We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Fishing Trip Fantastic"”
Review of Lookout Point Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gowganda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lookout Point Camp
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was our second year at Lookout Point Camp. Words just can't do justice to the great operation that Vicki and Larry run. Clean spacious cabins, genuine concern for their guests , a lake inviting any angler to get out there and just get lost in the tranquility of the lapping waves. We have already booked for the next year, in our opinion you just can't find a greater place to spend a week with your fishing buddies and recall some old fish tales,,, while creating new ones.

Thank you Vicki and Larry for your hard work into making your "Camp" a place where the guest is
always put first.

Room Tip: All of the cabins are clean, inviting and a great view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookoutPointCamp, Owner at Lookout Point Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi Joe, and thanks so much for the review! I have to say that it isn't a job putting guests first when they're like you and 'the boys'. We're so happy you have booked for another year. You aren't the only ones chalking up memories. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Our fishing group was supposed to go to a different location, but with the late spring the ice was still on the water. So we had to scramble at the last minute to find a place. I remembered I had seen Lookout Point on line and had inquired about it at that time, but we decided to go back to our previous destination. I made a quick call and we got lucky and got the last cabin available. Boy am I glad I called. Before we even arrived Vicki had arranged for us to get a larger cabin so we would have more room. We didn't really know what to expect, but when we arrived we were instantly impressed. Larry and Vicki were quick to meet us and show us around. Everything was A1, from the clean and fantastic cabin to the docks, fish hut and manicured grounds. Thou the fishing was a little tough on the main lake due to the late spring conditions we tried one of the surrounding lakes and quickly caught a few meals and our limit. We had a fantastic trip and were so impressed we have already booked for next year. Larry and Vicki were quick to answer any questions we had and helped out wherever they could. I highly recommend Lookout Point for a fishing or vacation destination. Now if I can talk the wife into driving that far I just might get back up there this summer. Thanks for the great time Larry and Vicki

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookoutPointCamp, Owner at Lookout Point Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Jamie. What a wonderful review - thanks so much! So happy to have been able to accommodate you last minute like that and even happier that you've booked for next year. You're going to love Moose Manor.
It was great meeting everyone and we look forward to seeing you next Spring. P.S. Any pictures?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Can’t say enough about Lookout Point Camp. My wife and I didn't know what to expect but we had hoped to have a nice quiet week away from the city and enjoy a week of fishing, reading and general relaxation. What we got far exceeded our expectations! The accommodations were super clean, comfortable and well equipped. We enjoyed our cozy comfortable cottage that had all the comforts of home but with an abundance of rusticity and charm! Our favourite spot was on our deck enjoying the breathtaking vista of the beautiful Gowganda Lake as the sun set in the evenings or in the morning to listen to the loons croon their hellos over the stillness of the lake in its morning mist. Our hosts, Vicki and Larry went out of their way to make us feel at home; you truly felt you were visiting family! No question or request was a bother and if they didn't have it, then Vicki or Larry would have an alternative solution. The fishing was great, the accommodations perfect, and our week away memorable enough to get us excited about planning another visit in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ND613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookoutPointCamp, Owner at Lookout Point Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thanks so much for that. I must say...if we ever decide to print out brochure's again, we'll definitely be picking your brain. Seriously - we enjoyed your company and look forward to seeing you again. Thanks again! Vicki & Larry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Another trip to Lookout Point Camp and another amazing trip. I haven't been up in September for a while, but this trip sure didn't disappoint. The smallmouth bass, bellies bulging, had the feed bag on for sure. I've never caught so many 5lb + smallmouth in my life. The last couple of days the weather turned northern-Ontario cold. We were prepared with our survival suits, but the bass definitely slowed down. The one bonus, the northern pike turned right on! The cool air made us appreciate the comfort of our cozy cabin - having a spacious, well-equipped kitchen to make some comfort foods to sit by the view and enjoy a beer (or two) by. We also had an amazing birds-eye view of an experimental weather balloon launched from Timmins. And here, for a while, we'd hoped that the aliens were landing for a few days of good fishing too. Larry and Vicki, up to your amazing great standards as usual.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bass Abode this time. It's great for a smaller group of three or four, because it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bobcaygeon_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was my second year staying in Gowganda at Lookout Point Camp. I look forward to our trip every year, the 9+ hour drive is 100% worth it! The cabins are immaculate, the view is amazing and Vicki and Larry are one of the nicest people you will ever meet!
I couldn't ask for a better place to holiday! We WILL be back next year!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vtyndall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookoutPointCamp, Owner at Lookout Point Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

We enjoyed having you here and hope to see you back. Thanks very much for the wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lookout Point Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Point Camp

Address: 1 Auld Reekie Road, Gowganda, Ontario P0J 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Gowganda
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Gowganda
Price Range: $126 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, pine constructed lakefront cabins. Cozy, comfortable, and immaculately maintained. We have adopted a 'guest for life' approach, so our guests really do come first! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing