We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous pousada with views to die for !”
Review of Pousada Canicada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pousada Canicada
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canicada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2017

This lovely pousada overlooks a deep valley with a beautiful river / lake - fabulous countryside - the pousada is attractive, clean and nicely appointed.
The staff are very friendly and the food in the restaurant is very good indeed, and not over-priced.
Make sure you book a room which has a verrandah or balcony.
The pousada is quite difficult to find - my state-of-the-art gps kept taking us to a certain hamlet on the mainroad leading north away from the lake, but no sign of the pousada - it is actually located further on north up the hill on the left about 2 miles away from where the gps says it is.
It is an enchanting place to stay.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony or verrandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rotiel321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share in TripAdvisor your experience during your stay in Pousada Caniçada - Geres.
We deeply appreciate your good review about our friendly services and views. Our best rooms are the balcony rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity.
Best regards, Carine Silva, Unit Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2017

This was our first(of 4) Pousadas where we stayed for 3 nights. Lovely view from our room, the room was spacious and all facilities well maintained. The swimming pool was excellent and the staff both friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Best views from 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GeriGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2017

Dear GeriGooner,
First of all we would like to thank you your preference for Pousadas de Portugal, specially for Pousada Caniçada – Gerês.
It’s a pleasure verify that our services, swimming pool and performance of our staff reached your expectations and that you have enjoyed so much your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity.
Best Regards. Carine Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We spent three nights here as part of a tour staying in Pousadas, all I can say is if the following Pousadas are as good we will be more than happy. The staff were friendly and could not be more helpful, very comfortable room with the most spectacular views over the lake and mountains beyond, we felt like we were really on holiday in a relaxed mode after only being there for a couple of hours, surely the sign of a good hotel. Lovely pool which was very clean and well kept, would thoroughly recommend for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Our room 207 and rooms either side have fabulous views of the lake, plus you are away from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baileygeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2017

Dear baileygeee,

First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in Grupo Pestana , particularly in Pousada da Caniçada – Gerês.

Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your stay in this Pousada.

We are glad to verify that you enjoyed stay in Pousadas, and in this Unit you have a relaxing stay!

We look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity.
Best regards
Carine Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Over the years I've visited probably close to 20 pousadas and Sao Bento / Geres has to be one of the absolute best. Wonderfully maintained, full of character, with magnificent location and great views. We stayed two nights and enjoyed two excellent breakfasts and two first class meals. Eusebio was a skilled bartender and waiter. Our room was fine and contrary to other reviews, the Wi-Fi worked. Our only problem was the room lacked convenience outlets for chargers. Sadly, I'm guessing no more than four of the 38 rooms were occupied, so they probably lose money, and the room rates were very, very reasonable.
What could have been better? The drink prices were a bit steep and we could have used a bit of guidance from the staff as to the best route to see the sights of the National Park. We'll just have to come back to enjoy this magical place

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank STEPHEN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Good option for accomodation to visit Peneda Gerês national park. The region is beautiful the waterfalls included. The Pousada has very good views to the valley and the dam lake. The staff is nice and professional, specially in the restaurant that serves very good food either. Breakfast is according to a four star hotel. The rooms are cozy and clean. There is an outdoor swimming pool. To regret the charge permission they ask at check-in (in value of the stay plus 50€ per day), neither legal nor respectful.

Room Tip: Choose a room with views to the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Salvador C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2017

Dear Mr. Salvador C,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Pousadas de Portugal, specially Pousada da Caniçada– Gerês.

We appreciate your positive description about our view, staff and rooms.

We took note of your comment about the charge permission and we will try to improve that aspect.

We look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity.

Best Regards.
Carine Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canicada
7.2 km away
Pousada Mosteiro Amares
9.2 km away
Aguas do Geres - Hotel, Termas & Spa
9.0 km away
Moderna do Geres Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 km away
Tempus Hotel & Spa
Tempus Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Ponte da Barca
346 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel Sao Bento
Hotel Sao Bento
#1 of 1 in Rio Caldo
109 reviews
33.3 km away
Agua Hotels Mondim de Basto
Agua Hotels Mondim de Basto
#1 of 1 in Mondim de Basto
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Canicada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Canicada

Address: Avenida da Canicada no 1518 | Peneda - Geres National Park, Canicada 4850-054, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Canicada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canicada
Price Range: $107 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Canicada 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Caniçada-Gerês is located near the incredible Peneda-Gerês National Park, the only area in Portugal classified as a National Park. The Pousada is located in a gorgeous mountain chalet, sitting high in the mountains between forests, translucent waterfalls and unforgettable scenery. It is a vista point over the Cançada Dam, in the middle of the Rio Cávado. During your stay, you will be able to relax in our various common rooms, take a dip in the outdoor swimming pool and enjoy a meal at the restaurant with panoramic views and an esplanade. All of the rooms are climate controlled and have free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada Canicada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Sao Bento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing