We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfort in paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
St Sauveur Beach, only 50 meters away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Amitie, Praslin Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Rosnicjay
lusaka
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfort in paradise”
Reviewed 21 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We have just come back from spending 8 days at veuve noire beach hut and it was fabulous. The house is in a nice situation on the island, it is about a 3 min drive from a kid friendly and quiet beach where we spent a lot of time. The view from the hut is good, although you can see the sea, you won’t be overlooking a beach. That said, there are so many spectacular beaches on Praslin and we did a lot of beach hopping so that wasn’t a disappointment.

The huts outdoor living set up is perfect for the island, and the pool is a great addition. It has all the amenities you could need, even including a bose speaker which we really enjoyed when cooking up a feast with a few glasses of nice white wine . All told it was the right choice for us and we would definitely recommend veuve noire for a Praslin getaway.

The only gripe we did have was to do with the solar water heating. Unless the day was really sunny the water was not hot. For some this wouldn’t be an issue but I like a hot shower even on a hot day and this wasn’t available for our entire holiday.

That noted, I’m sure the beach hut will not disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina...
Spalding, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Wow....the trip was long but it was worth it!!

We stayed at the apartment for our Honeymoon and can highly recommend this if you are thinking about going, we are hoping to book another holiday in the future that's how much we enjoyed our stay. A big thank you to Brigitte and Francis for doing a superb job looking after us during our time there they are wonderful people who are so kind and helpful.

The small twin otter plane was a joyful experience which took us from Mahe to Praslin Island, this was a short delightful trip and gave you a glimpse of the beauty of the Seychelles islands from the sky that you can experience in Praslin.

On arrival at Mahe airport you will be asked to present a visitor card at passport control which is handed out on the plane this is fairly straight forward to fill out and you'll need to show confirmation of your accommodation to the officials. There is a restaurant as well as a cash point in the front area and a shop just outside on arrival and you need to go the Domestic Departures part of the airport to catch the plane to Praslin.

Praslin airport is very small and quaint and when you arrive your luggage is put onto a conveyer which is easily found in the arrivals hall.

We were met at the entrance of the airport and the driver was kind enough to take to the local shop to buy some food and supplies en route to the apartments this pickup was arranged by Aretha and Jonathan. There are buses and taxis outside the front if required a journey from the airport to the apartment was around 20EUR.

On arrival to the apartment we were met at by the lovely Brigitte who kindly showed us to the apartment and how everything worked.

Wow......that was the first thing that came to mind when we reached the top of the stairs at the apartment. The photos just don't entirely capture the beauty of the apartment with its high ceiling and tasteful design it really is a very stunning place to stay, there are so many minor details that didn't go unnoticed to make it extra special from the flower petals left scattered around to the seashells in the bathroom and outdoor showers, the gorgeous curtains around the bamboo shutters and the cute wooden bedside tables.

The outdoor area was the best part being able to cook or relax on a sun lounger whilst looking out to the ocean was very special. The Kitchen was well equipped with everything required and there were also cleaning cloths, tea towels, washing up liquid and washing powder for the washing machine should you need to wash your clothes. The central island where the cooker and hob are allowed lots of space to prepare and cook food and it was nice to sit up at the bar too. We chose not to eat out during our stay so didn't get a chance to sample the local cuisine but you can pay for Brigitte to cook at the apartment if you wanted.

The pool was larger than expected and at night it lights up with an underground led lighting and it's a lovely experience having a dip listening to the waves of the sea.

The (main) bedroom was the only one we used, the bed and pillows were very comfortable and it was romantic being able to pull the mosquito net around at night time. Just be careful you don't get too cold if you leave the air conditioning on.

The bathrooms were large, airy and well equipped with each having an indoor and outdoor shower as well as a large sink area and shelves, bidet and toilets. There was a huge amount of towels given to us including face towels and it was very handy to have Beach Towels that you can take with you on a day out to the beach. We also had a hairdryer in each bathroom, complimentary shampoo, conditioner and body wash and Toilet Rolls are supplied.

The apartment sits high up and so the view around is breath taking to see all the plants, the rocks, the hills in the distance and the best part the ocean which you can hear too particularly at night.

The complex is easy to find from the main road and is well sign posted, the setting for the apartments is within the natural surroundings with the pathway leading up to the hut amongst the rocks and plants, there are large plant pots and coconuts hanging from the vegetation all adding to make the experience more enjoyable.

We would highly recommend having a hire car and make sure that its automatic as the island is very hilly in parts. The car hire was about 50EUR per day including insurance and they are able to bring the car to you which saves a lot of hassle, this was kindly organised by Brigitte over the phone. The setting is very remote which is we welcomed with the peace and quiet we had.

There are shops either direction from the main road in front of the apartments but these are not within walking distance with a pharmacy, gift shops, a bank and supermarkets, boat trips, diving facilities and restaurants on the island so whilst there are plenty of places to go Praslin is not full of tourists as some other places are so expect to find some areas fairly quiet and remote.

You can also travel around the island by Bus there are lots of them on the island and they are fairly regular Brigitte can give you a timetable, bus stops are marked out on the roads and there are some on the main road down from the apartments. Although we didn't use them we were told this costs 5 Rupees per person per journey which is a very cheap way to travel.

There is Wifi access available at the apartment via a router plugged into the wall in the kitchen, you are given 1GB when you arrive and you pay thereafter this can be topped up at a shop or over the phone, we added a 500MB and this was more than sufficient for our stay. Also its good to note that Electric sockets are the three pin 13amp plugs.

There are small beaches/coves on the main road but these require a bit of walking to which may be difficult in the hot weather. We managed to drive around the whole island in a few hours as it is not very big and it was wonderful to drive along the coast and see all the pretty beaches. Anze Lazio is definitely worth a trip being one of the best beaches in the world but there are so many others to see too.

The currency used on the island is the Seychelles Rupee this is only used in the Seychelles islands so it is best that if you do change any currency keep this to a minimum and make sure you spend it before you leave unless you are returning to the area. We paid for as much as we could by card, card payments were accepted in the shops that we went to and we also used Euros to pay for things in cash but you will be given change in rupees just bear in mind exchange rates in a shop may not be as good as rates in a bank.

You will be looked after during your stay by Brigitte and Francis who live just next to the apartments and can give you local advice should you need it. They are very helpful and friendly so don't worry about asking them any questions even if you think its silly to ask.

Now for the negatives (nothing about the apartment itself).

We found the mosquitos quite relentless I used "Jungle Formula" spray and covered myself at night If I sat outside, we also kept the air conditioning on to keep them out of the bedroom. We would recommend repellent if you are susceptible to them and any creams that may help with itching should you get bitten. There are geckos and lizards but these are harmless and they never come too close to you, they come out at night and you can see them on the roof around the kitchen area.

The food and drink can be expensive which is understandable as a lot of things would be imported wine in particular we found to expensive sometimes around £15-£20 a bottle. The food in the shops is more than adequate to stock up with and cook there is plenty of meats, pasta, rice and vegetables with be prepared to not have a lot of choice of these for example we looked for lettuce and found 3 in one shop and tomatoes we only found one type which we are not used to at home! There may be brands/items that you just can't find. Please remember to check use by dates we did unfortunately buy a couple of things that were out of date in our haste but the shop keeper was kind enough to change them for us. I would ensure that you take on holiday any pills, creams or lotions that you think you might use in case you have trouble finding these on the island even though they sell adequate toiletries in the shops.

Many thanks to Aretha and Jonathan for use of their beautiful apartment giving us memories to treasure forever and to Brigitte and Francis for looking after us so well.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ula1988
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Truly wonderful holiday in Paradise”
Reviewed 13 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We spent 5 days in 2 bed hut and we all loved it. The place is very nice, full of character, spacious and tastefully furnished. The local beach is just a few steps away. We liked the outdoor living area and spent evenings chilling out on the terrace, watching the giant fruit bats on the mango tree opposite. The bedrooms are comfortable and air conditioned with the option of outdoor shower, which was fantastic. This was a true exotic holiday in unspoiled surrounding. The accommodation has everything for self catering holiday. We can highly recommend this place and will visit again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cla3074
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Firstly I wanted to say how lovely the beach hut was. Having looked around at various accommodation online, the finishes and attention to detail throughout the beach hut was fantastic. The outdoor kitchen was a real novelty along with the outside shower. The location was on the quieter side of the Island which suited us perfectly. Francis and Bridgette couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming!! We both really loved our stay and would definitely recommend it if ever you happen to visit Praslin island. Thanks so much to all!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asmcneil
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Perfection!!”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We got picked up at the jetty by Francis who was lovely and patient (our car hire forgot about us so we had to wait at the jetty for a while). Brigitte was great at showing us around the house and was also lovely at answering any questions. They were extremely friendly and pleasant the whole time!

The house was amazing! It's stunning, tranquil and clean. The photos don't even do its beauty justice. The ocean view is incredible and much longer that it seems from the photos (you get glimpses of the ocean everywhere you look), the pool is not that tiny (I thought the temperature and size were perfect and even had my very large toucan pool float in there!) and the rooms and bathrooms smell so new! I loved the open space and the little boulders you walk in between to get to the stairs of the house. The house is well equipped with even a Nespresso machine, shot glasses and beach hotels. The house gets cleaned daily which is a nice touch. I loved the design and decoration and absolutely loved the outdoor showers!!!! It was amazing being able to shower at night looking at the stars and hearing nature. It was perfect!!

If I am to be picky, I would of liked a shaving/make up mirror in the bathroom, a blanket on the bed (there was only one sheet) and two pillows per person. At the beginning, I thought the wifi would be a problem. They provide 1gb, which I came to realise (after searching for wifi around), that it was pretty generous. After 1gb, you need to pay and it's quite expensive but I soon realised that being unconnected (there were 3 of us and I decided to not get connected and let my dad use it up) was a blessing. It goes well with the serenity of the place. And I recommend taking repellent, a conditioner and coffee capsules.

I can't recommend this place enough! Would go back right now!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing