We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in general but be aware of...”
Review of Elpida Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elpida Village
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Istron
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2017

The hotel is actually better than it looks at first instance, the beds are confortable and I really like that they offered a pillow choice, I was super happy about that. The ambiance is relaxed and filled, not fancy but not poor neither.
Location si good but you need a car, there are a couple real nice beaches walking distance (10-20 mins) but you need a car if you're going for longer than that.

Be aware of:
- Shower didn't work well, and it was way too small.
- Breakfast was not great, we ate breakfast out every day, the quality of the food is not very good. I do not recommend it at all, specially comparing to any half decent restaurant in the area.
- Wifi ONLY in the reception :(

Room Tip: Good beds and pillows, bad breakfast and wifi only in the reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hidekierigh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Man0sR, General Manager at Elpida Village, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank you for your review. I can't comment on your opinion about the food, since its a matter of taste and there are several reviews that praise our offerings. I am sorry you did not enjoy it, and I would like to state that this is not about quality but a subjective preference which we respect.
Showers are a bit small, that's true, but I would like to know why it did not work well. Whatever it was, probably it would have been fixed if you reported it at the reception. In any case I apologise for this.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2017

We stayed here as a couple, all inclusive, not many brits mostly easter europe, so get to the buffet early.
Our room was lovely, congrats to cleaning staff excellent work, beautiful gardens, on the hillside so not ideal for disabled/old/very young. Not a lot for family fun, but lovely area and some great beaches nearby, hire a car and go find them, Ag Nic was great, get the bus & do it yourself, many beach side cafes will let you have sun beds if you eat lunch with them.
Must go to Crissi Island. Food good, staff reasonable, room excellent, location, good, view good, great Pizza bar down the road, try the Raki !

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TracyCornwallUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Spent a week at Elpida Village, early September and enjoyed it very much. The weather was great, and going to the beach nearby was well worth it. The hotel was clean and felt "Greek". Staff was helpful. Food way above the average all-inclusive. Drinks were ok.
I would easily recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sanjeev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

This isn't a fancy hotel but is charming, clean, comfortable and provided a perfect base for our 10-day break. We arrived at about 3am to be greeted by the night manager who provided complimentary drinks before driving us to our room. The hotel is unusual in that it's spread out in blocks, we'd paid a little extra to stay in a superior room, no 6, a 5-minute walk from the reception area, and would recommend this option. There was plentiful parking although we didn't hire a car.

Room 6 was spread over 2 floors with a small kitchenette (fridge and kettle) dining table, TV, sitting area and balcony with fab views of the sea and mountains on the lower level. A spiral staircase led to the bathroom, twin room and a second balcony with the same view. The A/C is in the bedroom and there was a 3rd bed in the sitting area. The rooms were simply decorated and cleaned daily - if I had a gripe the shower 'cubicle' was the smallest ever with a curtain on 3 sides. There was a small fee to rent a safe key.

The hotel is up a steep slope but there is a 2nd road, next to the Pharmacy and opposite the Sweety Cafe, which was less steep and more convenient for our room. We paid for B&B which ended at 9.30, hence my only having breakfast once - there seemed to be lots of cooked options as well as fruit, yoghurt and pastries. Most of the guests paid for half or full board options but we prefer eating out, more of which later.

The Receptionist Maria earns a special mention, she never seemed to have a day off but was always friendly, helpful and lovely to chat to. For a small fee she arranged late checkout as we left in the evening.

The village of Istron has plenty of shops and tavernas - we liked Zygos Taverna, Riccardos Pizzeria and the Sweety Cafe - and two lovely beaches - the hotel offers a free shuttle to the furthest beach but it was only a 30-minute walk away.

There is a regular bus service from Istron to Agios Nikolaus and we also travelled to Heraklion. Whilst we arranged a group transfer from the airport (the Elpida was the last drop off so be prepared for a 2 + hour journey) the Heraklion bus does stop there too - although the running times may be rather limited, especially if like us you arrive in the early hours.

All in all I recommend the Elpida if like us you'd like a relaxing break on fabulous Crete.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank angiejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We stayed in this hotel in September 2016 for a fortnight with a 4 yo boy. All good things which are written in other reviews are true.
Clean and spacious rooms (nothing odd, but all the necessary things were present), delicious meals (not very much choice, but we always found smth to eat, and the meal was really tasty), very welcome and helpful stuff.
The nearest beach was a 10 min walk, hill might cause some difficulties for those with walking problems. We went to Voulisma beach via hotel transfer, always on time and with very welcome driver.
We wanted to have a relaxing holiday without city rush, and this hotel was perfect for that.
Polish animators worked really well, so if you want to take part in some entarntainment, you'll always have this opportunity. We liked cinema under stars.
Overall - we really enjoyed staying at Elpida and look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: if you go to bed early (before 23 pm), avoid #301.if you gonna party,then ask for #301: you'll e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Volha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Istron
1.2 km away
Mistral Mare Hotel
Mistral Mare Hotel
#28 of 97 in Agios Nikolaos
64 reviews
8.4 km away
Alantha Apartments Hotel
Alantha Apartments Hotel
#24 of 97 in Agios Nikolaos
277 reviews
1.9 km away
Istron Bay Hotel
Istron Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Istron
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.1 km away
Hotel Astir Beach
Hotel Astir Beach
#22 of 36 in Kato Gouves
261 reviews
12.8 km away
Smartline Arion Palace
Smartline Arion Palace
#9 of 24 in Ierapetra
282 reviews
38.5 km away
Hotel Manos Maria
Hotel Manos Maria
#83 of 174 in Hersonissos
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elpida Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elpida Village

Address: | Kalo Horio, Istron, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos > Istron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Istron
Price Range: $62 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elpida Village 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elpida Village is situated at the Istron area of Kalo Chorio only 10 Km from the picturesque Town of Agios Nicolaos with the famous bottomless Voulismeni lake. This low-rise village style resort is placed on the slopes of a wonderful hill with a breathtaking view of the Mirabello Bay. It is built in traditional Cretan style with extensive use of local stones and wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elpida Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing