We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$122
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Gower Hotel(Bishopston)
US$125
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$151
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant(Mumbles)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$118
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Fairyhill(Reynoldston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
17
6
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
6
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Nice clean place. Very friendly staff- no fuss at all when we showed up much too early for breakfast. Room was comfy but quite small. We had dinner in the restaurant and whilst pricey, it was certainly worth it.
Location is good as within walking distance of an amazing beach but yes, it is also next to a very busy road.
My only issue with our stay was that since we were in the room right above the restaurant, when the restaurant was closing or early in the morning, the music coming through the speakers (integrated in the ceiling ie right under our room) could be clearly heard in our room - not great if you are a light sleeper (luckily we brought my earplugs)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_guy_7117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This was my first ever trip to Wales and we stayed for one night at Maes-yr-Haf. Superb customer service by all staff - nothing was too much trouble. Lovely room and a really great bathroom. Parking easy. Free WiFi to the room - which more than made up for the lack of mobile phone signal. I didn't find it noisy at all despite being at the front on the hotel facing the road (but then I do live on a VERY noisy road so perhaps my threshold is higher) Had an evening meal and breakfast - which again showed excellent front of house service combined with good food. Will definitely be back again in the future. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essexSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I was in The Gower for a wedding and spent 2 nights at Maes-yr-Haf. It's a fabulous place, the rooms are beautiful with all you could need. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff very friendly and helpful. I would (and probably will) happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RandomVisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Had a fantastic couple of days at Maes-yr-Haf. For anyone without a car, this is a great spot for a stunngingly beautiful walk to the gorgeous, quiet, sandy beach at Three Cliffs Bay. The 30 min stroll along the footpath (it isn't really the 20mins you'll hear mentioned) takes in pretty much every element of the picturesque you could hope for: densely wooded mountainside? Check. Clear flowing river meandering gently along the valley floor? Check. Sandy path gradually opening out to a broad, sweeping stretch of sand? Check. Archway through rugged cliffs? Check. Ruined castle perched on a hilltop? Believe it or not, check.

Maes yr Haf itself is charming. It's still relatively new and clearly working very hard to establish itself as a destination restuarant - which means you get the benefit of top notch service, an excellent breakfast, and consistently delicious evening meals. The only slight disappointment was that the menu didn't change from day to day - so if you were, like us, sans car, you might begin to feel a little restricted if you stayed more than a couple of nights. That's a very minor grumble though - and I'm not sure that they haven't made the right choice in keeping the menu to a manageable length and doing everything well.

The room was very stylishly decorated, bed was comfortable, and bathroom fittings and toiletries high quality. Temperature control was a bit iffy - the room tended to get rather warm, and opening the windows meant contending with traffic noise from the main road on which the restaurant sits. Not a problem for us, as we're used to this at home, but not ideal for anyone needing perfect silence to sleep well.

The staff were excellent throughout - helping to book a boat trip, sorting out our taxis and arranging for us to have an extra-early breakfast to allow us to reach the embarkation point on time. We're looking forward to a return visit very soon.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a lovely view over fields.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hogwart214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We were very dispapointed when we arrived at Maes yr Haf, on the map it looked like it was on a minor road in Gower, but that road turned out to be very busy. And we could hear the noise of the cars very clearly (even with the windows closed). At the other side of the road was a shop so there was a lot of stopping and starting of cars. On top of that there is a lot of noise from the kitchen ventilation (luckily not during the night) The room and bathroom are rather small but the lay out is very efficient. Maintenance is an issue: the tiling in the bathroom was severly damaged: it would be better to repair things like this immediately. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PostcardsFromEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews