We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a look”
Review of Shalom Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vagator
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shalom Guest House
Ranked #22 of 38 Vagator B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Close to everything including a 5 min walk to the beach. The price was good as was the room....super clean. Very Quiet too. Nearby is massage, restaurant and general store with the taxi stand right outside. Shalom is situated in beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gtirman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia F, Owner at Shalom Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Thank you for your appreciation of our place! Really happy you enjoyed your stay.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for a month. The guest house is surrounded by a beautiful well-kept garden, is very very clean and the rooms are quite large and confortable. The couple Who run it is very friendly and helpful. The highlight is the position cause its 2 steps from the sea and all the restaurants and clubs in the area are within easy walking distance.
I was in Vagator many times and this is the better place, i'll be back for sure! Thank Julia and Andrew for making me feel at home
Alessandra

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank Alpec07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia F, Owner at Shalom Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Thank you Alessandra!
We look forward to your stay!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

We stayed here during a friend's wedding in Feb. The room was reserved for 3 days by our friends and we were informed that we have the room available until Sunday. On Saturday, the owner (land lady) wakes us up early in the morning asking us to check out claiming that the room was reserved only till Saturday and that there is another reservation for the room. Half-asleep we try and explain to her that we have a reservation till Sunday, but that talk was to no avail. 25-30 minutes later, while we were still going about with our morning ablutions, etc, the lady barges in through our door (we left the door unlocked since the last time we had spoken to her) into the room - yet again asking us to vacate ASAP. Imagine the sheer audacity of barging into someone's room even without an iota of decency to knock! Throughly irritated, we gathered our stuff and went to the reception area. Once again, as an alternative, we inquired if there were any other rooms in Shalom itself that we could shift to. She said yes there are, but was willing to give it out for two nights and not one - stating that she would not make enough money. Wow man, on one hand your have people going out of their way with hospitality these days and here is this lady with an absolute disregard for people's space, privacy or the fact that she has put us through sheer inconvenience (FOR A COUPLE OF EXTRA THOUSAND BUCKS).

My friend has left a review about the same too (Read his review: “Prefers money over morals") to which the owner has replied saying that we were undecided about the duration of our stay, woke us up during check-out, etc etc (this is untrue and a classic cover-up strategy). The passive-agressive behaviour even pours out into the response to my friend's review where the lady has ended the response with - "..You already judged us by putting your remarks that we prefer money over morals!!! Please grow up." Really woman, no one takes out the time in the world to go around defaming people unless they've genuinely faced a harrowing experience. Pathetic is the least I would say about this place. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who would be looking for accommodation around this area. There are much better places to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NehaNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia F, Owner at Shalom Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

We cannot deal with lies! Grow up please!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015

Walked to this hotel while looking for a budget accommodation for a goa blog for short stay. The guest house is not very far and looked more like an extended house and less like a guest house. owner seemed ok and will be able to tell you places near by for shopping and eating. The place is amidst green surrounding and gives you nice feel. Room is nice and tidy. good place for backpackers only looking for extended stays to explore Goa and just need a decent place to sleep. The area is has many restaurants and pubs which is plus. Make sure you discuss rates clearly and check room for working of AC, refrigerator etc. before you check in. The vagator area is awesome and one of the best places to stay in Goa.

Room Tip: check room for ac, working refrigerator etc before check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tango333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia F, Owner at Shalom Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Thank you for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015 via mobile

Shalom is set in lovely gardens walking distance from little vagitor. Our room was clean and well kept. The couple who own the place are polite and approachable. There is some noise at night from the bar behind the hotel but it wasn't enough to bother you and I think this is the case anywhere in this part of goa. They have the world's cutest fat little Labrador. Super adorable!

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
3  Thank travlinwithlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia F, Owner at Shalom Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Thank you for your review. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vagator
0 km away
W Goa
W Goa
#1 of 13 in Vagator
401 reviews
0 km away
Leoney Resort
Leoney Resort
#7 of 13 in Vagator
243 reviews
0 km away
Shalom Resort
Shalom Resort
#3 of 96 in Candolim
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Shalom Guest House
Shalom Guest House
#36 of 96 in Candolim
15 reviews
0 km away
Cochichos Resort
Cochichos Resort
#3 of 38 in Vagator
210 reviews
0 km away
JUNGLE by thehostelcrowd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalom Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalom Guest House

Address: Shaolem guest house no 589 | Small Vagator Beach, Vagator 403509, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Vagator
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Vagator
Price Range: $10 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Shalom Guest House Hotel Vagator
Shalom Guest House Vagator, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing