We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stupendous views for a marvellous tranquility”
Review of Pousada Canicada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pousada Canicada
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canicada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2017

The pousada excelled itself upon assuring to me and my wife the serene tranquility much needed for our rest and preparation for our long voyage to South Korea and Japan . The views of the Gerêz are overwellming in beauty and colours. The staff is wellcoming and friendly, even expressing some surprise when noticed we had travelled 500 km from Cascais for our tour through Peneda gerêz.
A stupendous balcony provides a that special location for breakfast or evening diner, enjoying the beautiful panorama 180º around us .
The rooms are quite good, a bit outdated in terms of area and proper locking system (the actual locks are the long outdated tubular locks "vachete" type so very common uponn 1980 (!!!...), and the "Pousada" does not provide any area as "Office Center". These are the 2 only faults I found at "Pousada da Caniçada". The 3 days we lodged at the pousada,as "basecamp" for our touring through the Natural Park , and to rest and prepare our long trip to the Lands of the Rising Sun .

Room Tip: Further to the Superior Room, one should choose a Balcony room, located the more northern area of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaiaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 September 2017

Dear GaiaGlobetrotter ,

We thank you for your good comment in TripAdvisor.
It is with personal satisfaction that I acknowledge the positive comments regarding our team work and effort.
We hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best Regards
Carine Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017

This is the place you should go to if you want to relax, very good hotel with a view you can not get enough of. Sitting on the terrace in front of the restaurant with a good glass of wine is like heaven after hikes in the mountain. The hotel restaurant service and food is of high quality and we would recommend everyone to have dinner or lunch and enjoy excellent food and as a bonus the view. The overall experience is excellent but of course some upgrades on the rooms and especially on the air condition system is required if you should be critical. BUT We will soon be back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1959late
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 July 2017

Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in Pousadas de Portugal, especially in Pousada Caniçada – Gerês.
We deeply appreciate your good review about our view and Restaurant as well as we took note of your suggestions about the rooms and we will take it into account in order to improve our offer.
We look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity. Best regards, Carine Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

I do not believe one can go wrong by staying at any Pousada. They are the pride of the country. Simply an excellent spot to stay for a night of two while touring thee Geres area.
And the hotel's restaurant is superb, as well. Highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank walnutridgechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 July 2017

Dear walnutridgechef,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousadas de Portugal – Pousada Canicada - Gerês and for taking the time to write your feedback about the stay in this Pousada. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our Restaurant and, thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you on a next visit. Best regards, Carine Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

This is a wonderful Pousada, made so by the staff. During our 4 nights here they were always helpful, always smiling and always had time for a chat.

The building is unlike most other Pousada's, perched high on the mountains above a reservoir it's virtually impossible to get a room without a view; but ours was something special.

Breakfast and dinner are both served in the same restaurant alongside those spectacular views and if the heat is not too much they can be taken on the patio. There is a lounge/bar above the restaurant but I don't think I saw it used while we were there; I can image it being cosy when the weather closes in. The food was, as we've come to expect in Pousada's, very good.

The rooms are comfortable, not huge but big enough, there is ample storage, a fine bathroom with everything you need and (in our case) a small balcony from which to soak up the view.

There is a small garden to wander around, a pool area and ample parking.

If there is a downside to this place it's the need to have a car to be able to get around the national park, and given the roads and the sights at every corner you'll spend a long time travelling around. But we're already planning our return, maybe in winter!

Room Tip: We were in room 208
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanandLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 July 2017

Dear Mr. and Mrs. AlanandLyn

First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in Grupo Pestana , particularly in Pousada da Caniçada – Gerês.

Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your stay in this Pousada.

We are glad to verify that you enjoyed our services and that the location of the Pousada.

We look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity.
Best regards
Carine Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

This pousada is mostly modern construction and not as charming as many in the Pestana Group. But it’s perfectly comfortable and the location can’t be beat. The views are spectacular, as you can see on the website, but what’s more important is that you’re right on the edge of the Parque Nacional, but without being in the middle of the tourist scrum in and around Gerês. The parque is beautiful, and it has a dozen or so hiking trails of varying degrees of difficulty. The one we took, the Trilho da Preguiça, was just gorgeous. Information about hiking and other access to the parque is hard to come by, but there’s a park headquarters about 1 km north of Gerês (located in a big white building on the left side of the road [going north], at the turnoff to the campground). It closes at about 5:30 PM and on weekends, so plan your trip around its open hours. The woman we spoke with there was extremely helpful. As for the pousada: our room was comfortable and quiet. The staff was a bit cold, but OK. Breakfast is passable. If you ask for a room with a terrace, you get to enjoy the view any time of day. We were happy we located here. We didn’t eat dinner in the restaurant, because of previous TA reviews, but if you’re adventurous you can have the dining experience of a lifetime by driving half an hour to Restaurante O Victor. (Be sure to book a table!)

Room Tip: Rooms with a terrace give you all-day access to one of the hotel's main assets--the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2017

Dear Mr. John K,

First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in Grupo Pestana , particularly in Pousada da Caniçada – Gerês.

Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your stay in this Pousada, and the tourist information about the National Park, so useful!

We are glad to verify that you enjoyed our services and that the location of the Pousada.

We look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity.
Best regards
Carine Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canicada
7.2 km away
Pousada Mosteiro Amares
9.2 km away
Aguas do Geres - Hotel, Termas & Spa
9.0 km away
Moderna do Geres Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 km away
Tempus Hotel & Spa
Tempus Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Ponte da Barca
346 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel Sao Bento
Hotel Sao Bento
#1 of 1 in Rio Caldo
109 reviews
33.3 km away
Agua Hotels Mondim de Basto
Agua Hotels Mondim de Basto
#1 of 1 in Mondim de Basto
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Canicada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Canicada

Address: Avenida da Canicada no 1518 | Peneda - Geres National Park, Canicada 4850-054, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Canicada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canicada
Price Range: $107 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Canicada 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Caniçada-Gerês is located near the incredible Peneda-Gerês National Park, the only area in Portugal classified as a National Park. The Pousada is located in a gorgeous mountain chalet, sitting high in the mountains between forests, translucent waterfalls and unforgettable scenery. It is a vista point over the Cançada Dam, in the middle of the Rio Cávado. During your stay, you will be able to relax in our various common rooms, take a dip in the outdoor swimming pool and enjoy a meal at the restaurant with panoramic views and an esplanade. All of the rooms are climate controlled and have free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada Canicada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Sao Bento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing