We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
120
8
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
8
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kina suite abel tasman new zealand glass of wine long drive perfect place two couples beautiful garden national park live here fiona platter mountains property hosts estuary nelson
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Expect a genuinely warm welcome from owners Fiona & Ron. We loved the rural location among fruit farms and vineyards with easy access to Nelson city and airport, the Moutere wineries, Kaiteriteri for access to Abel-Tasman and Mapua Wharf for waterfront restaurants and bike hire. Our favourite trip was to the estuary village of Marahau, strolling along empty beaches, eating at "Hooked", and walking (you could kayak) to split-apple rock beach.

The guest wing of their beautiful modern property has it's own entrance, private decks with furniture, and access to the extensive landscaped grounds. The garden is home to a great variety of birds - bring binoculars. Views extend westwards across a tidal lagoon, as far as snow-capped mountains. We stayed in the Kina suite, including a luxurious shower room, large double bedroom with extremely comfortable bed, leather recliner and excellent views through huge windows. The open plan sitting/dining/kitchen room has leather sofas, microwave, hotplates, fridge etc, and is fully equipped for cooking. A welcome grocery pack included eggs, milk, bread, cereals, fruit, butter, jams etc. Additional supplies are available at nearby country stores and supermarkets.

There is access to the family swimming pool and (at small extra charge) laundry facilities.

I suggest you contact the owners directly, to discuss your accommodation options.

A very scenic 4-hour drive took us across the mountains to the west coast, for the next stage of our trip.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacntone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona O, Owner at Almyra Waterfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you very much for your review on Almyra and for all the useful information you have added to help future guests make an informed decision about where they stay in the wonderful Tasman/Abel Tasman region. We are so pleased to hear that your stay at Almyra was such a happy and relaxed one and we hope to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We stayed in the Kina suite, which was decorated to the highest of standards, with the finest of furnishings and fittings.
This trip was a long time in the making and Fiona has made emailing the organising a pleasure, with her efficient friendliness.
We ordered the most amazing gourmet platter, which put all our taste buds into overdrive, wonderful.
We were welcomed like old friends, and hope that we can now remain so.
The views and the location are just superb, I cannot rate this property or its owners highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona O, Owner at Almyra Waterfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

My apologies for such a very long delay in writing a response to your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed Almyra so much and we do hope that you will visit us again when you are next in the Tasman/Motueka area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016

From booking to departing, and everything in between, it was a pleasure to stay at this property. The owners, Fiona and Ron, were friendly and helpful - no request was too small, or too big. The rooms and facilities were luxurious - and clean, quiet, spacious and comfortable. The expansive grounds are beautifully landscaped and tranquil. Great pool. The location is ideal - so convenient to all the great things the Nelson-Tasman area has to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Johnoraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Had very high hopes for this property and it was beyond my expectations. Very small, only two guest rooms, but the location, the property and the hosts were amazing. This is clearly the place to stay when visiting Nelson.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mhb1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed overnight as part of the Great Taste Trail cycling trip. Even though it was a bit further to cycle it was well worth the trip. Great room, great views and tasty platter and pizza for dinner. Pool, spa - what more do you need after a day's riding.
Great hosts - well worth the extra effort.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews