We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place of Peace, Love and Relaxation”
Review of Chateau Margarite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau Margarite
Reviewed 3 August 2017

The Chateau Margarite Hotel was a great experience for my husband and I. Mr. Cornel and Margarite were very helpful, provided great customer service and resources while in Montego Bay, JM. We enjoyed the hotel environment and peaceful atmosphere. We had an opportunity to have an conversation with Mr. Cornel, Margarite and the servers: shared stories and laughs together. Everyone there were respectable and humble. There was a lot of love at Chateau Margarite, it is truly a family away from home.

Sincerely,
Matthew and Kendra Spain

Room Tip: Rooms are Clean, Relaxing and Comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kmarsha27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2017

We had a wedding here. We use to go there all the time, and I remember the owners saying come back and do your wedding here, so we did. Unfortunately, it was the worst decision we made. The owners double charged us because we were from america, and made everything complicated for us during the entire time. I just wanted to get the wedding over with thats how complicated things were. Were Jamaican, and we had a friend of ours call back and ask for the same accommodations and the owners gave them a decent price. These people are not honest. I use to go there a lot and I thought they would have been fair, and it was a nightmare. I just thank God that it still worked out even through all the complications. I spoke with the owners before I went to montego bay and they told me I didnt have to bring much, and when I got there it was a different story. I will never go there again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Talissab2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

A friend and I arrived in Jamaica on Christmas and were worried about where to eat since our hotel was a little remote. We were more than pleasantly surprised to find the Chateau. They were unbelievably hospitable providing us with great food for lunch. Great jerk chicken. Came back for supper and there was a wedding going on. Margaret still served us and showed us around. Our visit there turned a somewhat nervous situation into a great start to the vacation. Highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

When I stayed in September 2016, it was not a good experience.

- There was no actual address for the hotel in our reservation. We got to the right general area, drove around for a while, and then asked some locals, who pointed us to what turned out to be an old location no longer in use by the hotel.
- We waited around at the old location for a few minutes trying to figure out what was going on with the seemingly deserted building when someone happened to show up who told us that the business was now using a different property. They gave us directions to the other property about a mile away.
- We get to the other property. It's right on the coast highway, which is convenient I suppose, but means there's some road noise.
- We're shown to our room. It seemed hastily assembled with a door that's clearly a residential front door with glass in it that's been papered over with newspaper, and a rusted over minifridge.
- Meanwhile, after some struggles getting their credit card system to behave, they end up double charging me because it turns out their booking company had already charged me a week before but they didn't know that.

Overall we had a decent enough night of sleep once we found the place, etc. Breakfast was mediocre, but did the job.

The proprietors seemed to be trying hard to provide a good experience, so I can't fault them for that, but they clearly did not have everything ready to go with their new location when I showed up. Maybe a month or two later the experience would be smooth, but it was not for me. Also, the prices were high compared to what I paid elsewhere in Jamaica. Maybe that's just Montego Bay, but the other places I stayed were comparably priced yet markedly better experiences.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ruction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

My stay at Chateau Margaritas was home away from home.
Mr. and Mrs. Di went all the way out to ensure that everything was perfect. Being Vegan, I was a little concerned as to what I would eat. Miss D took care of that.
I truly enjoyed when they picked coconut from their tree and served it.
My stay was memorable. Being there for 11 Day was worth it.
It is very affordable for family, couples or just solo.
May God continue to bless you both.
Natanyah

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank Natanyah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chateau Margarite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Margarite

Address: 11 Unity Hall, Unity Hall, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Unity Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Unity Hall
Price Range: $137 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Margarite 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a getaway to white sandy beaches, scuba diving, beautiful falls and breathtaking sunsets, lush green tropical vegetation and the warm care of your personal staff? Well, look no further, visit Chateau Margarita where our prime concern is you: Relax in luxurious surroundings where the staff and all amenities of the property are at your full disposal. Chateau Margarita's private gated villa offers you 24 hour on property security. Chateau Margarita is located in the beautiful hillside of Unity Hall and just 30 minutes from the newly constructed International Airport in Montego Bay, Jamaica. Come and enjoy our incredible views and the relaxing atmosphere, come feel the Chateau Margarita experience, treat yourself to being pampered like kings and queens.Relax in the garden and feel the soothing breeze as you listen to the birds. We have natural fruit trees and exotic flowers on property which makes it even so much more special and natural, a true paradise vacation castle. So why wait? A relaxing, soothing and romantic experience awaits you! Excellent for small private weddings, wedding renewals, engagements, anniversaries and just about any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Chateau Margarite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing