We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
36
5
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
5
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews neighbouring beaches crystal clear water water sports private beach on arrival marianna privacy village bay pool raki tavernas
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Spent a magical week here with my wife and 16 year old daughter. The service from all staff was to a very high personal standard. The villas have a very private feel with your own small pool and terrace, where we spent many an afternoon/evening relaxing.

We experienced unique local food at the family run relaxed restaurant, visited many tourist attractions including Knossos Palace and Spinalonga Island (read The Island first). We even went on the semi submarine and seen a few giant turtles.

I also managed to rent a road bike for a few days, giving me a great chance to get some early morning training in.

Overall an amazing place with outstanding views and a private beach where you can access water sports. To get around it's Worth renting a car from Istron Top cars based at the nearby Istron Bay hotel. Anna-Maria is very helpful (she also booked the road bike).

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Chuckypecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2017

Thank you for your great comments! Keep well and hope to see you back soon.
Andonis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Wow..... these reviews are written for a reason we all have different expectations, standards and our needs. Our needs were; somewhere private, clean, relaxing and peaceful. This villa met all our needs. The family are so kind, friendly and warm. Why book somewhere that doesn't offer this?
Istron Villas is run by a hard working family whose main objective is to ensure we had a lovely stay in their property!
From day one they've been accommodating. The villa was cleaned on arrival and during our stay, beds comfortable and warm. We stayed at Marianna and had a bedroom and bathroom each.
Now.... our views were beautiful, quite amazing.... understated.
WiFi is good and strong.
Kitchen well equipped.
We ordered breakfast and dinner from the owners...... totally amazing, fresh, Greek and abundance!!! Can't say enough of good things..... it's just what you need for a peaceful getaway!!!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ragaga14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 August 2016

Dear Rachel,
Thank you for your great comments!
We wish you well and hope to see you back soon,
Andonis, Dimitris, Marianna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We stayed at Istron Villas for 3 nights during the last leg of our Crete vacation. We absolutely loved our villa! The location is great...it's a short drive to Mochlos, Agios Nicholaos and many other sites. The private pool is such a treat, and the beach nearby is stunning and crystal clear. The kitchen was well equipped... it was such a pleasure to sit on the veranda in the morning with a fresh cup of coffee, gazing at the mountains in the distance. The small town of Istron isn't super touristy, which is nice, ... we had really great meals the two nights we dined in town. Wifi in the room and out on the veranda works fine.
I've read some other reviews from guests who didn't think these villas were luxurious enough... I guess that all depends on your idea of luxury... We LOVED the fact that the villa was home-y and comfortable.... the perfect ending to our time in Crete.
We hope someday to return to Istron Villas!

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank seekinsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Warm friendly service, super cleaning staff, comfortable bed, own pool, a refuge from the coastal madness! Good location for exploring (Gournia, Lasithi, Mochlos) and the best beach in the area to which guests have access. The Panayiotopoulos family are lovely and their cooking divine. Don't miss out on the personal chef experience! The fish soup is particularly delicious - thank you for secret recipe!

Room tip: The villa for two is on ground level
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GeoffreyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

We spent five days there with the family. We had an excellent time. The kids enjoyed it very much and we had a very relaxing time. The villas are well maintained and spacious. Big bedrooms, traditionally furnished. One big marble bathroom and a WC with shower. Aircondition in all rooms. The Kitchen is well equipped but some appliances need to be replaced. The terrace and pool area wasalso sapacious and nice though a refurbishment is needed. Also because the villas are west oriented from noon till about 18.00 it was very hot and we had to eat inside the villa. An umbrella is not enough. The family that run the villas were very welcome and warm. They also offer breakfast and dinner with dishes inspired from the Cretan tradition and with the best ingredients. You should try both. The beach close to the villas is ok but very close by you can find better ones. Last but not least our compliments to the maids for the excellent cleaning! Overall we had a great time and we definitely recommend it if you seek a place to relax and calm down.

Date of stay: August 2015
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews