We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort in a fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Ranked #16 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2012

A great 12 night holiday last July has prompted another visit this year. We had an awesome stay and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. From the welcoming reception ladies, bar staff and housemaids we found everyone to be very friendly and willing to help.
Although we opted for the cost-saving Terrace accommodation the room certainly suited us and we had a nice sea view from our little balcony. The only comment I would make is that the aircon did not appear to keep the room at the desired temperature (but as my last trips to Thailand many years ago were to simple beach bungalows without even own bathrooms, aircon was not at the top of my list!).
Breakfast had many options which changed daily, we ate many times at the delightful swim-up bar and also had room service following jetlag and some very busy days of sightseeing. We were surprised at the final bill as it was far less than we had expected.
There are so many places to eat in the local area, the night market by the temple was great for some bargain shopping and street food and we took the free shuttle into Patong several times, this was a great service. Also, the local bus will get you down to Kata Beach or into Phuket Town and stops just a few metres from the hotel.
A special mention to the wonderfully happy man on the gate who greeted us every night when we came back to the hotel, he was just great.

I travelled with my teenage daughter, a great little traveller who has experienced many cultures but this was her first visit to Thailand and we picked just the right hotel and location for her initiation. We looked at many destinations for our next holiday but decided we couldn't do any better than coming back to Centara Karon Beach. See you in July - we can't wait.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Donna4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Sawasdee Donna4321,
Thanks for taking the time to recall your July 2011 stay with us. Great to see you are already planning your return trip! We look forward to welcoming you back and escaping the Auckland winter for a few weeks!
Regards
Darren Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,009 - 3,013 of 3,968 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

This was our first trip to Thailand. We were travelling with friends, another couple, who had been to Thailand 4 times before however we were all new to this resort. We arrived about 8pm ish local time and whilst check in was not busy it took some time. They sat us down in comfortable chairs, presented some paper work which we questioned because we both had the same room number. Then a very lovely friendly young staff member came over and said that we had been upgraded to a ????.. we said we'll we'd like to see it first. She said our booked deluxe rooms were all booked out but this was much better and would only cost us $$ extra. So we all went off to view the great offer. It was a large room with 2 bedrooms, one had a queen bed, the other 2 singles and a common lounge/kitchen area. We asked if the singles could be pushed together - answer no. So we said no. This was not good enough and not what we had booked. Then miraculously 2 deluxe rooms were available and we were taken to them!!! The whole process left a sour taste in my mouth. OK so we are in our room and its nice. Its spacious, the bathroom is good and finally we've arrived. The bed is really firm but we loved it the whole week. Next morning we see the resort pools etc. Its all there. 3 pools, one with 2 slides a great area for families, one seemingly for adults and another. All clean and inviting. A gym - has what you need. A spa - didn't go there but looked lovely. Two restaurants where b/fast is. B/fast was OK. Some changes each day in menu so we were happy enough with that. Criticsm about pools/staff was that people would go out very early and put towels on chairs but not necessarilary use them. One day I went up to the 'adult' pool. There were 5 people in the pool, 6 people sitting on pool lounges and another 17 lounges with towels on them.... but people no where to be seen?? We found this annoying and inconsiderate from other patrons. Also the staff were not prepared to do anthing about it. The location of the resort is great with many restaurants at your doorstep. An Irish pub at the front gate and a lovely beach 5 mins walk away. Markets are literally 2 min walk. We as 'newby's' were surprised at the language difficulties but managed. We had a nice time, and if you're going to Karon then I think this place is a good place to stay - just dont let them scam you into a different room than you have booked.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank happydayholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Sawasdee happydayholidays,
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Great to read so many wonderful comments. I am surprised and apologise for any mis-undertanding re your check in experience. Whilst we do offer discounted upgrades, if available upon check in, however we always honour all bookings at your confirmed rate. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind Regards
Darren Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We just returned from our trip yesterday, this hotel is fantastic. The buffet breakfast was spot on and truely amazing, so much variety of food to choose from. The staff were amazing, very friendly and helpful. This resort exceeded our expectations as we have stayed in 5 star resorts in Phuket before and never been this impressed. We are planning our next trip to Phuket and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank montysz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Sawasdee montysz,
Great review, thank you so much! I look forward to sharing your positive comments with the team. See you again soon,
Regards
Darren Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Where does one start, well at the begining I suppose. . . .

Arrival at Phuket was ok, flight was a bit long and drawn out but thats flights for you, transfer to the hotel took about an hour but with plenty of things to look at enroute the time went by quickly enough. On arrival we had the usual drink & cold towel which is always welcome, we checked in smoothly enough and were told our room wasn't ready but that we would be upgrade for the night to a tropical room ( fine by me ) The tropical rooms were on the far side of the resort complex a stroll through the gardens and were located in blocks of 2 floors but as I have a knee injury, stairs were too awkward as for the room its self , it looked out over the tropical pool which was nice but in all fairness the majority of the rooms do look out of one of the pools. Room was big enough with TV , aircon etc. Bathroom was ok, bit dated but perfectly functionable, we had a good nights sleep in the huge bed so no problems there either. The following morning we were asked if we wished to stay in the tropical room but due to the stairs and a lack of a life in this block we decided to move to the "tower".

The rooms in this bloack were the standard rooms and these too were perfectly fine, view of the pool one side and side street the other, a little noisey but normally quiet by midnight. As for the room it was large enough and bed equally as comfortable had no trouble sleeping. My only gripe was the interconnecting doors, when the guests were in the room next to us you could here everything and they had a very young child between the age on 10 - 14 months whose only methid of communication was banging his beaker on the tiled floor at 5.30 or screeching the two methods that I DONT respond well too but thats not the hotels fault.

Food in the hotel was ok, not fantastic but you can find something you'd like but breakfast did seem to get very busy but selection was good enough for anybody. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from within a few mins stroll and I think hubby and I ate at most of them and never had a problem. . . . the BBQ pork in the temple market was one of the tastiest things weve ever had so dont be afriad to try. . . . you'll be fine !!

Have been to Thailand before but this was our first time in Phuket and while we had a good time we prefere Samui, only personal preference nothing more.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lboyes2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Sawasdee l_boyes,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay. I am pleased you enoyed many aspects of your stay. I understand your frustration of the noisy toddler in the next room . We will look ways to improve our interconnecting door buffer. Thanks for providing readers with the BBQ Pork tip at the Temple Market! Im delighted you took the time to visit Phuket and understand your preference for Samui, both fantastic locations!
Safe Travels,
Darren Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights in February this year and found this hotel to be distinctly under-whelming. Upon arrival, check-in was efficient but slightly unfriendly. We were told that the upgraded room (on a higher floor) we had booked and paid for wouldn`t be available for 2 nights as the hotel was "busy" so we were put in another room on the ground floor. Since we arrived very late at night we were too exhausted to argue. The room itself was clean but the decor was a little shabbly in places - bathroom especially - so we were worried as the hotel told us this was a better grade of room than the one we would be transferring into. When we told our rep the next day, he got straight onto the hotel management and 3 days later they gave us a voucher for a free evening meal in the restaurant. We didn`t use the voucher - even the offer of free food wasn`t enough motivation for us to eat there at night. It would have been nice if the hotel gave us a credit to use when we wanted (lunchtime, maybe) or even to chose which of their restaurants to eat in, not be told. The room we were moved to was defintely much better than the one we were put in originally and we both agreed that if we had paid extra to be in the first room, we would definitely have complained!
The garden were lovely and the pools were a good size and clean. The biggest problem was the sunbeds were jammed around the pools and if you went down to the pool any later than 8.15am, all the sunbeds had towels on them. On one day the Manager came down and removed the towels from unoccupied beds, but the next day and every day after that the problem of towels on beds returned. Another major downside was that despite the fact there was specifically a childrens pool, most of the people with children went to the larger pools so you had screaming kids jumping in and out of the pool all day whihc was not relaxing at all.
Other reviewers have remarked on the drinks prices around the pool and we agree that to pay £2.20 for a can of Sprite is ridiculous for this hotel. If this was a luxurious 5* hotel then you may accept that price, but definitely not here. The cans of drink cost about 30p from the supermarker beside the hotel and we sneaked some of those in. They were ice cold from the supermarket too!
The hotel is well placed for access to the shops / bars / beach etc but all the bars near this hotel had loads of "working girls" in there so it isn`t very nice if you are hoping for a romantic drink with your other half. We ended up drinking at Sands Bar beside the Movenpick which was along the front and lovely.
The breakfasts were the same every morning and getting a cup of tea or coffee was "luck of the draw" whether or not any of the waitresses were near your table or not.
I would not stay at this hotel again and would say it should be considered a 3* at best.

Room Tip: Superior Ocean Rooms are higher up and less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDhappytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Sawasdee PDhappytravellers,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I am pleased there were some positive aspects to your stay however it was disappointing to read your negative comments. I apologize that your room type was not available upon arrival however occasionally when the resort is 100% full this may occur. I am delighted that your complaint did receive compensation for the inconvenience and that the complimentary meals offered and accepted by your ‘rep’ was seen as a reasonable. Perhaps highlighting your compensation preferences would assist all parties in gaining full resolution. I’m pleased you were upgraded to a room that met your expectations.
Our sunbeds are set around 3 large pools. There is plenty of space at all 3 pool and our Terrace pool is usually child free. Our Lagoon pool has a kids waterslide and kids pools and this will always attract children laughing and playing. Which pool to visit, the choice is yours!
The pool prices are reasonable. There is no cans of sprite for £2.20, they cost 99 baht and this price includes 17% government taxes and service charge.
Our resort is situated close to plenty of restaurants and bars, shops, souvenirs etc and bars with “working girls” are easily avoided by not entering their establishment.
Breakfast is varied and changes on a rotation schedule every morning, however some items do remain constant.
PDhappytravellers, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and hope you return to Phuket again soon.
Safe Travels,
Darren Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.1 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.6 km away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 10 in Karon Beach
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,170 reviews
0.4 km away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
1.2 km away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#9 Spa Hotel in Karon
#15 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#15 Family Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $71 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Karon Town, with an abundance of eateries and entertainment options at its doorstep and Karon Beach a short stroll away, the resort is perfectly located to experience the many facets of Phuket. As a destination in its own right, Centara Karon Resort Phuket fulfils every holiday aspiration, from pure bliss at Spa Cenvaree to active holidays and family fun with activities galore, yoga sessions, three swimming pools, waterslides and a kids’ club. This four-star resort, laid out within beautiful gardens backed by green hills, is comprised of four very distinctive residential zones. Couples and small families will find the rooms and Honeymoon Suites at the Terraces a comfortable retreat, and enjoy the option of ocean view or a private outdoor Jacuzzi; while families and groups of friends are spoilt for choice with spacious guestrooms set moments away from the waterslide and games of the Lagoon pool. The generously-sized one- and two-bedroom Cabanas feature a private terrace with a plunge Jacuzzi. As a fun place for families, the resort has a kids’ club with daily activities and three expansive swimming pool areas complete with three children’s pools for the younger ones to splash in, two waterslides and pool games. Pool parties are held regularly, and other activities include tennis and football. The resort also has two restaurants, a sports bar, and three swim-up pool bars A scheduled shuttle service takes guests from the resort to Patong, and Phuket International Airport is reached in less than one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing