We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrong hotel !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Ranked #17 of 136 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We booked our trip 6 months ago. All of my communication via e-mail was addressed to Jim- the apparent reservations manager Centara Grand Beach resort.
Or so we thought !!
My subject heading never changed. A week before we left for our annual vacation my wife suggested we check that all was confirmed. Great idea. After a few e-mails and some phone calls we discovered that we had never booked at the Grand Centara . The website for Centara resorts was so confusing that even though our absolute intention was to book at the Grand Centara and my e-mails were directed to Jim @ reservations manager Centara Grand Resort it was never brought to my attention that the e-mail responses we received from Centara had
"ckr" quietly attached to the e-mail address .
Of course anyone would know that this stood for Centara Karon resort.
To top it all my credit card receipt was clearly from the Centara grand resort. I later established that they apparently use this as a central banking system.
We had no choice but to take our Centara Karon accomodation. The management of Centara group were un-sympathetic to say the least.
We tried to find other accomodation or to transfer to the Grand,this was not possible a the hotel was full.
Yeech ! The Centara Karon resort accomodation was like a 2 Star. Dated,old,noisy a/c etc...
Drunk guests shouting and beating each other up in the passage in the early hours. We called security afer about 15 minutes they arrived that just observed like watching a Muay Thai fight.
Our only saving grace was that we were only going to stay for 5 nights and our next stop was Club Med. Don't miss the Bamboo kitchen in Karon what a great restaurant we went for dinner 3 times in 5 days. lesson learnt.....check and double check !!! Oh by the way Supaporn at Centara Karon resort said that this kind of mistake happens quite frequently with travel agents and guests. It seems strange and sneaky that they can't make the booking system clear for us mere mortals.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Daryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,043 - 3,047 of 3,975 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

We had read the mixed reviews on the this particular hotel on Trip Advisor so my new wife and I arrived in the early hours of 02 Jan 2012 at Phuket Airport with a little trepidation.
We had been delayed by 3 hours at Bangkok so we were nervous that the pre booked hotel transfer would have left without us and that we would be looking for a taxi. To our relief, the Centara driver, Mr Lee was waiting for us with a clearly displayed card and a Toyota Avensis with air con, very chatty and very friendly, a great beginning to our honeymoon.
Check in was quick and easy, friendly receptionists and bell boys, supplied with a cooling juice drink and our cases efficiently dispatched to our room. Our luxury honeymoon suite with spa was not ready for us so we had a 2 day free upgrade to a Cabana Suite until we were able to settle into our planned room. Both suites were very good and better than we had expected.
We found the Cabana suite very comfortable, quiet and private, the bed had been decorated with love messages in flowers and after a long journey we found that our worries had been allayed.
We were looking forward to our honeymoon suite (room 1512) and we were not disappointed, nicely decorated, two balconies, one with a sea view over the town and the other view looking over the resort to the mountains. There was a decent shower and bathroom, large comfortable bed and a spa on the balcony. My only pick up was that the balcony railings were corroded and even though structurally sound, didn't look very nice. The room was well cleaned every day, two free bottles of water, good air conditioning and the bedding changed at least twice a week. No problems at all.
We had booked half board, the food was always very good with a great choice, the staff are a definite strength to this hotel, smartly dressed, friendly, happy, polite and always willing to help or sort out any problems. We developed a good relationship with them over the time there and they seem well looked after. they get 6 days holiday a month, even at high season and this definitely shows.
There are 3 pools, the lagoon pool is definitely aimed at families with children, water slide, natural shade from well planted trees etc. We used the tropical pool as it was generally quiet with a nice pool side bar and plenty of beds and shade.
The hotel Wi-Fi had good coverage and reasonably priced, (£10 for 7 days), the gym is clean and well set up, free weights and a good selection of treadmills, bikes and cross trainers and the staff are happy to let you get on with your personal fitness. There are also pool tables, ping pong and boles, which seemed to be well used and liked by families with children.
We used the Cenvaree spa twice, the "jet lag reliever" which was heavily discounted and the "fab afternoon" to use up our bonanza hotel credits. Both times were a joy, calming surroundings, relaxing music, bells, professional and attentive staff. They are more expensive than the street massage parlours which we also used. It all depends on what you want and how much you want to pay.
We felt no pressure to sign up to the hotel bonanza credit, but we did put on the £200 with the £100 free credit and this was more than enough for the three weeks that we were there. The drinks and food in the hotel are more expensive than outside but if you use the "happy hour" deals and bonanza credit then the drinks are very reasonable.
We did the day trips to Phi Phi, James Bond Island, Phuket city and night market, elephant safari and Phuket Fantasea. Our only tip is to shop around as the street tour providers all seem to use the same tour companies but prices do vary. We achieved 60% discount on the tours by just shopping around for an hour or two before committing to the one provider.
Wait until you arrive at Karon before changing your money to Baht, there are currency exchanges every 200 metres and are trustworthy and the best rate. Manchester airport currency exchange was offering 41 baht to the pound, Bangkok airport was 47 baht to the pound and Karon was over 48 baht to the pound.
Also take plenty of sun screen and mosquito repellent, the pharmacists and mini markets in Karon are selling decent high factor sun screen at £10 a bottle so stock up before you go.
The Tuk Tuks are plentiful and as long as you sort out the price before you leave then you will be okay. Patong is a must, just approach with an open mind. Karon beach is a nice beach, keep away from the centre as this area is closer to the town and more crowded but walk 2-300 metres north or south and it becomes much quieter. the sea is lovely, warm and clean.
Read the negative comments on here but take with a pinch of salt, some people want 5 star luxury at 3 star prices and will moan about anything. We loved it and we would definitely return. Thanks to all the staff at the Centara Karon resort for making a fantastic honeymoon. Brian and Michelle.

Room Tip: Luxury honeymoon suite with spa(room 1512) excellent,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank parrer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I loved this hotel. I had looked at The Grand which is on the hill & had a better star rating but I'm so glad I went with Centara Karon Beach Resort instead. The location was fantastic. Close to beach, chemist, shops, convienent stores & restaurants. Much more relaxed area than Patong.
I loved the water slides at the pool & so did my kid. All of the staff were friendly & helpful. Although I could have probably got better prices on the street, it was just too convienent to book tours and change money at the hotel.
The buffet breakfast was amazing & left us full until the afternoon. The restaurant by the pool offered tasty meals & great prices. The room service food was a bit lacking in quality & variety though.
The rooms were tidy & roomy enough that we were comfortable enough for our 8 nights. The house cleaning were sometimes a bit incovienent though & we found ourselves having to leave in the morning in a hurry or having a nap interrupted.
When we do come back to Phuket, I will definately choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Missy144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We were saty for a week with my family on September,It was a Fantastic area with friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ocean viwe with privet pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peiman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We just got back from this resort (yesterday) having stayed from the 29th December to the 14th January, before booking this resort you need to think what you want from your holiday as this hotel in right in the middel of the sex area, So wifes beware that your husband WILL be approached for sex with you on his arm and with out you in fact we where approached as a couple loads of times sex is cheap as a packet of cigs, every bar and restaurant has working girls in it, this place is really for very old men who are looking for young girls everywhere you look its old men and some young with girls, there is no clubs as such just bars and restaurants so young couples going for a holiday wont have the night time clubs they look for just bars where you are constantly bothered by working girls looking for drinks and a quick trip out the back room,so if you do go and when there your man says he is just popping down to the shop you know where he is going, the hotel is right in the middle of all this and you can not avoid it as you have to walk through it all to get out on the main drag, Karon is a sex market simple as that, the centara hotel is basic we stayed on the 7th floor honeymoon suite with a sea view , This room was very old not in the least romantic and we could not have the doors open at night due to the really load noise coming from the bars downstairs where live rockband and working girls made as much noise as possible until 4am every morning and I mean every morning, the bath tub on our balcony looked good in the photos but could not really be used due to everyone looking down on you from above where they had a viewing platform,We paid in for the 10,000 bonanza offer which looks like a good offer but the prices in the hotel are so expensive ie £3 for a small bottle of water £6 for a cocktail that it was a waist of time and money, the canbanors are not really a option as we spoke to many gust staying in them and the plung pool is non more than a pool that you can only lay in as its so small and worst of all no sun gets in to these room and they looked very dark and dingy the worst problem was the bits people got staying in them as its full of plants and trees which are full of mozzies,
to sum up this hotel and Karon resort is not for young couple or married couples but for old men who want a very young girl for a very cheap price, you will have to suffer listening to your neighbours having sex as the walls are so so thin all in all a very bad holiday ,if you intend to go to Thailand go to karibe district as this is more up market and not a sex resort, as for this so called great restaurant the red onion this was the worst food we had on this holiday it is cheap as hell and reflects that £6 for both of us with drinks against £200 a few doors along in the bamboo which was great food the people who rant on about the red onion are on a budget as you would not chose to go to this restaurant its basic like a cafe with terrible service and as I said really bad quality food, why pay all that money to go all the way to thailand and then pay for budget crap food it dont make sense, this was our 3rd time and by far the worst holiday,
And I challenge any one to tell me I am wrong as I have so so many pictures of all I have said, do not go to this hotel or resort it is sleazy simple as that,

Room Tip: do Not pay for a upgrade as they expect it from you, all rooms have there disadvantages do not pay f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Dangonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.1 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.6 km away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 10 in Karon Beach
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,174 reviews
0.4 km away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
1.2 km away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#10 Spa Hotel in Karon
#15 Family Hotel in Karon
#15 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $76 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Karon Town, with an abundance of eateries and entertainment options at its doorstep and Karon Beach a short stroll away, the resort is perfectly located to experience the many facets of Phuket. As a destination in its own right, Centara Karon Resort Phuket fulfils every holiday aspiration, from pure bliss at Spa Cenvaree to active holidays and family fun with activities galore, yoga sessions, three swimming pools, waterslides and a kids’ club. This four-star resort, laid out within beautiful gardens backed by green hills, is comprised of four very distinctive residential zones. Couples and small families will find the rooms and Honeymoon Suites at the Terraces a comfortable retreat, and enjoy the option of ocean view or a private outdoor Jacuzzi; while families and groups of friends are spoilt for choice with spacious guestrooms set moments away from the waterslide and games of the Lagoon pool. The generously-sized one- and two-bedroom Cabanas feature a private terrace with a plunge Jacuzzi. As a fun place for families, the resort has a kids’ club with daily activities and three expansive swimming pool areas complete with three children’s pools for the younger ones to splash in, two waterslides and pool games. Pool parties are held regularly, and other activities include tennis and football. The resort also has two restaurants, a sports bar, and three swim-up pool bars A scheduled shuttle service takes guests from the resort to Patong, and Phuket International Airport is reached in less than one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing