We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Villas Phuket
Ranked #31 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved our stay!!!”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here over Christams and New Year and had the best time. Fantastic location and views (which make the resort) and lovely pleasant staff. Yes the resort is hilly but I knew this before I came as I researched the resort first, it also adds to the ambience of the place. Two lovely pools not massive but it was busy and full while we were there and we still had no trouble getting sunbeds and towells.
Breakfast choice was excellent and fresh, the coffee from the machine was better than the jugs though. My husband loved the omellettes and egg station, best out of the three hotels we stayed in.
Food in the restaurant was really good, not the cheapest but not that expensive without tuk tuks and very well presented. Service and staf again excellent. New Years Eve was fantastic, spread was out of this world for choice and quality, lovely tasteful entertainment (unlike previous year/reviews). We also pre ordered our wine and got free bottle of Moet at 11.45pm for New Year. Effort from all staff couldn't be faulted.
The walk down to the beach is short and easy, and the beach is quiet and clean but busy further down. Kais restaurant and staff was cheap and food good. After visiting several times for lunch got free sunbeds in the afternoon. Joa was lovely and knew more about English football than you would believe, results, positions in league etc even about my husband's team "Middlesbrough".
Didn't use Spa at hotel but had fantastic massages at salon in Karon near "Red Onion" (which we didn't visit unfortunately) Ladies had pink t shirts on.
We walked up to Kata which was nice, both Kata and Karon are very busy and commercial but we then went back to our lovely secluded villa. We were also upgraded free of charge to a spa Villa after a few days, the staff are so eager to please. We would definately return here if we visited Phuket again. The location to tour island was really good and we did visit some much nicer beaches further up but they were much less accessable.
All in all you will not be dissappointed at Centara Villas, it is not a brand new 5* hotel but an established resort that is a haven amongst the more commercial areas of Patong and Karon.
Bangla Road in Patong is defiantely worth a visit if only to people watch, and shopping there is good but that is about it. The free shuttles from the hotel are good, we used them several times and making our own way back was not a problem. We considered hiring mopeds but after seeing several accidents decided against it and settled on tuk tuks.

Room Tip: Ask for private balcony as some were very over looked
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herringfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    357
    119
    50
    27
See reviews for
109
707
32
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Arrived at centara villas absolutely knakard, we could barley even talk or think straight, The Staff at reception sorted us out straight away, took our bags ,Sat us down , gave us nice cold drinks cold towels etc... Quick check in and straight in the room , One of the guys demonstrated a few things in the rooms , where things were and stuff. We were quite demanding and were ringing up quite a bit during the stay and asking questions but they were spot on and really happy and cheerful to answer and sort anything.


The location is beautiful , The grounds are lovely , Has everything you need.

At the end of the day this is pure paradise. I cant see how it can get any better. Thanks centara

Nice staff , Great food , Lovely clean rooms , Really professional all round

Room Tip: Any room and you'll be gobsmacked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nobody71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We just returned from Phuket and we stayed at Centara Villas near Karon Beach. We selected this hotel based on tripAdvisor reviews, price and availability (it was peak season). We were in for a surprise (of negative kind). We were very disappointed with our choice. Here are the reasons:

1. Location:
The resort is located on a hill between Patong and Karon. It is not walkable distance to either of the beaches. There are no restaurants or shops near by. You need to hire a taxi to go anywhere. The resort provides a shuttle 3 times a day to Patong and Karon beaches. But it is a ONE WAY shuttle (why would they run an empty shuttle back instead of picking up guests is beyond me). As you may know, the taxis in Phuket cost about 3 times as much as anywhere else in Thailand. So a trip for Lunch and/or dinner would cost you about 300-400 Bath extra. There is a path going to Karon beach which is about 15 minutes walk. It will lead you to the northern most end of the beach and it is another 15-20 minutes walk to the center of Karon town (where most restaurants are).

2. Resort Layout:
This is not a resort where you can take a leisurely stroll in the gardens. While the landscape is beautiful, the walkways, stairs and paths are steep (and I mean STEEP). The resort provides a golf cart service to go up/down from the lobby to your room. The pool is nice but again you need to be prepared to take a long walk. If you have any kind of knee or walking issues, go stay somewhere else.

3. Rooms:
The rooms are quite small for a resort that charges so much. We had requested an extra bed for my son. They gave us a room with 2 single beds and added a cot for my son. When we entered the room, we found that the cot was blocking the door such that we could only open it a crack!! We had to re-arrange some furniture to accommodate the cot and have some space to walk around.
Our room had a nice view of the Karon beach and Andaman Sea. As it was facing west, it tended to get very hot in the afternoons.
The room has A/C but the controller in our room was broken (it made the room very cold). They fixed it after 1 day. The bathroom is nice and it is not air-conditioned as it is partially open to outside. It was stuffy and hot even in December. I can't imaging what it would be like in summer.
The housekeeping was hit-or-miss. On the first 2 days, they just did some cursory cleaning, didn't change the bedsheet or towels and just kind of re-folded them. After we complained, they send someone to really do the cleaning.

4. Reception:
The reception was awful. It took them over 45 minutes before we were shown to our room and this was at a time when there were no other guests waiting. The persons at reception don't speak good english and it was a struggle to make them understand what we needed. They were also not helpful in suggesting any places to eat or help with phone numbers etc.
For a resort that hosts international clientele, they don't have a Concierge! This is a big no-no in my book. A concierge is invaluable when you are visiting a new place. The receptionists don't give any info so you are left on your own.

5. Food:
On the day we arrive, it was evening and we couldn't get any help in finding a restaurants. So we decided to order from room service. Kids wanted pizza but they has run out of pizza at 7 pm! We finally ordered some pannini and pasta. It was just OK food but the price was not (cost about $100). We never ordered room service after that.
The breakfast was fine. They had usual stuff like fruit, cereal, bread and omette station. There were not too many veggie options so we asked them to make some curry for us. They were accommodating but the curry was either too bland or too spicy.

6. Misc:
They have no wi-fi! We stayed in other places in Bangkok and Chiang-Mai and they all had wireless. The internet is not free. We paid 500 Baht for 3 days of service. You need to plug in your laptop into the ethernet socket provided near the bed as there is no wifi (except in lobby area).
The staff doesn't speak much english and it was a bit of a struggle calling them on the phone to ask for something.

Overall, a very disappointing stay. We would have been much better off staying in Karon proper or in Kata (even if it didn't have the "VIEW").

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vimalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evasion53, General Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear Guests from Fremont (California),

Thank you for sharing the experience you had at Centara Villas Phuket.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the service and your comments have been passed to the concerned departments. However, we would like to point out the following:

• Check-in took longer because there was a discrepancy in regards to your reservation. You had booked for two adults and two children, but your daughters turned out to be also adults. Obviously, this had to be sorted out.
• You insisted on staying the four of you in one room. We do not normally accept more than three adults per room but we made an exception for you. No wonder you found the room a bit tight.
• As a small intimate property, we confirm there is no concierge service. Our multi-tasking guest service agents are here to attend to all guest requests. We regret you didn’t find them helpful or informative, but your observation has been passed to our Front Office Manager .
• Karon beach is accessible in no more than five minutes from the pool area
• If you intended to be in the hustle and bustle of Patong or Karon, our resort might not have been the right choice.

On a more positive note, we are glad you found the landscaping… and the view beautiful.

We trust that you will not judge us on this one experience and hope to welcome you back to Centara Villas Phuket, Phuket’s greenest retreat in the future.

Centara Villas Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights in february 2010 in a Deluxe Villa.
Rooms were unique as on stilts & had large balconies.Grounds are vast,with quite steep incline up to the lobby/bar & restaurant.There are little golf buggies that run around the resort if you have trouble walking.
The pool areas were lovely,we especially liked the top pool very tranquil.We used the spa a couple of times & had a couples massage,very nice.
I liked sitting on the sunloungers on the grass in front of the villas overlooking the sea.
We ate in the hotel restaurant twice,which was very nice & good value.
Staff wise,we had a very bolshie lady check us in(wish I could remember her name) unusual as Thai people are usually very friendly.We also found the reception staff quite distant if you ever needed any information,it might have just been a language thing.
We walked into Karon along the beach,a nice walk during the day.Gate closed at night.We also befriended one of the Centara drivers who took us into town a few times.He ended up driving us to our next hotel Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi(see my review)
Overall stay ok,but not one of our best.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evasion53, General Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Centara Villas Phuket, Phuket’s greenest retreat!

Thank you very much for sharing the experience you had at Centara Villas Phuket two years ago.

It is with concern we read your comment in regards to the service provided by one of our guest service agent at the time. We train and remind all our team members to be helpful and courteous and we regret we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

On a more positive note, we were pleased to learn that you enjoyed every other aspect of your stay with us. We do therefore hope that you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience.

You might also be interested to know that since your last visit in February 2010 all the villas have been renovated and new enthusiastic team members have joined us.

We do hope you will choose to stay with us again and we are confident that your next stay will be pleasurable in every respect.

Sincerely,

Centara Villas Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I cannot say enough good things about the stunning Centara Villas resort. We booked for a week in December and arrived early and exhausted after our long flight. We were greeted by the most friendly, happy staff and 2 ice cold coconuts. Once we got to our room (the most basic available) we were so happy to see a clean, spacious villa with a beautiful big bathroom. The views over Karon bay are breathtaking from most of the hillside Villas. The restaurants serve lovely food with a smile and the staff bend over backwards for the guests. Breakfast has everything you could want, including fish curry and pasta carbonara should you wish to eat that for breakfast!! For the rest of us toast, eggs, cereal and fruit are fresh and available. Reception staff are so friendly and so lovely, we were sad to leave after 1 week. We actually were supposed to go to Phi Phi for a week and had pre-booked but once we got there we were so disappointed we called Centara Villas straight away and booked back in for another week. They even gave us the same room again! I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone going to Phuket that wants a quiet, luxury place to stay that's close enough to the nightlife of Patong.

Room Tip: We stayed in the most basic twin room and we couldn't find one thing to complain about even if w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S77CEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.4 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.9 km away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
1.0 km away
Pacific Club Resort
Pacific Club Resort
#1 of 5 in Karon Beach
1,458 reviews
3.4 km away
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Villas Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Villas Phuket

Property: Centara Villas Phuket
Address: 701 Patak Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Village)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#21 Spa Hotel in Karon
#24 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#28 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#32 Family Hotel in Karon
Price range (per night): $80 - $217
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Villas Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found where lush jungle meets serene sea, Centara Villas Phuket is a romantic hideaway almost lost within a luxurious natural tropical backdrop, yet still only steps away from the sweeping expanse of Phuket's Karon Beach. Each totally private Thai-style villa, nestled within its own screen of green, directly faces the sea from a dramatic inclined perch, ensuring that views are endless and the quiet all-pervading. Some of the villas even offer the choice of either a private pool or Jacuzzi. This unique tropical oasis boasts a complete array of facilities and services including a swimming pool, two restaurants, bars and a SPA Cenvaree, making this a romantic hideaway just made for couples or small groups. With its relaxed pace and warm welcomes, this is a place from which to escape from the every day and find serenity, relaxation and the inner tranquillity that only natural beauty can bring. And all of this is just one hour's drive away from Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Villas Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Hotel Phuket
Centara Resort Phuket
Centara Villas Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing