We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay at Lookout Point Camp, NOT the Last!!!”
Review of Lookout Point Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gowganda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lookout Point Camp
Reviewed 10 October 2016

My hunting buddie Brad and I just came back from our first visit to Lookout Point Camp and we were extremely impressed. We were there for Grouse hunting, although we weren't as successful as last year, we throughly enjoyed ourselves.
Vicki and Larry are extremely nice people, very friendly, accommodating, meticulous, detail oriented. Brad and I were welcomed when we arrived and our cabin, Bass Abode was in mint condition, extremely clean, organized, well appointed and well stocked with all the essentials necessary for an enjoyable relaxing stay.
Vicki and Larry were very accommodating, example: Since it was a very dull rainy cool day, we wanted to watch some Sunday NFL but there was a planned hydro outage in the afternoon. No problem, Larry delivered a generator to our cabin and we were in business, now that's going the extra mile for your guests.
Brad and I commented many times to each other how comfortable and cozy our cabin was, you could live there!!!
All the other cabins are also meticulously maintained as well, with attention to every little detail.
Larry was very helpful with suggestions where to try and find the birds, we had some success. He was always in motion, cleaning or maintaining the grounds and cabins. You can tell by the neat and well organized grounds that Vicki and Larry really care about their property and making a good first impression. There is no junk laying around, all the boats are neatly put away, firewood pile neatly stacked, equipment stored, you can easily see the care and compassion Vicki and Larry exude in everything they own.
I could write a book on LPC and Vicki and Larry, but in short.........You owe yourself a trip to LPC and enjoy everything about.
It's FABULOUS!!!!! Brad and I have booked for next year and hopefully for many years to come!!!

Room Tip: All the cabins are lakefront with screened in porches to be able to enjoy the outdoors without the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookoutPointCamp, Owner at Lookout Point Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

That's an amazing review Paul - thanks so much. Larry and I were happy to have met you and Brad, and we look forward to seeing you again next year. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

If you want awesome relaxation in a comfortable clean cabin, this is the place to be. With an awesome lake view, awesome fishing and great hospitality it can't get any better then this !! As you can see from the fish, 7.5lb, 7lb, 6.6 lb small mouth bass!! 24" walleye x 4 and a fee 40" pike!! Gotta love this place!! Oh yeah, Vicky and Larry are awesome!! It's like it is our own retreat !! See you next year for sure
Malcolm and Curtis

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookoutPointCamp, Owner at Lookout Point Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

We love your enthusiasm. Thanks guys - see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Second year at Lookout Point Camp and it was another week of rest and relaxation in fabulous accommodations. Talk about a room with a view! We were warmly welcomed as soon as we stepped out of the truck !

We rented Bass Abode once again. The cottage was immaculate when we arrived...thank you Vicki! Space offers two bedrooms with a spacious full bath, living room, diningroom and full kitchen. The cottage offers plenty of room to spread out and with four people we never felt crowded.

The most beautiful part of this cottage in my view is the screen porch allowing you to sit outside even when the mosquitos come out. The screen porch provides a table and chairs with ample space for coolers and gear. During the day there is plenty of room to relax and suntan on the outer deck which offers a nice bbq chairs and a small table.

The boat was in great shape and always gassed up ready to go...thank you Larry!

Fishing was good...those pickeral make you work for it though...probably why it's called 'fishing' not 'catching'.

Larry and Vicki are terrific hosts. They take care of their property and take pride in making sure your vacation is wonderful. Although they are doing things around the camp, they were never intrusive and when you did see them they were friendly and engaging.

Although there are other cottages we rarely heard anyone else ...we probably were the noisiest with our music and games on the porch but nothing out of hand or rowdy.

We look forward to returning next year...We have stayed in other places but we will reurn to Lookout Point again and again. The title of the review says it all...this is MY happy place ;)

OH one last thing I forgot to mention in the previous review as well as this one...THE BEACH! Wonderful area to swim with sand and if you are lucky the ducks will swim with you ;)

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookoutPointCamp, Owner at Lookout Point Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2016

It was great having you back Christine. Thanks so much for the wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

This was my dad and I's first trip to Lookout Point Camp and it definitely will not be our last (we've already booked our cabin again!) The owners were the ultimate hosts, very friendly and extremely helpful...they really made us feel at home (away from home.) We stayed in the Pikes Peak cabin and were blown away by how immaculately clean the cabin was. Everything we needed was provided...from every appliance, to fresh bedding and towels, to a grill on the huge wraparound deck. Our favorite part was that we could walk out of our cabin and straight down to the dock to use the boat that we had rented (the dock is literally in your front yard!) The boats are kept in great condition and were always gased-up and ready to go for us. The lake has amazing scenery and even better, the fishing was fantastic! A perfect place for the walleye or bass fisherman. We fished at least 10 hours a day...we couldn't get enough. I'll always remember this amazing trip with my dad. Thank you Vicki and Larry...you really went above and beyond as hosts...we'll be back!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank jhooverwalleye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookoutPointCamp, Owner at Lookout Point Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Thank you for the wonderful review Jackie. We were happy to have met you and your dad and we enjoyed your enthusiasm. Hope your fish made it home alright? Until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Our group has been visiting Northern Ontario on fishing trips for 36 years. We have stayed at many, many camps and resorts. Lookout Point Camp is by far the best. We gave it a rating of 10 out of 10.
Vicki and Larry are the best resort operators in the north. Friendly, accommodating and dependable. Their camp is well maintained. The cottages are clean, spacious and well equipped. The boats and motors are in top running condition. Both Vicki and Larry will go the extra mile to make sure your vacation is memorable and enjoyable. We enjoyed having a morning coffee looking out at the lake and contemplating where we might go fishing.
Heading up north this summer? Try Lookout Point Camp. You will not be disappointed.
Dan C.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookoutPointCamp, Owner at Lookout Point Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

From the minute we met your cheery group we knew it would be a good week. You make our job easy and enjoyable. Thanks for the positive feedback Dan. We look forward to seeing you all again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lookout Point Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Point Camp

Address: 1 Auld Reekie Road, Gowganda, Ontario P0J 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Gowganda
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Gowganda
Price Range: $127 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, pine constructed lakefront cabins. Cozy, comfortable, and immaculately maintained. We have adopted a 'guest for life' approach, so our guests really do come first! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing