We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$64
View deal
Expedia.com
US$73
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/02/22
Agoda.com
US$62
View deal
PricelineUS$90
Hotels.comUS$73
TravelocityUS$73
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,510)
Filter reviews
1,510 results
Traveller rating
485
617
267
75
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
485
617
267
75
66
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,510 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2020

Stayed at de luxe room, large room but there was smell of mold.Great pool area and it's convinient to pop to pool area Restaurant to eat. Wish beach transport would go also to other side of Kata beach (nearer to Karon), As it doesnt we needed to Take tuk-tuk (hotels beach transport goes to nearest part of beach, that is ca. 6min walking from hotel). i would rate ***+ and would stay again :)

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank NorthStarMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline-Ratchaporn, Manager at Kata Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2020

Very sorry to hear that your room had smell. We will take it for our prevention and get rid of it.
Regarding to the beach shuttle, you can inform our driver if you prefer to dropped off further, but guests normally prefer walking. Please let us know when you have planned to stay with us next time.

Pauline
Customer relation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020

Overrun with Russians they are everywhere.
The only place they were not in was the bars & restaurants because they buy everything at 7 11 sending the small businesses broke. And they are rude push in front of you & generally lower class of tourist.
Unfortunately we won’t be going back.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline-Ratchaporn, Manager at Kata Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2020


We have noted for your comments.

Have a nice day!

Pauline
Customer Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2020

Kata Palm resort is centrally located on Kata Road and really close to Kata Beach. This is the greatest selling point of this hotel. Nearby are shops: currency converters, taxi’s, buses, mini marts and more restaurants than you can count.
We stayed here in September for 10 days and we found the staff incredibly friendly. We arrived after a gruelling trip from Australia and the staff immediately made us feel welcome despite our late arrival (11pm). The cleaners were also friendly and tidied up our shoes every morning (or until we worked out how untidy we left our shoes). When our air conditioning broke the staff from maintenance had fixed it within 10 minutes

We stayed in a deluxe pool access room and loved it. The room was large and opened up immediately to the pool. The bathroom was just big enough for two people in a squeeze. The décor was fantastic. The mini bar prices were really reasonable and cheaper than any other hotel I have stayed in. Also, the water bottles were recycled glass (great for the environment) and large. Often you have to buy water when travelling but the water bottles were so big we rarely needed to do this. The pillows and sheets were scented, which we loved, but people with sensitivities may have trouble with this. The pillows were also lumpy. We swapped them a number of times. There was also a little bit of mould in the bathroom. We also had to change our sheets on arrival as they were dirty. Lastly, the TV reception was terrible and we stopped using it. The Wi-Fi was brilliant so this didn’t concern us greatly.

There were other concerns. The hotel is dated and needs to be upgraded. Some of the décor is looking really old and the resort just isn’t keeping up with modern trends such as having air conditioned areas, no porter service early morning and pamphlets were old with incorrect information. There are constant loud repairs going on around the resort. When we arrived, the statues recycling water wasn’t working so there were plenty of people working hard to get this fixed. We had our nephew over (4 years old) and there were electrical cords dipping in the water and we found a large butcher knife left on our balcony from chopping down foliage. This caused concern for our safety and our nephew’s. The pool is often full of leaves and can be a little gritty on the feet. However it was generally fine if you don’t mind bits of foliage in the water. Because we stayed during off-peak season the swim up bars were closed which was unfortunate. However, we kept getting our hopes up as they advertised throughout the resort they were open. Lastly, we contacted reception to discuss our nephew staying over for 1 night. They wanted to charge us THB 520 for a sheet and 750 for breakfast! We had him stay with another family member because of this.

The breakfast was ok and looks very large upon arrival. However, you are paying a premium price for what little you get. The service in this area was less than desirable and we also had to contend with a lot of flies. The breakfast area looked really nice by the pool and on the other side there is a Koi pond. We found it much cheaper to walk 3 minutes to Chanalai Romantica resort next door which was half the price with amazing service, décor and music.

These concerns can be overlooked if you are prepared for them. The location and low price works in Kata Palms favour. It is very quick to walk to the beach and there are many shops to enjoy along the way. Kata beach also have some very good restaurants right on the beach at good prices. I would definitely stay at Kata Palm again.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Navelint
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline-Ratchaporn, Manager at Kata Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2020

Thank you very much for your comments. We will look and update our information book.

For other points, we would love to know it during your stay so we can fix it. So all our guests are happy with their holiday with us.

Pauline
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2020

The hotel has a nice and lovely property. The food taste and quality does not reflect Thai cuisine. We missed the "Thai smile" in the service.
Overall an expensive experience with low value - we will not come again.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 191matthiasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline-Ratchaporn, Manager at Kata Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2020

Thank you very much for your feedback. Your comments are very value for us, specially Thai Smile. About our Thai taste, we will train our staff to specifie for our chef to make sure our guests are satisfied because some dishes are too spicy.

Hope you come back to taste our food again.

Pauline
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2020 via mobile

We just came back from Phuket where we have spent a few days together with our family at the Kata Palm Resort & Spa. Living in Thailand since 3 years now we should have known it better not to go to Phuket during peak season but as our family came from overseas we have decided to join them for some days.
On the pictures the hotel looks quite nice and especially the pool area got lots of positive comments. In reality the hotel looks worn out, the rooms (in the older buildings) would need a renovation and the service some improvement.
The breakfast offer is ok but it can happen that you have to get your coffee yourself, that they ran out of ham or that some of the table wear is just missing.
The pool would be nice in case you manage to get one of the few sunbeds in time. We are early birds but even at 07.30AM some of the sunbeds were already reserved by placing towels. Haven't seen that in any other hotel in Thailand so far.
To Kata beach you have to cross a main street and it will take you around 10 minutes walking which is acceptable in case you will manage to get a sunbed there but the hotel is also providing a transfer service to/from the beach.
I was quite disappointed by the route staff at the reception when asking for a confirmation of the refund of my deposit payment. Only after some discussion I have managed to get such confirmation which should be a standard process like in any other hotel.
All in all we had a good time together with our family but I would like to highly recommend the management to improve the overall service (Thailand is famous for its great hospitality) and to renovate the rooms, especially those of the older buildings!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank stefanm210
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline-Ratchaporn, Manager at Kata Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2020

Thank you very much for your feedback.
We will certainly take your comments for our improving, and so sorry to hear that. Please accept our apology for this.

Pauline
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews