We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shwe Hin Tha Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
K Resort Ngwe Saung(Ngwe Saung)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream House Guest House & Restaurant(Ngwe Saung)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
41
46
15
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
46
15
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmosquito netsea viewtom tomdouble checklovely bungalowconcrete bungalowpalm umbrellasthe staff was friendly and helpfulbeach frontfair pricebreakfast buffetbamboohutsfandollarspowervillage
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2014

So we set out to enjoy a lovely time at the beach, and did so the first day we arrived, until we got back to our little hut where a pretty damn big rat was waiting for us....

Video is hard to see, but here it is anyway: http://youtu.be/1YuMJwviZPI

So I went to the front desk, tried to change huts, they said there was no more room and brought 2 traps. We tried to sleep with great difficulty, and I kept seeing the rat peaking from the ceiling (check the picture). At night you will hear them munch on the bamboo. But wait, it gets better..

So the next morning we wake up to see that the traps were still set but the cheese (or fish or whatever it was) was gone, of course.. these are experienced rats. We weren't the only ones with rats, this other guy who has been coming to this same hotel for over 9 years tells me in a totally casual way: "Oh yeah, I have rats in my hut too, they all do and always have!! (speaking about the bamboo huts) It's because they like to eat the bamboo you see." Unbelievable, really.. That night, when we got back, I saw another rat, it was half the size, which made me wonder how many rats our hut was actually nesting.. Luckily for us it was our last night in this hotel!

Thought I'd also mention that the restaurant isn't really worth it, more expensive obviously then the local restaurants, and the food isn't great. They don't seem to mind stray dogs coming to bug their customers. Oh and if you order any kind of juice (watermelon, pineapple, orange), ask them to strain the pips/pith before serving it to you, not too sure why they can never get that right.

On the plus side, the view is fantastic, like all the hotels there because there is still so much space and all the hotels are literally built on the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylvain411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We booked to stay here for a few days after an organised small group tour of Myanmar and before setting off for similar tours in India. Although it initially proved quite difficult to arrange both the hotel and the transport we finally found an agency in Yangon, Baton Tours, who actually responded promptly to our emails and who made all the arrangements for us.
We stayed in the cheaper wooden huts and had a wonderful view to the nearby beach. The huts, whilst basic, met all of our needs and the hotel restaurant served a reasonable included breakfast and a good range of meals for lunch or dinner. The attached bathroom was basic but met our needs although we did miss hot water in the shower (this is available in the more expensive brick bungalows). The staff were all nice and we thoroughly enjoyed our time here.
The beach is wonderful, the sea warm and the area remains, for the moment at least, largely unspoilt and uncrowded. They are building some more upmarket resort hotels and the character of the area will no doubt change quite quickly as long as tourists continue to be encouraged in Myanmar. If you like the idea of visiting this area before it changes too much don't leave it too long!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthLondonDaveR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Myanmar is not the most tourist friendly country in the world. The government keeps a tight rein on the comings and goings of all travelers.
For those adventurous travelers that are willing to go off the beaten tourist track and put up with the governments seeming paranoid scrutiny, Myanmar is a great place to go. Beside all the elaborate 1000 year old temples/pagodas in the Bagan region the fairly undiscovered beach communities on the Bay of Bengal on the west coast are a find for the inquisitive traveler.
Ngwe Saung is a quiet village nestled on the expansive sandy shores of the bay. There are around 20 hotel and guesthouses spread out over a 5 kilometer area. It’s a relaxing, very serene place to stay.
I spent two nights at Shwe Hin Tha Hotel. The bungalows are OK, somewhat worn out and in need of more minor upkeep and repairs. As is the rule in Ngwe Saung there is no electricity service during the daytime; only from 6PM to 6AM so the fans don’t function midday. Can get hot.
The reason to visit the bay is the beaches; kilometer after kilometer of virtually unpopulated wide sandy beaches. I recommend renting a motorcycle and tour the surrounding area via the beach route. An exhilarating experience.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank DiceyEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

They didn't have a free room left, so the staff gave us their room... Was very friendly and the room was nice, thanks a lot!!!! Fair price and clean, thumbs up, it's not usual in Myanmar!!! We would defenitly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happycustomers0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Shwe Hin Tha is our "regular" place in Ngwe Saung. With prices as low as 25$ (for a fan bamboo bugalow), you can wake up to a direct view of the (usually) empty beach, seen through the green lawn and coconut trees. The bungalows are basic - you can go a bit nicer to get an airconditioned concrete bungalow (50$).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews