We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveller rating
211
165
50
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
165
50
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national park breathtaking views enjoy the view charming hotel old fashion wonderful spot bento outdoor patio hill side wine list superior room small balcony bit dated restaurant staff lovely pool breakfast and dinner the wi fi
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 454 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Good option for accomodation to visit Peneda Gerês national park. The region is beautiful the waterfalls included. The Pousada has very good views to the valley and the dam lake. The staff is nice and professional, specially in the restaurant that serves very good food either. Breakfast is according to a four star hotel. The rooms are cozy and clean. There is an outdoor swimming pool. To regret the charge permission they ask at check-in (in value of the stay plus 50€ per day), neither legal nor respectful.

Room Tip: Choose a room with views to the valley
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Salvador C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2017

Dear Mr. Salvador C,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Pousadas de Portugal, specially Pousada da Caniçada– Gerês.

We appreciate your positive description about our view, staff and rooms.

We took note of your comment about the charge permission and we will try to improve that aspect.

We look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity.

Best Regards.
Carine Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Geres is one of the most natural environments in Portugal and Pousada do Geres is a very good place to stay while visiting the region.
It has an amazing view over the valley, whilst not being on the "confusion" of Geres (ok, confusion and Geres in the same sentence is a bit exaggerated).
The place is a bit old-fashioned, but it's worth cause of the location, service and coziness of the whole experience.

Room Tip: always choose the lake-view ones: price diff is worth!
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ruiclobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 March 2017

Dear Mr. Ruiclobo

First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in Grupo Pestana , particularly in Pousada da Caniçada – Gerês.

Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your stay in this Pousada.

We are glad to verify that you enjoyed our services and that the location of the Pousada.

We look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity.
Best regards
Carine Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Amazing hotel, great staff and top of all is the view of the amazing lake.

One slight issue is the Wi-Fi is not available in rooms. Overall excellent location and lovely hospitality. Will surely return soon for a personal trip with wife.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank SidBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 March 2017

Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank preference for Pousadas de Portugal, especially the Pousada Caniçada - Geres. We are delighted to see that enjoyed your stay at Gerês.
More inform you that we have taken note of the suggestions about the Wi-Fi in the rooms, and the same shall be taken into consideration with a view to continuous improvement.
We await another visit soon! Best regards, Carine Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

The Pousada ist wonderful located, the view ist breathtaking and the nearer surrounding perfect to discover the nature (the lake, the hills, the national park) and for sports (hiking, mountainbiking...). The Pousada itself has so much character. The rooms are beautiful, the lounge invites for a cozy get together, the meals in the restaurant are delicious. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I felt very comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 March 2017

Dear Mrs. Natalie T,
First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in Grupo Pestana , particularly in Pousada Caniçada – Gerês.
Thank you for taking time to share your experience in TripAdvisor about your stay in Pousada.
We deeply appreciate your good review about our view, character, rooms, meals, staff and the sports in National Park.
We look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity. Best regards, Carine Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

I've spent my honeymoon 25 years ago in this Pousada, and every time I go back I find new details that enchant me. Also something that never changes and still marvels me every time, the beautiful view over the Caniçada Dam while savouring a drink sitting outside.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Antonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 March 2017

Dear Mrs. Antonia M,
First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing again Pousada Caniçada after 25 years, in your honeymoon.
We appreciate your positive description about our new details and the beautiful view over the Caniçada Dam. We look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity. Best Regards, Carine Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews