We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Arenas(Punta Leona)
US$177
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Villa Caletas(Jaco District)
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$500
US$354
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort(Herradura)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Pumilio(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$274
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pochote Grande(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$208
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (960)
Filter reviews
960 results
Traveller rating
295
363
165
68
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
363
165
68
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite faced monkeyscosta ricaplaya blancasan joseselvamar roomsnight walkwhite sand beachthe grillscarlet macawsbutterfly gardenpura vidareception areabeautiful beachsuperior roomjaco beachrental carstar resort
Filter
Updating list...
399 - 404 of 960 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2012

My best friend and I booked an 8-night stay through Groupon, so we didn't really know what to expect. This place totally exceeded our expectations! The drive from the front gate to reception is quite beautiful - probably a 2-mile drive! It definitely makes you feel safe and secluded. We stayed in the Selvamar rooms, which were awesome! Not luxurious by any means, but they were single-story bungalows (for lack of a better word) with all the amenities could could possibly need! Our room was impeccably clean every day. We requested a balcony, which got plenty of use. The included breakfast was fresh, delicious, and filling. We also had an amazing time zip-lining, as the canopy guides were so fun! The grounds are beautiful and very well-kept. Both beaches are lovely, but Playa Blanca is definitely the more beautiful of the two. Luckily, we read reviews before coming and knew to rent a car. Do yourself a favor and do the same! We were able to easily get to Playa Blanca, but more importantly, explore areas outside of the resort, like Jaco and Playa Hermosa. Also, the staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. Aside from the bilingual receptionists and on-site guide, some staff members speak little to no English, but I had a lot of fun trying to put some of my high-school Spanish to use. Overall, we had a wonderful experience - especially for the price! Definitely recommend.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
6  Thank Lauren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Punta Leona, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you very much for your positive commentaries and we are very glad to know that you and your friend enjoyed your stay with. As you indicated we are not a luxury hotel but we are surrounded by a natural beauty that many other places do not have, especially Playa Blanca Beach which is one of the most beautiful beaches of the Central Pacific Coast. It was a pleasure to serve you and we hope that you can visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed at Hotel Punta Leona for 3 nights after checking out of the Lost Iguana. This place was packed with locals. There seems to be many activities for children. Kiddie pool and a playground. There were also planned activities for adults as well.

The rooms were clean and comfortable.

The best part of the place is the beautiful Playa Blanca. My friends and I layed out here all day. The water was warm and the beach was not crowded during our stay. There is a bar and a restuarant close by.

This place was very accomadating. Two people in our group left a bag containing their passports in the taxi we arrived in. Karla at reception spent over an hour helping us make phone calls to find that taxi driver. She was more helpful then the resort which arranged our transportation to hotel Punta Leona. Finally a manager upgraded our room at a discounted price so that our friends could stay while we located and waited for their bag to be returned.

The food at this hotel was horrible. My friends and I didn't enjoy anything we ate. We actually ended up buying cup of noodles from the supermarket and tons of snacks. The best meal I ate there was pizza on our last night.

Lastly when it rains heavily there is a chance the power will go out. We were without power for almost 3 hours one night of our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meliconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missddNorthCarolina, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Punta Leona, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

We thank you so much for taken the time to comment about our property and about the service that you received. We are glad to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. We will take into account your opinion in regards to the food since our goal is to be better every day. Playa Blanca is one of the most beautiful beaches in the Central Pacific of Costa Rica and our guests like it for being a white sand beach, clean and safe. I hope that we have the opportunity to take serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Large estate so be aware
No great choice of restaurants at night and so need to go to nearby Jako
Need to spend a few days to fully explore
Rooms fully equipped with helpful staff
Good laundry facilities but slightly expensive

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank rognaik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missddNorthCarolina, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Punta Leona, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Hotel & Club Punta Leona. We are a large resort where our guest will find all the amenities necessary to make their stay comfortable and entertaining. The natural beauty of our property and our friendly staff will make your vacation an unforgettable one. We hope that will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed 3 days at Hotel Punta Leona (Sat/Sun/Mon). We had a great time, but it's almost as if we were at 2 different places. Saturday night it was PACKED, mainly with locals (which is nice to be around locals vs. a bunch of tourists). We could hardly find a place to park, the bar was packed, and the beaches were quite crowded. Alas, we still had a great time.
Sunday night and Monday it was a ghost town. The restaurants, bar, pool, and beaches were TOTALLY empty (which was great for us!). We went to both Playa Mantas and Playa Blanca, but preferred Mantas since it had a "cove" like shape which made it better for swimming (less crashing waves).

We stayed in a Selvamar Superior Room (in the "Cuba" section), which was nice. The breakfast buffet was very delicious. The free Canopy Tour which came with our Groupon package was also a treat, as well - the guides were super great!

We traveled to nearby Jaco for dinner one night, which was very nice (a very short drive from Punta Leona).

A few minor cons: We signed up for a Canopy Tour, but we ended up sitting at the reception area for a half hour waiting for our ride (as they forgot to call for a pick up). Also even though they had our credit card on file, we weren't able to charge items at the bar and restaurant to our room for some reason, which became frustrating as we didn't always have sufficient cash on us. On Sunday, it was quite crowded and we couldn't get a beach or pool chair (but we had NO complaints on Monday!)

We are not really "resort people", and we ended up spending the rest of our Costa Rican adventure in small B&Bs and jungle villas, but this was the perfect place to start and unwind. We went here, Montezuma and Malpais, and Punta Leona definitely had the best beach we saw on our entire trip - especially on Monday when no one was there!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdventureKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missddNorthCarolina, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Punta Leona, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

It pleases us to know that you enjoyed you stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of the excellent offer that we had with Groupon. At the same time we want to apologize for any inconvenient you have had when not being able to make charges to your room, we will try to correct these types of situations so they will not be repeated in the future. Hotel & Club Punta Leona is a very concurred place specially on weekends because our clients love the resort and its proximity to San Jose and to the International Airport Juan Santamaria. We are a very extensive property and we try to offer our clients different options of entertainment among them the canopy that is an exciting adventure for all the family. As you describe it, we have two excellent beaches being Playa Blanca one of the most beautiful ones of the central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, in addition we are surrounded by natural beauty reasons why most of our clients go away very satisfied. We hoped you can visit it us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed in Panama 910 of the Selvamar rooms. Nice room with all the amenities you could need. Phone (with 15 minutes to US per day gratis), coffee pot, safe, AC, mini fridge, hairdryer. Everything was in working order. The grounds are huge so be aware when you book. Although a shuttle is available if you need it. It was about 1 mile to the beach from my room, and I loved the walk on beautiful paths. My favorite part of the grounds was the beautiful 400 year old Kapok tree I had to walk past to get to my room, it was magical and majestic and bigger than life. There was mini-golf, beaches, bars, pool, volleyball, etc. Dispite all the amenities and facilities, this was my least favorite place I stayed out of 6 lodges while traveling the country. Not that anything was wrong, it just didn't have any character, it could have been any resort on any beach. I found I much preferred the lodges with no amenities where sometimes the power went out, and there were horses right outside your room, and the howler monkeys woke you up.

Room Tip: Loved the room I had far away far away from the bustling bars/restaurants, beach & reception.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mn_isla_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missddNorthCarolina, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Punta Leona, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thanks you for your commentaries. Hotel & Club Punta Leona is a very extensive property where our clients can find a little bit of everything according to the taste of each person. Here not only they will be able to enjoy the beach, the sea and the abundant nature typical of Costa Rica but also they will enjoy our guided hiking tours, the butterfly garden, spa and the canopy in addition to all the facilities necessary to spend a fun and relax time. Although we are not a Lodge, we try to offer a customized service in a secure atmosphere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews