We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Reviewed 18 September 2017

The people are loverly and the accommodation was good. The water park should of been free for people staying in the resort and it was a bit to close to the airport. Planes taking off at 3.30 in the morning.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish P, General Manager at Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Debbie T,

We appreciate your patronage on your recent stay at Grand West Sands Phuket and for posting your impressions on your experience.

Reading your good comment is giving us reassurance on our performance, we all appreciate the recognition. Our resort has built a reputation on providing sincere care and attention to all out guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back the soonest possible.

Best regards,
Manish Pratap

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

I've been fortunate enough to visit and stay a lot of 5* hotels (and 4!) but this by far is the worst I've ever been too.

Hotel: old, dated, dirty in some parts! How it's 5* is quite shocking!

Check in: slow and painful. They tried to charge us for water park (the only good thing about the hotel and only reason we booked it despite the no of bad reviews) but luckily we had it included in the package. The water park is no longer included in hotel and charges relatively high price.

Room: AWFUL! Dated. Half light working. Holes in floor. Shaky/ unstable bunk bed. We were given block 9- avoid this block!! Our air con flap fell down one night with a loud bang! By this point I had given up on expecting anything from this hotel.

Buggy device: slow and incredibly inefficient. You could find yourself waiting 15/30 mins because some buggies are full. As resort is so big (lovely gardens I have to say) it's hard to walk around in high temp with young kids so you are dependent on this service.

Restaurant: only 2 in the entire resort with limited menus and poor service. Breakfast time is cattle market and service is slow and inefficient. Decor is really poor!

Overall not great. I complained about the bunk beds (as I could live with minor issues with the room) and it took them 2 days to address. My kids were scared to sleep on bed. Given slow pace of service and lack of service I even reported it to the management. She didn't seem to care and offered me same room in slightly better state (sofa actually had cushions and a backing!, no holes and so forth) only to find same dodgy bunk beds. I told them I wasn't happy and no one cared or even bothered to respond! Sums up the hotels attitude.

By this point I gave up and tried to enjoy my stay and make the most of the water park with kids. The water park is suited more for younger families.

The management is very poor in this place. I have read previous reviews where they appear to look like they are addressing issues but I can assure you it's all words! The staff are clueless and most (few were nice!) don't seem interested in helping or assisting guests unless you stay in a villa then you might be given a smile or half decent service! Thankfully we moved to another genuine 5* hotel which we payed less and actually got 5* hotel experience!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank rubyuklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish P, Guest Relations Manager at Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear rubyuklondon,

Thank you for choosing Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket and taking time for sharing your experience with our hotel and services.
We deeply regret that that you did not feel recognized on this trip, however, we want to ensure you that this is not standard level of our service.

Your feedback is of a paramount importance to us and also a very good way to measure our performance and focus on the areas for improvement. Constant emphasis on guest satisfaction has become one of our daily priorities.

We apologize for any inconveniences that any of these issues caused during your stay.
Perhaps next time you will be more comfortable in our Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket.

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Territory is impressive huge and green. It is very comfortable to move from one point to other by Car Buggy. The room was spacious and nice with Kitchen Area . We could cook when wish. Very tasty and diverse breakfast - buffet, dinners were arranged in traditions of difference country every day ( Spanish, American, Mediterranean, Italian and ctr.) Wide children buffet. Staff in the restaurant on the see coast was very polite and courteous. Especially I'd like to mark very attentive Elle and Kangfu with brilliant smile who were glad us sincerely and make us happy !
Thank you very much and with warm regards from Kazakhstan!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank marinakaplenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish P, General Manager at Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear marinakaplenko,

We were delighted to be the host for the holidays you recently spent at Grand West Sands Phuket and appreciate the feedback you wrote on you experience.

I am particularly happy to read of your entire satisfaction throughout your stay, I have shared your positive comment with the team, we are grateful for the recognition you gave. At Grand West Sands Phuket, we are always eager to provide excellent service with a relaxing ambiance.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back the soonest possible.

Warmest regards,
Manish Pratap

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at this resort. Great if arriving or at the end of a trip as its close proximity to the airport. The food was good. All staff that we encounted were very friendly and helpful.
The water park was good but a 1/2 day visit was enough for us. The resort was very near airport so the noise of the planes taking off was a distraction. We would be happy to visit the resort again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank djkiwi2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish P, General Manager at Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear djkiwi2015,

We were delighted to be the host for the holidays you recently spent at Grand West Sands Phuket and appreciate the feedback you wrote on you experience.

I am particularly happy to read of your entire satisfaction throughout your stay, I have shared your positive comment with the team, we are grateful for the recognition you gave. At Grand West Sands Phuket, we are always eager to promote genuine humanity and respect to all our guests always.

We are glad that you have decided to come back and look forward to pampering soon again.

Best regards,
Manish Pratap

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

This resort is absolutely stunning! It is huge!. The water park is okay but over priced. We stayed about 2 hours and we are a couple in our 20s. The room was nice and bathroom was big. The scenery is lush with 2 pools the beach side infinity pool is huge! The walk to the beach from out room was around 7 mins that's how big this place is. The beach was lovely too. We only stayed 1 night as a stop over to the airport for that I wouldn't stay here as it's round the back side of the airport and the company in reception said 700 baht for a cab which is outrageous. So we got a grabtaxi for 350 baht. Breakfast was 1 of the best we had over there. Would most defo go back if we weren't island hopping and instead staying put for a week or 2!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Yasmin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish P, General Manager at Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Yasmin H,

We were delighted to be the host for the holidays you recently spent at Grand West Sands Phuket and appreciate the feedback you wrote on you experience.

I am particularly happy to read of your entire satisfaction throughout your stay, I have shared your positive comment with the team, we are grateful for the recognition you gave. At Grand West Sands Phuket, we are always eager to provide good service with a relaxing ambiance.

We are glad that you have decided to come back and look forward to pampering soon again.

Best regards,
Manish Pratap

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
4.5 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
4.8 km away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.7 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#11 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,207 reviews
24 km away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
30.9 km away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket

Address: 65 Moo 4, Mai Khao Soi 4, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $113 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket is located on the west coast of Phuket and set in 47 acres of land with 500 metres of pristine beach frontage on Mai Khao Beach, the longest and quietest stretch of beach on this side of the island. The resort has been designed to blend in with its ecologically sensitive environment, and has its own green systems that ensure the natural resources of the area are conserved.The design focus of the resort is an extensive water park with swimming pools, a lazy river and waterslides, including a huge Super Bowl slide. All rooms, suites and villas are of modern design and are carefully sited to take advantage of the stunning views of the Andaman Sea and Phuket's dramatic hinterland.Although this part of Phuket is renowned for its extensive areas of natural and undisturbed beauty, the resort is only 15 minutes away from Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Sands Hotel Phuket
Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing