We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Perfect 25th Wedding Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banyan Tree Seychelles
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Takamaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2010

My husband and I travelled to the Seychelles to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary.
The first week we visited Denis Island, wonderful see seperate review, and the second week we visited The Banyan Tree. After reading reviews on Trip Advisor we were a little concerned that we had booked the wrong hotel. However, prior to our visit we contacted Banyan Tree directly, and after a very quick response to our queries via e-mail, we decided that we would go ahead with our planned visit.
Well, we were not disappointed at all!
We booked an Intendance Pool Villa which was amazing, but our villa had the most fabulous views over the beach and the surrounding hills.
From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we were treated like VIP's by all the staff, who seemed to know that the purpose of our visit was for our 25th Wedding Anniversary.
In Villa Dining was extra special, always first rate and delivered at the expected time.
The restaurants are all very good, but on one or two occasions there was a short delay in being offered a drink or for the order to be taken. But overall the service was very good.
Our 25th Wedding Anniversary celebration was truly amazing. We had the In Villa BBQ. Everything was set up by the staff to provide a very romantic atmosphere with candles all around the pool area, and our covered dining area was set out with beautiful table linen and seat covers which would not have been out of place for a wedding!
The service provided by our butler for the evening was first rate, he was very entertaining but very discreet!
Our Whole day was very special and I don't think that we could have had a better celebration anywhere, the Banyan Tree staff went out of their way to make sure that everything was perfect for us....... and it was!
We enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend the Hotel to anyone who enjoys peaceful surroundings in a very beautiful part of the world, with great service and customer care and facilities to ensure a perfect holiday.
The value was only rated slightly lower because of the high price of the drinks. But this is not unique to the Banyan Tree, drinks in the Seychelles are very expensive.
The sleep quality also rated slightly less because of the very firm mattress!!!
Overall, our time spent at Banyan Tree was truly magical, ok some things around and about may be looking a little tired, but certainly not to the detriment of the guests, and I do think some of the criticisms on Trip Advisor are a little harsh.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mercedes20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

721 - 725 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2010

We stayed at Banyan Tree in Seychelles for the second time. First time was in Beachfront Villa and the second time in a 2 Bedroom Villa.

Both times were excellent but there were some minor inconveniences. Eg mosquitoes at night, the pool/jacuzzi were not clean all the time (but once cleaned beautiful) etc - nothing major and certainly nothing to ruin the stay.

We found the staff very friendly and helpful. On this trip, our villa host was a Seychelles local and gave us very good tips for dining out and helped us arrange a little Daihatsu Copen rental car.

As we had stayed the first trip entirely within the resort, this time we spent a couple of days driving around the island - the scenery is beautiful but the town is pretty quiet. Driving around is pretty straight forward but the roads are pretty narrow. It would be ideal to be able to rent a scooter for quick day trips actually....

Great breakfast in the villa. Food is good at the restaurants - we particularly liked the Thai restaurant, Safron. Also highly recommend the grill on the beach - the portions are huge, however, so best to pace yourself and not eat everything as they come.

The beach is clean but the waves are pretty strong so swimming was best done at the villa pool (much larger in the 2 bedroom villa) but better still at the resort pool.

Room service is also good.

Spa treatments were amazing....

However, the resort is getting a little aged. Nothing went wrong during our stay but we did notice some noisy air conditioning and other bits and pieces, which suggested the age of the facilities. Again, nothing major.

We drove into the new Four Seasons and found that to be generally cleaner and, of course, newer. However, we quite liked the fact that Banyan Tree felt smaller and more homely despite the resort as a whole being less polished. It would nice if they did a bit of work on the wetland, however - at night, some parts of it look a little spooky.

Overall, highly recommended but it is quite possible that this may not be the best value for money even amongst the 5 start resorts on Mahe.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KIMBO777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Sorry for the lateness of this review we stayed here near theholdiays in December...
A very lovely resort tht is secluded and romantic with wll kept an lush grounds.
We were greeted by friendly staf with a drink ater the long flights from the states,
Check in went smooth and we were taken by golf cart to our villa which was the last beach front villa on the road. It had its own pool and spa and was one of te best rooms we have stayed (see pictue).
We ate at both restarants and the out door bufft barbques was not great. The chef was nice we sat and talked with him for a while and te abiance was beautiful but the food was not great. The oher restraunt int he main building was also not great. Again, good service, nice people and great setting just not the best food.
Beach was nice and quiet, right out front of our villa.
Problems when checking out. We were told we could not use amex card somethin about the currency problems, even though we booked through amex platinum. Also, the bill was more than we were qouted and the manager (great guy) e mailed us back and forth after the trip re the charges, I think that they chaged us approx $500 for the car pickup roundtrip and that is what added to the costs but i finally jut gave up. Everything was lovely and so it makes those issues not as bad.
We would recomend and stay here again especially of we got the same villa.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil-from-Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Great location
Warm hospitality
Wonderful Spa
Superb Beach
Perfect Villa

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vdk62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves on the last day of our honeymoon- and I’m sure the memory of this hotel will last forever! We stayed in a hillside villa (the cheapest- but I’ve no idea how it could have been any better!) which was large, had a private infinity pool & gazebo, and was fantastically set up with treats to help us celebrate our honeymoon! We could not find a complaint about this hotel- even if we tried. We squeezed an awful lot in so this review is quite long!

We went to the spa for a couple’s synchronised Lomi Lomi massage (discounted because we went in the afternoon) which was pure bliss- the room was on the edge of the hill to allow you to hear the waves crashing below and get the soft breeze during your massage. The masseurs were extremely talented and were able to focus on certain area of concern – not a typical massage by far.

We had booked a “champagne on the rocks” which would involve a short walk uphill to be greeted by a butler serving champagne and nibbles while watching the sunset- our butler came to the villa and expressed concerns that it may rain, and offered to set up the dining area beside our pool for our sunset. And we’re so thankful we did- the set up was amazing- and it did rain! They had scattered flowers everywhere and put candles all around the pool and outside area- so romantic! And the food and pink champagne was simply perfect.

We also had a BBQ in our villa which was amazing- complete with champagne and lobster (we were given a huge selection a few hours previously- we were able to choose 3 things- steak and lobster included, we did not go hungry!) with 2 people expertly cooking everything in front of us.

We had Dinner on The Beach the following night- with a moonlit gazebo covered in flowers and candles (including candle lit path leading us to the beach!)- it felt like we were the only people in the world- right next to the beach feeling like we were getting married again!

Overall- the hotel was fantastic, the beach was gorgeous (I would be tempted to argue better than Source D’ Argent), breakfast was amazing- with enough choice to keep you going for several weeks, the giant infinity pool was simply wonderful- the perfect place to relax and enjoy the Seychelles view, the villa was fantastic- although it wasn’t on the beach, it was perfectly secluded with a lovely view down the hillside (and even had a “Bath Menu” complete with aperitifs and wine to enjoy if you so wish) and perfect for a romantic getaway.

Not only would we recommend this place to anyone- we would tell them it is a must if they could afford it- the perfect end to a perfect holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ModernGypsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takamaka
22.4 km away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
20.4 km away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
20.4 km away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
17.9 km away
Enchanted Island Resort
Enchanted Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Round Island
187 reviews
4.7 km away
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Seychelles

Address: | Anse Intendance, Takamaka, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Takamaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Takamaka
Price Range: $1,064 - $3,877 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Seychelles 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Seychelles offers an intimate retreat experience featuring its own signature blend of romance, rejuvenation and exotic sensuality. The philosophy behind the resort is based on providing a place for rejuvenation of the body, mind and soul – a sanctuary for the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banyan Tree Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Seychelles Hotel Mahe Island
Banyan Tree Seychelles Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing