We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Instantly made my Top 10 list of favourite places I've stayed”
Review of Grand View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2017

I'm Santorini dreaming on a snowy day, and finally getting around to writing a review of our stay at the Grand View last July. We stayed in the private Pool Villa for 3 nights. The view from the villa is absolutely stunning. In fact, I loved everything about the villa, the decor, the layout, the infinity pool, etc.

I would have been very happy to spend the entire 3 days in that gorgeous spot, just relaxing, dipping in the pool, and enjoying the most magnificent sunset views (without any crowds!). But that would have been a shame, because Thanos is a wonderful host, and full of great suggestions on what to visit and where to eat on the island. It was like having a good friend on the island who was going to make sure wherever we went was memorable.

Having spent the first part of our trip fighting the crowds in Oia, I also really enjoyed being on the quieter side of Santorini. Megalochori is a picturesque village where you can wander and even find some solitude in the winding lanes -- and dinner under the stars at one of the tavernas in the village square is a charming experience.

Rarely have I felt so welcome at a hotel, and the view is one you will never forget, so I highly recommend a stay at the Grand View.

Room Tip: The Pool Villa was perfect for our family of 4, with 2 teenagers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2017

We were so disappointed with The Grand View. It has one thing going for it and that is the grand view of the Volcanic Islands, but that is all. The room that we had was a disgrace. Uncomfortable beds; unworkable room layout and inadequate furniture; no wardrobe space; poor water pressure in the bathroom; the tiny shower recess had a plastic curtain which clung to you and did not serve its purpose. The location is remote and too far from the main towns which are accessible by taxi or bus. Breakfast is a minimal offering and very basic. After exploring the island we would recommend staying in Fira so the restaurants, shopping, bars, etc. are in walking distance. Also make a decent pool a priority as there are no beaches to access easily. Santorini as an island is fabulous and has loads to offer.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, Massachusetts
42
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

Ooooo I love Santorini and I would highly recommend this beautiful Grand View. It's 10 minutes from the Port and centrally located so you can easily visit the South and the popular North, Oia. I am so glad we didn't stay in Fira which is the capital because it's too busy and loud for an island. Grand View is in a quiet area of the island so it was very relaxing. We enjoyed the food very much, very simple but delicious. We toured Fira and Oia but glad to come back to our Suite to rest and enjoy the breath taking view. Thanos and his team are very accommodating! They'll drive you places for $10 USD or take the local bus for a couple of dollars. The buses are nice and run frequently. I loved everything about Grand View!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Stunning sunset views, Thanos and his team go the extra mile and give fabulous customer service, the cleaners were excellent, pool bar food is delicious never needed to go elsewhere for lunch and the rooms are lovely especially Jacuzzi suite.



Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bristolbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for our annual European Network meeting. The hotel is extremely (well) located, with permanent sea views. Nice pool and bar/ restaurant facilities. We took the room with jacuzzi and balcony at sea side. No gym facilities, but extremely friendly staff! Not cheap, but romantic (sunset is a must see overhere) and cosy place! Really worth a visit!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Aanrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Megalochori
3.3 km away
Apanemo
Apanemo
#1 of 12 in Akrotiri
721 reviews
5.9 km away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 22 in Firostefani
867 reviews
2.5 km away
Lilium Villas
Lilium Villas
#7 of 81 in Fira
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
5.8 km away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#6 of 22 in Firostefani
514 reviews
6 km away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 534, Megalochori 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Megalochori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Price Range: $158 - $623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand View is one of the few hotels overlooking the volcano from the caldera cliff with almost no tiresome steps nor downhill or uphill paths to reach the rooms as it is found at the level of a quiet car path. There is private parking right outside the hotel.The Hotel has a large pool with spectacular views of Santorini volcano and the Aegean Sea. We offer a special buffet breakfast every morning with local fresh ingredients and we also operate a pool bar with delicious cocktails during sunset hours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing