We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice.... For a 4 star perhaps”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Phuket Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice.... For a 4 star perhaps”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Today the 10/3/2012 we departed the Westin Siray Bay...

I know what your thinking.... "it's the Westin" expectations are high, it is world renowned for being one of the best 5 star resorts.

My expectations were high also, unfortunately this leads to disappointment when the bar is set so high. 

The resort is beautiful, however overall it is a bit weathered and could do with some general TLC, I have to shave every day as my hair grows quickly, first day all "hotel supplied toiletries" were replaced however after the second night they picked and chose what they replaced... So no shaver...  Not what i expected from 5 star?
The service was okay... Language barrier was a little hard to get past and  some fluent English speaking staff would have made our stay more enjoyable.
On the second day of our stay we went on a cooking course which finished at 3:00pm and we got back to the hotel room at 4:00pm... The room was not made up? So I called reception, they apologized and sent someone straight away to clean the room... On this visit they accidentally left dirty linen in our room.

The overall experience was average and definitely did not meet our expectations of the Westin... Not bad to stay at, however if you have high expectations like me , make no mistake, you will be disappointed.

The mini bar was not replenished at all during our visit, the outside balcony was not cleaned at all during our visit, the toiletries were scarce, and unfortunately just before we left the room to check out, there was a cockroach walking across the floor. The buffet breakfast was okay, but nothing to rave about and also quite bland.

There was a nice restaurant 500 meters down the road which was absolutely delicious, can't remember what it was called but I highly recommend this for Thai food, it was really good and so much cheaper than the hotel. And... They send a car to pick you up from reception of the Westin complimentary... Highly recommend eating here... It was awesome.

Rich n Sal

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richonsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Richonsai,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and in your case we fell short of your expectations. Rest assured your feedback will be passed onto the relevant team members. Thank you again for your comments.

All the best,
Sean Raine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    906
    640
    263
    88
    55
See reviews for
470
839
91
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The resort is located 20mins away from Phuket town, so it is really quite secluded. Do not expect the usual line of retail shops or restaurants all lined up outside the resort like the ones along Patong beach. However the resort provides shuttle service to Phuket town for guests who want to do shopping. Location is quite good - it is just 15 mins away from the premium outlet shopping and the main shopping mall, and also 15 mins away from the Royal Marina for those yacht charters for island-hopping trips.

The resort is built on a hill so that every room gets a gorgeous view of the sea, but this would also mean lots of walking and climbing the hill to get to your rooms. My room had a private patio and a pool. it was also easy to get a buggy when needed to from the room to the mall breakfast area. Tip: Ask for the corner rooms so that you have an additional patio with 2 deck chairs. I stayed in room 211 which had a gorgeous view too overseeing the whole resort.

I was there for business but will definitely be back with my partner on our next trip to Phuket.

Room Tip: Corner rooms come with a patio with deck chairs in addition to the private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuffinEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear MuffinEats,

Thank you for sharing your experience and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Sean Raine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

In rereading the reviews now, the majority are correct.

Prior to booking our trip to Phuket, my wife and I spent days undertaking diligent research in trying to find the right hotel for our stay. We had agreed that we wanted a hotel that would be nice but also could serve as a good "base" for excursions and day trips since there is SO much to do in Phuket. Given the location of the Westin on the southeast side of the island, we thought it would be close to everything - wrong!

We learned that the best area (for any reason) is Kata Beach. I wish we stayed in a hotel there. If you are a traveler not planning to take any day trips, Kata beach is a great, lively area with restaurants, bars, shops and nightlife. Also the beach is nice and there are restaurants along the water (we had an amazing dinner for only $15!).

Meanwhile, the Westin is VERY secluded. Other travelers noted this but it is not stressed enough. A taxi to town was 1 hour at night and completely turned us off from going to a nice dinner one night. On another night, while at Kata Beach, we approached several taxi's to take us to the Westin but NONE of them ever heard of the hotel!!! It is so new and so far away that you will have trouble finding the hotel. That experience was so stressful and our driver got lost...the last thing you need on a vacation is worrying every night whether you will make it home and running around around trying to figure it out. The Westin is also far from the ports and marinas so we still had an hour to go for boats and ferries. It is far from the Elephant trek. It is far from the golden Buddha so we needed up missing it. It is far from Patong so we couldn't get that experience either.

PS - if you want a beach this is not the place. At low tide, the water goes out and there is NO beach - just mud. Seriously.

Trust me - stay in Kata Beach. There are plenty of options there and you will be glad you did.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view and try to be as close to the main complex is possible. If your room is in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_and_Lauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear David_and_Lauren,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. The resort is located 10 minutes from Phuket town and unfortunately the resort has no control over the local public taxi's, and we hope your negative experience with them has not soured your view of Phuket as a relaxing beach destination. We provide guests with a card containing a map, hotel telephone number both in Thai and English to give our guests peace of mind. Phuket has a multiple piers and depending on the tour company you choose, the destination and type of activity will depend on which pier you depart from.

All the best,
Sean Raine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Beautiful! But, be prepared to climb. A lot. We opted for the room with pool access, glad we did. It's a long walk to pretty much anywhere in the resort all the rooms are up on a hill, so it was nice that we can "jump" into our very own pool to cool off and not have to walk/climb/crawl in 90 degree heat to one of their 3 pools. Rooms are a little dated and could use an upgrade, but, comfortable nonetheless.
First night did not go too well. We arrived late and were looking for a place to eat, we were told the only place open is their Italian restaurant Prego. Wine menu was horrendous, they did not have any of the wines we chose from their menu, the waiter was completely clueless about what they had and did not have and had to keep going back to check. We ended up with a very bad bottle of white house wine for $60. Ordered a clam and mussels dish and it arrived with only 5 mussels on the plate ( $45 dish ) after asking where the rest of it was, we were told "oh sorry we ran out of clams".
Breakfast buffet was huge and that was impressive.
Keep in mind that this resort on the other side of the Phuket Island. The busy party side is 45 minutes away by car. It’s a very quiet middle of nowhere kind of place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ByAirByLandBySea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear ByAirByLandBySea,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and on your first night we clearly fell short of your expectations. Your comments have been passed onto the team to ensure appropriate training in Prego. We are pleased you enjoyed your rooms and breakfast buffet.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Sean Raine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Have just returned from one of the most relaxing holidays we have had. There is so much that I could write here, but I will try to keep to the main points:

- Transfer from airport to hotel was fine, no issues, prompt, clean service (we then met a local taxi driver who we had the concierge call each time we wanted to go somewhere and he always came to get us, drove us to our location and then picked us up).

- Yes, the resort is a drive away from the main tourist part of Phuket, but who wants trash when you are surrounded by bliss? We did however take a taxi to the night markets in old phuket town (?) and that was wonderful to get amongst the locals.

- Yes, there are hills. Whilst I initially thought 'how hard can it be'... they are steep. Mix in humidity and sunshine and it can be a little challenging. If required, the buggy service is perfectly ok and we didn't have long to wait at all (we only took a buggy 4 times max). I would request a room close to reception if you find walking a challenge. I didn't quite realise how spread out the resort was, however this helped to make it feel non-crowded.

- The pools are simply divine, the pool bars fantastic with amazing cocktails and friendly service. The food in all restaurants was wonderful, particularly the enormous breakfast.

- There were a few previous reviews about the sea view not being good enough, strange comment. I find any view of the water immediately relaxing.

So, I highly recommend this resort for a relaxing time away. The hotel also has activities (the yoga was wonderful!!!) which help to get you out and about should you choose to. Otherwise, order a cocktail and enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dahee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Dahee,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are pleased you enjoyed your holiday especially the ocean views, pools, cocktails and service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Sean Raine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phuket Town
34.8 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
27.2 km away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
16.7 km away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
878 reviews
35.9 km away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
15.9 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket

Property: The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Address: 21/4 Moo 1,Rasada, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Phuket Town
#1 Luxury Hotel in Phuket Town
#3 Family Hotel in Phuket Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phuket Town
Price range (per night): $139 - $332
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Siray Bay Resort And Spa Phuket
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket Hotel Phuket Town
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing