We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A calming stay in a world fraught with stress”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Almyra Waterfront Lodge
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Being a frequent visitor to Upper Montere area near Nelson, we sought a new location to stay and were attracted to Almyra because of its location - convenient to Motueka, Richmond and Nelson. While the amenities of being served meals was available, we chose not to as we were visiting friends almost every evening.

But, coming back to Almyra was like coming home... despite an excess of rain in the week we were there. A peaceful vista overlooking the water ... a hot shower ... a comfortable king-size bed ... and the amenities of a modest kitchen that offered us the basics we needed.

Owners Fiona and Ron were happy to share their knowledge of the area. The staff was always there to help with the 'little things.'

Would we go back? In a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Almyra has only two suites. Both are equally appealing. At the end of the day, it comes down to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougW964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona O, Owner at Almyra Waterfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you very much for your review and we are so glad to hear that your most recent visit to the Upper Moutere and Tasman region was another unforgettable experience. We hope that if you visit again you will consider Almyra in your choice of accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Expect a genuinely warm welcome from owners Fiona & Ron. We loved the rural location among fruit farms and vineyards with easy access to Nelson city and airport, the Moutere wineries, Kaiteriteri for access to Abel-Tasman and Mapua Wharf for waterfront restaurants and bike hire. Our favourite trip was to the estuary village of Marahau, strolling along empty beaches, eating at "Hooked", and walking (you could kayak) to split-apple rock beach.

The guest wing of their beautiful modern property has it's own entrance, private decks with furniture, and access to the extensive landscaped grounds. The garden is home to a great variety of birds - bring binoculars. Views extend westwards across a tidal lagoon, as far as snow-capped mountains. We stayed in the Kina suite, including a luxurious shower room, large double bedroom with extremely comfortable bed, leather recliner and excellent views through huge windows. The open plan sitting/dining/kitchen room has leather sofas, microwave, hotplates, fridge etc, and is fully equipped for cooking. A welcome grocery pack included eggs, milk, bread, cereals, fruit, butter, jams etc. Additional supplies are available at nearby country stores and supermarkets.

There is access to the family swimming pool and (at small extra charge) laundry facilities.

I suggest you contact the owners directly, to discuss your accommodation options.

A very scenic 4-hour drive took us across the mountains to the west coast, for the next stage of our trip.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacntone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona O, Owner at Almyra Waterfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you very much for your review on Almyra and for all the useful information you have added to help future guests make an informed decision about where they stay in the wonderful Tasman/Abel Tasman region. We are so pleased to hear that your stay at Almyra was such a happy and relaxed one and we hope to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We stayed in the Kina suite, which was decorated to the highest of standards, with the finest of furnishings and fittings.
This trip was a long time in the making and Fiona has made emailing the organising a pleasure, with her efficient friendliness.
We ordered the most amazing gourmet platter, which put all our taste buds into overdrive, wonderful.
We were welcomed like old friends, and hope that we can now remain so.
The views and the location are just superb, I cannot rate this property or its owners highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona O, Owner at Almyra Waterfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

My apologies for such a very long delay in writing a response to your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed Almyra so much and we do hope that you will visit us again when you are next in the Tasman/Motueka area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016

From booking to departing, and everything in between, it was a pleasure to stay at this property. The owners, Fiona and Ron, were friendly and helpful - no request was too small, or too big. The rooms and facilities were luxurious - and clean, quiet, spacious and comfortable. The expansive grounds are beautifully landscaped and tranquil. Great pool. The location is ideal - so convenient to all the great things the Nelson-Tasman area has to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Johnoraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Had very high hopes for this property and it was beyond my expectations. Very small, only two guest rooms, but the location, the property and the hosts were amazing. This is clearly the place to stay when visiting Nelson.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mhb1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tasman
13.7 km away
Motueka River Lodge
Motueka River Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ngatimoti
16 reviews
0.4 km away
Windhover Suites
Windhover Suites
#2 of 7 in Tasman
6 reviews
11.4 km away
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Waters
The Waters
#2 of 24 in Motueka
105 reviews
3.8 km away
Aporo Pondsiders
Aporo Pondsiders
#3 of 7 in Tasman
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almyra Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyra Waterfront Lodge

Address: 193 Kina Peninsula Road, Tasman, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Tasman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Tasman
Price Range: $365 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Almyra Waterfront Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury premium boutique five star quality coastal retreat accommodation for couples. The two accommodation suites offer total privacy & comfortable super king (twin bed option on prior request) or king beds dressed with 600 thread count Egyptian linens and duvets; thick-pile carpets; plenty of storage and hanging space; large picture windows leading onto private decks; luxury en-suites with walk-in showers; underfloor heating with Italian tiles; demist vanity mirrors; vanity; toilet; dressing robes and slippers; fluffy white towels - beach/swimming towels are also provided. The Kina Suite also has a living room/kitchenette for guests to self cater with an outside deck and BBQ. The Tasman Suite is our luxurious bed & breakfast suite - with breakfast served to the Suite. Each Suite is beautifully equipped for discerning couples looking for peace, tranquility and privacy in an amazing setting of 3.5 Acres of grounds with water frontage. Free WIFI is offered to all guests. Guest laundry (small charge), DVD Library - guests welcome to borrow DVDs free of charge, Gourmet dinner platter to share (prior notice please). We have a hot spa for year round use and outdoor solar heated swimming pool that guests are welcome to use in summer. Enjoy amazing water and mountain views; incredible sunsets; ever changing tides and the opportunity for bird watching; photography; painting; kayaking; fishing; boating; golf; relaxing and chilling out and just enjoying a magical break. The Accommodation wing is accessed by a private guest driveway and entrance, with separate guest parking. Feel free to come and go as you please without interruption or disturbance. A world class experience in an idyllic setting. No wonder so many of our discerning international and domestic visitors are rating Almyra Waterfront Lodge their No.1 Destination in New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Almyra Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing