We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax: JW Marriott Mai Khao beach Phuket”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Phuket Town, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to relax: JW Marriott Mai Khao beach Phuket”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We spent the first three days on a complimentary invitation in the next door Marriott vacation club ( mind you, the new one !) which is ok but nothing outstanding and preety noisy with tons of young kids all ove the place and young parents who let them run around wherever ...

The JW Marriott, however , which is only couple of hundred meters away, seems to be like a place fom another planet: luxury from the moment one enters the open air reception hall, friendly personal, smiling and helpful people everywhere.

Of course you see that the hotel is not new and there many more flashy places on the island, but its a great place which is worth every dollar

Ask for rooms in the building 7, close to a quite pool and less than 100 meters from the long white beach.

We have been here some 10 years ago , loved it then and consider booking for next year!

Room Tip: If you want to spend a quite week than ask specifically for a room far away fom the kids club/pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaltenbrunnerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,977
    785
    184
    69
    31
See reviews for
1,650
1,298
125
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

From the room,, to the pools, to the staff - a great palce to escape and relax. The grounds are beautiful and the service is great. The only complaint (very, very minor) if a little more variety of menus for a one week stay would be great. Awesome place to bring a family

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This is a good hotel but we (a family of 3) agree with many other reviewers in that it doesn't quite tick all the boxes. Please find a list of our likes and dislikes to help you make up your mid whether this is the palce for you:

Likes
Breakfast at Cucina - far less crowded than the cafe;
South Pool - very tasteful;
Rooms - well appointed and good size with fruit supplied every day;
Gardens - beautifully kept and very relaxing to walk through;
Japanese 'theatre' restaurant - unusual and very memorable;
Tennis courts;
Bicycles for use;
Beach - very unspoilt and quiet;
Ginja restaurant - good lcoation and excellent food;
Babysitting service was reasonably priced;
Sam's science class for kids.

Dislikes
This is a large resort - we prefer something smaller;
TV was on virtually constantly in the kid's club;
Disabled and buggy access not great - some lifts were in odd places, stairs were unavoidable on some routes, pathways not always wide enough or with suitable surface;
Children's menu for room service very limited;
Staff competent but sheer numbers prevented the personal touch;
Wifi internet access and airport transport not provided free - I really think this should be provided at these rates;
Expensive.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed there for 15 days recently as a family of 4 (children 17 and 12).
The resort is definitely NOT a 5 star and has not been up to our expectations in many ways.
First, it has no character, you don't feel yourself in Thailand there, it's just a huge resort full and crowded with no special atmosphere and so big that you need to walk for ages before getting to where you want.
Rooms are ok but nothing special, terraces are ugly, you don't even want to rest there for an hour.
Breakfast is crowded and noisy you have to queue every morning! They don't let you go eat outside even if there are tables available, after a few days we noticed that and started to become irritated.
After a few morning not having had at least 2 seats at the pool next to each other, my husband woke up every morning at 7am to put towels and other stuff on the seats at the pool to book them otherwise no way we could have forgot about it! This was horrible for us! and it was such a pity to see people hanging around at 9am desperately seeking for a seat.
Restaurant are expensive and not that good except the Italian where we went often because of the food and the nice terrace but I am sorry to be picky but we had to listen to the same exactly music each time we went during all our stay, at the end we knew the songs by heart and we had a big laugh about it!
There were smells a bit everywhere particularly around the back offices which disgusted me.
For us this hotel was just a huge and noisy factory with no special flavor and with
a very low level of comfort and facilities.
We bumped into the managers a few times during these 15 days who did not even say hello or smiled.
Definitely not a good spot!

Room Tip: Change hotel if you can, if not, ask for a room not too far from the restaurant otherwise be prepare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jeanadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This place is top class and even though it is a JW and you will all the amenities that go along with that, we found Phuket to be especially affordable (and we never left the resort)!

This particular Marriott is very quiet and peaceful. The beach is very private - no vendors as I heard there are on other parts of the island. Everyday was as gorgeous as a post card.

The service, food and the rooms were all amazing too! Probably the biggest reason we never left the resort. We will return without a doubt.

Room Tip: You will never be in the room, unless you get the random afternoon rain storm...take any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erinjbenedetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
1.2 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
21.0 km away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
479 reviews
31.1 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
20.7 km away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,854 reviews
0.3 km away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 231 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price range (per night): $172 - $600
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa is set in lush tropical gardens, with 17 kms of natural beachfront. Fifteen minutes north of the airport, our Phuket resort's grounds comprise 265 spacious rooms including 13 suites, all facing towards the Andaman Sea. Facilities include eleven restaurants and bars, Thai cooking school, three magnificent pools, full-service Mandara Spa, on-site turtle shelter, shopping arcade, activities-packed kids club including on-site turtle shelter. The fitness center includes two tennis courts, yoga sala. Golf available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Phuket Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Jw Marriott Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket
Phuket Marriott
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing