We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bethany Inn(Vagator)(Great Value!)
US$10
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cochichos Resort(Vagator)(Great Value!)
US$33
US$26
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amour Resort(Vagator)(Great Value!)
US$44
US$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Vagator(Vagator)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$80
US$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Leoney Resort(Vagator)(Great Value!)
US$32
US$23
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$39
US$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Brisa do Mar(Vagator)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amani Vagator(Vagator)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$43
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amicorum(Vagator)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$6
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
12
15
3
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
15
3
0
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for a month. The guest house is surrounded by a beautiful well-kept garden, is very very clean and the rooms are quite large and confortable. The couple Who run it is very friendly and helpful. The highlight is the position cause its 2 steps from the sea and all the restaurants and clubs in the area are within easy walking distance.
I was in Vagator many times and this is the better place, i'll be back for sure! Thank Julia and Andrew for making me feel at home
Alessandra

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank Alpec07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia F, Owner at Shalom Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Thank you Alessandra!
We look forward to your stay!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

We stayed here during a friend's wedding in Feb. The room was reserved for 3 days by our friends and we were informed that we have the room available until Sunday. On Saturday, the owner (land lady) wakes us up early in the morning asking us to check out claiming that the room was reserved only till Saturday and that there is another reservation for the room. Half-asleep we try and explain to her that we have a reservation till Sunday, but that talk was to no avail. 25-30 minutes later, while we were still going about with our morning ablutions, etc, the lady barges in through our door (we left the door unlocked since the last time we had spoken to her) into the room - yet again asking us to vacate ASAP. Imagine the sheer audacity of barging into someone's room even without an iota of decency to knock! Throughly irritated, we gathered our stuff and went to the reception area. Once again, as an alternative, we inquired if there were any other rooms in Shalom itself that we could shift to. She said yes there are, but was willing to give it out for two nights and not one - stating that she would not make enough money. Wow man, on one hand your have people going out of their way with hospitality these days and here is this lady with an absolute disregard for people's space, privacy or the fact that she has put us through sheer inconvenience (FOR A COUPLE OF EXTRA THOUSAND BUCKS).

My friend has left a review about the same too (Read his review: “Prefers money over morals") to which the owner has replied saying that we were undecided about the duration of our stay, woke us up during check-out, etc etc (this is untrue and a classic cover-up strategy). The passive-agressive behaviour even pours out into the response to my friend's review where the lady has ended the response with - "..You already judged us by putting your remarks that we prefer money over morals!!! Please grow up." Really woman, no one takes out the time in the world to go around defaming people unless they've genuinely faced a harrowing experience. Pathetic is the least I would say about this place. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who would be looking for accommodation around this area. There are much better places to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NehaNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia F, Owner at Shalom Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

We cannot deal with lies! Grow up please!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015

Walked to this hotel while looking for a budget accommodation for a goa blog for short stay. The guest house is not very far and looked more like an extended house and less like a guest house. owner seemed ok and will be able to tell you places near by for shopping and eating. The place is amidst green surrounding and gives you nice feel. Room is nice and tidy. good place for backpackers only looking for extended stays to explore Goa and just need a decent place to sleep. The area is has many restaurants and pubs which is plus. Make sure you discuss rates clearly and check room for working of AC, refrigerator etc. before you check in. The vagator area is awesome and one of the best places to stay in Goa.

Room Tip: check room for ac, working refrigerator etc before check in
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tango333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia F, Owner at Shalom Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Thank you for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015 via mobile

Shalom is set in lovely gardens walking distance from little vagitor. Our room was clean and well kept. The couple who own the place are polite and approachable. There is some noise at night from the bar behind the hotel but it wasn't enough to bother you and I think this is the case anywhere in this part of goa. They have the world's cutest fat little Labrador. Super adorable!

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
3  Thank travlinwithlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia F, Owner at Shalom Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Thank you for your review. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

I stayed here a month back with a friend, where we made reservations for 3 days that ended on a Sunday. Randomly on a Saturday morning the land lady wakes us up (early morning) asks us to leave because she has an opportunity to book another family for the entire weekend...that is getting her more business. I failed to understand the sort of ethical code this place works on..or does it even have one to start with? Throwing out a current guest for the sake of earning an extra buck from another booking is absolute cheating. What was saddening was that her approach towards this was so casual and not realising that she is actually ruining someone's holiday. For a hotelier, booking are an all year round business with guests coming and going out each day..day after day! But for someone like me and many other who gets a holiday just once or twice a year from work - is a BIG DEAL for such a shock on their vacation.
This place should be avoided...try Hotel Blue Bird or Hotel Moonlight (Tibetan) instead with warm staff, great food and in the same locality.
Couples!! stay away from here!! i do not wish this upon you'll, but don't want you'll to share the same fate.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank vgurudatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliandrew, Owner at Shalom Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Firstly, you were a walk in customer. You had not made a booking in advance. Secondly, you were also undecided as to how many nights you would like to stay and on inquiring with you on the 2nd night that if you are not interested in continuing, we would be free to do fresh booking for new customers, to this, you still said you will let us know later. Try to understand and respect others' work/business. Look at our predicament, you dont want to commit yourself and nor are you allowing us to make a decision. However, when we did get a customer, we woke you up at the check out time i.e. 11:00 am and not 'very early in the morning' as you indicated in your review. We treat all our customers with respect and politeness. Just because you could not have it your way, you post incorrect comments! What you have written is incorrect and you know it. Please be honest always. You already judged us by putting your remarks that we prefer money over morals!!! Please grow up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews