We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable in a negative way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Karon Cliff Contemporary Boutique Bungalows
Ranked #89 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Karon
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The location and view was great but that's about it.

1. The rooms that was assigned to us didn't have water flowing in the shower. We approached the staff but they don't speak English and they couldn't fix it.
2. They finally moved us to a different room (an upgrade they said) but this room had a moldy smell to start with, the lights were all busted (they replaced it but not a word of apology, the staff seems to just find it funny that the guests complained.
3. they say few minutes to the beach? pfffft! you have to walk down a steep stairway, and end up in the rocky side of the beach which is inaccessible on high tide.

We booked from 27 to 30th but only stayed 1 night and decided to move out and book a different hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norina14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

My family & I paid so little that we were okay with the place. It's not the Ritz but it will do if you plan to do a lot of activities away from the room. Breakfast is free so that's a plus & it's not continental either. We found the staff to be very friendly & accommodating. Our rooms were right on the cliff & our view was spectacular. A short walk down the stairs & you're at the beach. The restaurant down by the beach is also very good & inexpensive. We stayed for three weeks. The bed was old & hard and the bathroom was old with lukewarm water only but like the title, you get what you paid for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Toula Moua E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

After over 24 hours of travel,arriving at this hotel was a horrendous experience. After dragging 2 20kg suitcases down very steep dangerous steps we were greeted by extremely unhelpful staff that didn't even appear sure that we were at the correct hotel even though we had given them our booking confirmation.We had booked and payed for 20 nights bed & breakfast yet they told us breakfast was provided at extra cost and demanded extra money for a security deposit. We were made to wait almost half an hour whilst they prepared the room. The room itself was the worst hotel room i have ever seen! The bedding was ripped and stained beyond belief, there were ants crawling in and around the bed, mosquitos and cockroaches everywhere. There was no wardrobe just a metal rail. The lamps didn't work and the air conditioning unit seemed to be broken too. The security box they provided in the room was also broken and they didn't seem interested in trying to fix it so we had nowhere safe to leave our 3 weeks spending money. Despite providing a kettle & hairdryer there were absolutely no power points in the room, the cables from the tv and fridge just led to a hole in the wall. The bathroom was disgusting, the shower floor had an open drain and wasn't sealed, was just finished off with gravel from outside!! After spending 10mins in the room and not daring to open my suitcase for fear of what might crawl in it, i broke down in tears. Having travelled so far to get to your destination and be so disappointed was overwhelming. We couldn't spend one night there! My partner went to complain and there was no suprise from them as it obviously happens a lot. There was no offer of another room or any appology only a repeat of "no refund" but at that point we didn't care. As a final insult they charged approx £1.60 for a can of warm sprite from the "mini bar".Having stayed in Phuket before a few times i have never seen such a low standard of hotel. Avoid!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The location of this hotel is outstanding. Our room was 3 minutes walk from the beach and the view from our balcony was exceptional. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, even putting me to bed when I was found passed out through excess alcohol consumption. Breakfast was simple but fresh and delicious while the steaks they serve in the evening were fantastic.I stayed in a number of places in the islands of Thailand and this was by far the best value for money. I will definitely come back.

Room Tip: The rooms with the balconies with the view are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Transferred here from a very nice three+ star hotel in Ao Nang. The first room we were given smelled of damp and urine and the bed linen was old and stained, the bathroom was not clean(the shower curtain was covered in mildew)and the shower was in a state.
We asked for a clean room which did not smell and we were given the room next door.
The new room was not much better although the cupboard did have doors and there was no smell.
Realizing it was not going to get any better we immediately booked a new hotel, but we had to stay one night a Karon Cliff.
This Hotel has obviously had no investment in its upkeep since it was built in 2008 and they seem to have a problem getting staff since they had vacancies for all positions(Reception, cook, maid, hostess and waiter)
The outside of the hotel was also in a state of disrepair and was very untidy.
To be honest I could go on and on about how bad it is and to be honest the photographs of this hotels rooms on various sites are a gross misrepresentation and should be illegal!
I spoke to the owner(who said he was Danish) when we checked out and he didn't seem to care about my comments, the only thing he said was that the 7 days we had paid for was non-refundable..therefore he is making money no matter what!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.6 km away
Secret Cliff Resort
Secret Cliff Resort
#108 of 136 in Karon
609 reviews
3 km away
Karon View Resort
Karon View Resort
#128 of 136 in Karon
52 reviews
4.6 km away
Kata Silver Sand Hotel
Kata Silver Sand Hotel
#92 of 136 in Karon
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Print Kamala Resort
Print Kamala Resort
#24 of 35 in Kamala
131 reviews
0.1 km away
Baan Karon Hill Phuket
Baan Karon Hill Phuket
#132 of 156 in Karon
56 reviews
1.4 km away
Anda Beachside Hotel
Anda Beachside Hotel
#10 of 11 in Karon Beach
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karon Cliff Contemporary Boutique Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karon Cliff Contemporary Boutique Bungalows

Address: 691/1 Patak Road., Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Karon
Price Range: $38 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Karon Cliff Contemporary Boutique Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karon Cliff Contemporary Boutique Bungalow Resort has your total comfort and relaxation in mind in every moment you spend with us. We can assure you of an unforgettable experience for your tropical holiday vacation where the sounds of the surf are everywhere.Relax while overlooking Karon Beach and the Andaman Sea, and experience tropical sunsets movies are made from. Our balcony restaurant serves the most delicious fresh seafood, Thai food and international dishes and our pub is a perfect place for a tropical cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Karon Cliff Contemporary Boutique Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Cliff Contemporary Boutique Bungalows Hotel Karon
Karon Cliff Contemporary Boutique Bungalows Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing