We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Englehart Motel(Englehart)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
90
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasswalleyefishing tripnorthern ontariogreat fishingin excellent conditiongowganda lakegreat getawaygracious hostsspent a weekgreat weekscreened in porchvickiboatsscenerycottagepike
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

If you want awesome relaxation in a comfortable clean cabin, this is the place to be. With an awesome lake view, awesome fishing and great hospitality it can't get any better then this !! As you can see from the fish, 7.5lb, 7lb, 6.6 lb small mouth bass!! 24" walleye x 4 and a fee 40" pike!! Gotta love this place!! Oh yeah, Vicky and Larry are awesome!! It's like it is our own retreat !! See you next year for sure
Malcolm and Curtis

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookoutPointCamp, Owner at Lookout Point Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

We love your enthusiasm. Thanks guys - see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Second year at Lookout Point Camp and it was another week of rest and relaxation in fabulous accommodations. Talk about a room with a view! We were warmly welcomed as soon as we stepped out of the truck !

We rented Bass Abode once again. The cottage was immaculate when we arrived...thank you Vicki! Space offers two bedrooms with a spacious full bath, living room, diningroom and full kitchen. The cottage offers plenty of room to spread out and with four people we never felt crowded.

The most beautiful part of this cottage in my view is the screen porch allowing you to sit outside even when the mosquitos come out. The screen porch provides a table and chairs with ample space for coolers and gear. During the day there is plenty of room to relax and suntan on the outer deck which offers a nice bbq chairs and a small table.

The boat was in great shape and always gassed up ready to go...thank you Larry!

Fishing was good...those pickeral make you work for it though...probably why it's called 'fishing' not 'catching'.

Larry and Vicki are terrific hosts. They take care of their property and take pride in making sure your vacation is wonderful. Although they are doing things around the camp, they were never intrusive and when you did see them they were friendly and engaging.

Although there are other cottages we rarely heard anyone else ...we probably were the noisiest with our music and games on the porch but nothing out of hand or rowdy.

We look forward to returning next year...We have stayed in other places but we will reurn to Lookout Point again and again. The title of the review says it all...this is MY happy place ;)

OH one last thing I forgot to mention in the previous review as well as this one...THE BEACH! Wonderful area to swim with sand and if you are lucky the ducks will swim with you ;)

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookoutPointCamp, Owner at Lookout Point Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2016

It was great having you back Christine. Thanks so much for the wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

This was my dad and I's first trip to Lookout Point Camp and it definitely will not be our last (we've already booked our cabin again!) The owners were the ultimate hosts, very friendly and extremely helpful...they really made us feel at home (away from home.) We stayed in the Pikes Peak cabin and were blown away by how immaculately clean the cabin was. Everything we needed was provided...from every appliance, to fresh bedding and towels, to a grill on the huge wraparound deck. Our favorite part was that we could walk out of our cabin and straight down to the dock to use the boat that we had rented (the dock is literally in your front yard!) The boats are kept in great condition and were always gased-up and ready to go for us. The lake has amazing scenery and even better, the fishing was fantastic! A perfect place for the walleye or bass fisherman. We fished at least 10 hours a day...we couldn't get enough. I'll always remember this amazing trip with my dad. Thank you Vicki and Larry...you really went above and beyond as hosts...we'll be back!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank jhooverwalleye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookoutPointCamp, Owner at Lookout Point Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Thank you for the wonderful review Jackie. We were happy to have met you and your dad and we enjoyed your enthusiasm. Hope your fish made it home alright? Until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Our group has been visiting Northern Ontario on fishing trips for 36 years. We have stayed at many, many camps and resorts. Lookout Point Camp is by far the best. We gave it a rating of 10 out of 10.
Vicki and Larry are the best resort operators in the north. Friendly, accommodating and dependable. Their camp is well maintained. The cottages are clean, spacious and well equipped. The boats and motors are in top running condition. Both Vicki and Larry will go the extra mile to make sure your vacation is memorable and enjoyable. We enjoyed having a morning coffee looking out at the lake and contemplating where we might go fishing.
Heading up north this summer? Try Lookout Point Camp. You will not be disappointed.
Dan C.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookoutPointCamp, Owner at Lookout Point Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

From the minute we met your cheery group we knew it would be a good week. You make our job easy and enjoyable. Thanks for the positive feedback Dan. We look forward to seeing you all again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016

If you have in mind Gowganda Lake you must stay at the Lookout Point Camp.
Vicky and Larry are hard workers trying to keep their camp at high standards. They’ll tip you where to go fishing, they’ll clean the fish for you and they’ll do everything to make your vacation memorable.

Stayed: July 2015
Thank callatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookoutPointCamp, Owner at Lookout Point Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews