We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada Canicada
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
178
141
46
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
141
46
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkenjoy the viewspectacular locationbentowonderful spothill siderestaurant staffbit datedthe wi filovely poolold fashionedsuperior roombreakfast and dinnersmall balconyclean roomsswimming poolvalley
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2017

This is the place you should go to if you want to relax, very good hotel with a view you can not get enough of. Sitting on the terrace in front of the restaurant with a good glass of wine is like heaven after hikes in the mountain. The hotel restaurant service and food is of high quality and we would recommend everyone to have dinner or lunch and enjoy excellent food and as a bonus the view. The overall experience is excellent but of course some upgrades on the rooms and especially on the air condition system is required if you should be critical. BUT We will soon be back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1959late
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 July 2017

Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in Pousadas de Portugal, especially in Pousada Caniçada – Gerês.
We deeply appreciate your good review about our view and Restaurant as well as we took note of your suggestions about the rooms and we will take it into account in order to improve our offer.
We look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity. Best regards, Carine Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

I do not believe one can go wrong by staying at any Pousada. They are the pride of the country. Simply an excellent spot to stay for a night of two while touring thee Geres area.
And the hotel's restaurant is superb, as well. Highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank walnutridgechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 July 2017

Dear walnutridgechef,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousadas de Portugal – Pousada Canicada - Gerês and for taking the time to write your feedback about the stay in this Pousada. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our Restaurant and, thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you on a next visit. Best regards, Carine Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

This is a wonderful Pousada, made so by the staff. During our 4 nights here they were always helpful, always smiling and always had time for a chat.

The building is unlike most other Pousada's, perched high on the mountains above a reservoir it's virtually impossible to get a room without a view; but ours was something special.

Breakfast and dinner are both served in the same restaurant alongside those spectacular views and if the heat is not too much they can be taken on the patio. There is a lounge/bar above the restaurant but I don't think I saw it used while we were there; I can image it being cosy when the weather closes in. The food was, as we've come to expect in Pousada's, very good.

The rooms are comfortable, not huge but big enough, there is ample storage, a fine bathroom with everything you need and (in our case) a small balcony from which to soak up the view.

There is a small garden to wander around, a pool area and ample parking.

If there is a downside to this place it's the need to have a car to be able to get around the national park, and given the roads and the sights at every corner you'll spend a long time travelling around. But we're already planning our return, maybe in winter!

Room Tip: We were in room 208
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanandLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 July 2017

Dear Mr. and Mrs. AlanandLyn

First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in Grupo Pestana , particularly in Pousada da Caniçada – Gerês.

Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your stay in this Pousada.

We are glad to verify that you enjoyed our services and that the location of the Pousada.

We look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity.
Best regards
Carine Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

This pousada is mostly modern construction and not as charming as many in the Pestana Group. But it’s perfectly comfortable and the location can’t be beat. The views are spectacular, as you can see on the website, but what’s more important is that you’re right on the edge of the Parque Nacional, but without being in the middle of the tourist scrum in and around Gerês. The parque is beautiful, and it has a dozen or so hiking trails of varying degrees of difficulty. The one we took, the Trilho da Preguiça, was just gorgeous. Information about hiking and other access to the parque is hard to come by, but there’s a park headquarters about 1 km north of Gerês (located in a big white building on the left side of the road [going north], at the turnoff to the campground). It closes at about 5:30 PM and on weekends, so plan your trip around its open hours. The woman we spoke with there was extremely helpful. As for the pousada: our room was comfortable and quiet. The staff was a bit cold, but OK. Breakfast is passable. If you ask for a room with a terrace, you get to enjoy the view any time of day. We were happy we located here. We didn’t eat dinner in the restaurant, because of previous TA reviews, but if you’re adventurous you can have the dining experience of a lifetime by driving half an hour to Restaurante O Victor. (Be sure to book a table!)

Room Tip: Rooms with a terrace give you all-day access to one of the hotel's main assets--the view.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2017

Dear Mr. John K,

First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in Grupo Pestana , particularly in Pousada da Caniçada – Gerês.

Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your stay in this Pousada, and the tourist information about the National Park, so useful!

We are glad to verify that you enjoyed our services and that the location of the Pousada.

We look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity.
Best regards
Carine Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

This lovely pousada overlooks a deep valley with a beautiful river / lake - fabulous countryside - the pousada is attractive, clean and nicely appointed.
The staff are very friendly and the food in the restaurant is very good indeed, and not over-priced.
Make sure you book a room which has a verrandah or balcony.
The pousada is quite difficult to find - my state-of-the-art gps kept taking us to a certain hamlet on the mainroad leading north away from the lake, but no sign of the pousada - it is actually located further on north up the hill on the left about 2 miles away from where the gps says it is.
It is an enchanting place to stay.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony or verrandah
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rotiel321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share in TripAdvisor your experience during your stay in Pousada Caniçada - Geres.
We deeply appreciate your good review about our friendly services and views. Our best rooms are the balcony rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity.
Best regards, Carine Silva, Unit Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews