We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada Canicada
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Sao Bento(Rio Caldo)
US$82
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moderna do Geres Hotel(Geres)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
US$145
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Universal(Geres)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Casa de Requeixo(Povoa de Lanhoso)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$90
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Peninsular(Caldelas)(Great Value!)
US$37
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
178
141
46
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
141
46
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkenjoy the viewspectacular locationbentowonderful spothill siderestaurant staffbit datedthe wi filovely poolold fashionedsuperior roombreakfast and dinnersmall balconyclean roomsswimming poolvalley
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2017

This was our first(of 4) Pousadas where we stayed for 3 nights. Lovely view from our room, the room was spacious and all facilities well maintained. The swimming pool was excellent and the staff both friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Best views from 2nd floor
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GeriGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2017

Dear GeriGooner,
First of all we would like to thank you your preference for Pousadas de Portugal, specially for Pousada Caniçada – Gerês.
It’s a pleasure verify that our services, swimming pool and performance of our staff reached your expectations and that you have enjoyed so much your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity.
Best Regards. Carine Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We spent three nights here as part of a tour staying in Pousadas, all I can say is if the following Pousadas are as good we will be more than happy. The staff were friendly and could not be more helpful, very comfortable room with the most spectacular views over the lake and mountains beyond, we felt like we were really on holiday in a relaxed mode after only being there for a couple of hours, surely the sign of a good hotel. Lovely pool which was very clean and well kept, would thoroughly recommend for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Our room 207 and rooms either side have fabulous views of the lake, plus you are away from the main block and the car park.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baileygeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2017

Dear baileygeee,

First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in Grupo Pestana , particularly in Pousada da Caniçada – Gerês.

Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your stay in this Pousada.

We are glad to verify that you enjoyed stay in Pousadas, and in this Unit you have a relaxing stay!

We look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity.
Best regards
Carine Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Over the years I've visited probably close to 20 pousadas and Sao Bento / Geres has to be one of the absolute best. Wonderfully maintained, full of character, with magnificent location and great views. We stayed two nights and enjoyed two excellent breakfasts and two first class meals. Eusebio was a skilled bartender and waiter. Our room was fine and contrary to other reviews, the Wi-Fi worked. Our only problem was the room lacked convenience outlets for chargers. Sadly, I'm guessing no more than four of the 38 rooms were occupied, so they probably lose money, and the room rates were very, very reasonable.
What could have been better? The drink prices were a bit steep and we could have used a bit of guidance from the staff as to the best route to see the sights of the National Park. We'll just have to come back to enjoy this magical place

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank STEPHEN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Good option for accomodation to visit Peneda Gerês national park. The region is beautiful the waterfalls included. The Pousada has very good views to the valley and the dam lake. The staff is nice and professional, specially in the restaurant that serves very good food either. Breakfast is according to a four star hotel. The rooms are cozy and clean. There is an outdoor swimming pool. To regret the charge permission they ask at check-in (in value of the stay plus 50€ per day), neither legal nor respectful.

Room Tip: Choose a room with views to the valley
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Salvador C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2017

Dear Mr. Salvador C,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Pousadas de Portugal, specially Pousada da Caniçada– Gerês.

We appreciate your positive description about our view, staff and rooms.

We took note of your comment about the charge permission and we will try to improve that aspect.

We look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity.

Best Regards.
Carine Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Geres is one of the most natural environments in Portugal and Pousada do Geres is a very good place to stay while visiting the region.
It has an amazing view over the valley, whilst not being on the "confusion" of Geres (ok, confusion and Geres in the same sentence is a bit exaggerated).
The place is a bit old-fashioned, but it's worth cause of the location, service and coziness of the whole experience.

Room Tip: always choose the lake-view ones: price diff is worth!
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ruiclobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 March 2017

Dear Mr. Ruiclobo

First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in Grupo Pestana , particularly in Pousada da Caniçada – Gerês.

Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your stay in this Pousada.

We are glad to verify that you enjoyed our services and that the location of the Pousada.

We look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity.
Best regards
Carine Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews