
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkenjoy the viewcharming hotelspectacular locationold fashionbentowonderful spotoutdoor patiohill sidesuperior roomsmall balconybreakfast and dinnerbit datedrestaurant stafflovely poolthe wi fipublic areas
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 416 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Pousada Sao Bento has been built in a rustic style of a hunter’s lodge within the National Park Peneda Geres. We visited in May. This hotel will please people who appreciate quietness and calm, astonishing nature, like to walk or just stare into the beauty of the surrounding countryside; from the hotel you have excellent vistas.
We stayed 3 nights in a suite (211), rustically furnished, well kept and clean, with a well layed out bathroom, and a small sitting area. The public areas were rustic and/or cozily furnished, with minor wear, still well kept and clean. The gobelin over the fireplace in the lounge, however, is in desperate need of restoration!
The staff were helpful and friendly, some shyish because of their little knowledge of English. Breakfast was good and plentyful. Diner however was very basic, in fact I wondered how a trained cook can ruin the flavours and taste of fresh ingredients. The meals were coarse without any subtlety. My partner made a little joke on one occasion when he said: this is smashed broccoli. I corrected him: you mean ‘Mashed’. ‘No’ he said ‘I mean Smashed, just taste it’. I had to agree: not even seasoned with salt and pepper, oil/butter these ruined potatoes and broccoli were the result of poor cooking.
These basic meals won’t harm anyone, but pousadas are special and quality lodgings who ought to provide ditto restaurant facilities. Therefore: fire the cook and the start anew on a higher level with a cook who knows his job, especially at this price level (on the verge of too pricy)!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZAS125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Located near by Geres national park . Fabulous nature , breathtaking view .The hotel itself is good 4 stars , with everything you need, friendly and helpful staff , good and clean rooms. Not bad restaurant, but if you are looking for some exclusive restaurants ,you might have a problem, don't take the advises of the stuff. If You stay in this pousada , you must make the national park trip ,it takes almost entire day with the car.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank constantinhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

A married couple in our early fities, we are keen on experiencing nature (walking and touring), food, wine and people.
We spent 4 nights in the Pousada Sao Bento, from July 26 to July 30 this year, and we couldn't be happier with our stay there.
We were booked in on a discount reservation, but all the same we recieved red carpet treatment - very welcoming staff, excellent service throughout our stay, a good room with a terrace (and magnificent view), free area map and route descriptions at the desk - in short:
The works!
Food: Good, one of us thinks excellent. Decent wine list, with a couple of pleasant surprises at very good prices.
Location: Somewhat remote. If you enjoy alcohol with your food, you must stay on the premises or take a cab to Gerés, 12 kms away.
Sleep: Quiet. Mattresses firm, to our liking - we slept well.
Good pool area, service a bit random. Order pool snacks and drinks at reception for prompt delivery at pool.

I believe we will return to this small oasis for further exploration of the Gerés district.
A big thank you to the staff at Sao Bento!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrammenAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada Canicada, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Dear Guest,
We were delighted to welcome you and the staff wants to thank you for having so much consideration for their work.
Gerês is definitely a great region to visit if one loves nature, good gastronomy and nice people.
Thank you so much for your nice and helpful comments on the overall service, the room, the gastronomy and swimming pool area.
We are glad you have left the Pousada with so many good memories and we hope to welcome such energetic people like yourselves again soon,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

I stayed one night at this pousada and it is very different from the others, that mostly are historical. This is a "nature" pousada: the building is nice and comfortable but not "special", instead of the view you can enjoy from the hotel: really unforgottable.
You will never be tired to look at such wondaful scenary.
As regard as the services, a special point is to the staff: very friendly and helpful.
The pool is acceptable. The hotel does not have any elevators and there may be plenty of stairs to reach to your room. If this could be a problem for you, notice it in advance at the booking.

The pousanda is about 8 kilometers from the nearest town, so it's better to have a car, good also to have trips to the wild sourrandings.
Dont forget to enjoy the sunset drinking a good local wine or Porto at the terrace and the looking to the stars of the night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serena71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada Canicada, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share such a helpful review.
This hotel has a very comfortable feeling, right in the heart of Peneda/Gerês National Park. The view over the river Cávado and the Caniçada dam is truly indescribable.
We inform that there are 4 different segments of Pousadas: Charm, Historic, Historic Design and Nature. Pousada do Gerês is indeed included on the Nature segment. Also, one of the rooms is included on the Dream Landscape Rooms of Pousadas de Portugal.
Thank you also for your wonderful feedback on the staff performance and for sharing such a wonderful tip on how to take the best advantage of the terrace.
Some activities that can be done outside the Pousada include horse riding, Natural Park tours (with or without tour guide), boat trips and canoeing.
We would be delighted to welcome you again,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

The pousada de Geres is a "Naturalistic" pausada as opposed to the "Historical" pausadas. The hotel structure in itself is nothing particular (don't get me wrong it is well above standard) but the location and the view are simply breathtaking. The room was confortable and the breakfast more than adequate, the swimming pool was not as large as the ones in the other pausadas I visited, but still reasonable sized. The service was friendly and unrushed. I did not try the restaurant so I cannot comment on that.
Do not miss sipping some "Vinho verde" on the terrace at sunset to fully enjoy the panoramic view on the valley.
Warning: there was no elevator and plenty of stairs, so if you travel with heavy luggage or have some disabilities you may want to check with the hotel for a suitable solution.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauslyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada Canicada, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Dear Guest,
We are glad you have enjoyed the overall stay and we are delighted to know you have been blown away by Peneda/Gerês National Park.
Thank you very much for your thoughtful review that prospective guests will certainly find helpful.
We hope to see you again in the terrace of Pousada do Gerês. Until then,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews