We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Vacation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Yealand House

Front entrance to house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front entrance to house
View from hillside above the house Main Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Front entrance to house
View from hillside above the house
Main Living Room
Ensuite bedroom1
2nd ensuite bedroom
View from Living room window
View Living Room from house
View from side of house
View from kitchen door
Kitchen
Living Room
Crinan Harbour  2 minute walk through back garden
Jura
Front of the house
Crinan Canal Basin
single beds - third bedroom
Sunset from balcony of house
Side of house view
Spring view to Crinan Harbour
Cosy in Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Crinan, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Theodore...
1 review
“Wonderful Vacation”
Reviewed 1 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We spent a wonderful week in June, 2018 at Yealand House. Very comfortable for our party of 5. Hidden down a driveway from several other houses, you’ll enjoy perfect quiet. The kitchen is well-equipped for preparing and consuming full meals (several food markets are located in nearby Lochgilphead if you’re doing the cooking). The clothes washer, dryer, and dishwasher are all in top condition, too. The family room enjoys stunning views over the water to Jura, with light past 11pm in June. There is also a sunny room at the back of the house, perfect for morning tea and coffee. There are plenty of activities nearby to entertain, from touristed Oban to Neolithic barrows and standing stones in the Glen of Kilmartin. A stroll down the canal path to Cairnbaan, or beyond, is highly recommended, likewise as to the trail in Crinan Woods. We’d love to return someday! Highly recommended.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2018
Thank you Theodore for such an informative review. I think you have captured the essence of the house and why we think it important to keep it as a quiet and peaceful home for our guests to enjoy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YogiLich
Lichfield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spacious family accommodation in a spectacular area”
Reviewed 4 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This has been as good as any holiday accommodation that we have stayed in. As well as the beautiful location and spectacular views and sunsets, this extremely well appointed property also provided table tennis and darts in a double garage - great for the family. This is also a wonderful area to explore especially for the wildlife and flowers - the beaver lochs, the boat trips, beautiful Crinan itself and so much more. Local shops at nearby Lochgilphead and Crinan's Seafood Bar are additional benefits.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2018
Thank you for such a lovely review. Much appreciated. We try to keep the house as comfortable and as homely as possible.
Richard
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki H
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous house with loads of space for everyone to relax in.”
Reviewed 25 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The house has the most amazing views and although a little cold when we arrived, it warmed up quickly, helped along by the lovely cake, tea, and milk that had been kindly left for us. It has 3 good sized rooms, with one of them a double which has its own lounge and bathroom - ideally if your traveling with anyone that needs a bit of space. The living room is huge and has lots of great books, interesting family articles and a real sense of being a family home. The local area is also beautiful. We drove down to Machrihansih which is the tip of Argyl seeing the seals on the way and also spent a day in Oban. Traveling through the hills along the Moss road, amazing scenery (takes about an hour- but worth it). Should also say the owner and housekeeper couldn't have been more helpful both before and on arrival. Would love to go back again soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space in the house.
Liked least: It was a bit chilly when we arrived but did soon warm up.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2016
Thank you Vicki.
Obviously at this time of year the weather is cold in Scotland and we had snow the week before you arrived so it is difficult to warm the place up when it has been empty. However I am glad you enjoyed our family home and enjoyed the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
broondog
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just returned from a wonderful few days at Yealand house. Our only regret being that we had not booked for a longer stay. The house has a lovely warm family feel about it from the moment you step in. The pictures as nice as they are cannot do it justice. The views are stunning and to sit and watch the changing colours as the sun sets is a real pleasure. The west coast itself is lovely and a trip to the islands off the coast a must along with eating fresh seafood at the lovely town of Oban. Visiting from a place where we never seen a really dark night it was stunning to step outside the house on a clear dark night and look up to see a whole array of stars it was sight that will stay with me forever. We intend to return such was the impression the house and the area had on us and if you are thinking of booking the house please do so you will be rewarded with a lovely memory..

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Thank you very much for your comments. We aim to retain the family feel of the house and we are delighted that you share our enthusiasm for this very special place.

We look forward to you coming again.

Richard Liley
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duncan546
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location and lovely house”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Views over the isles were fantastic and so close to the lovely town of Crinan (& canal) and Kilmartin Glen. House was spacious, attractive and well-appointed. Of course all this comes with a matching price tag.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Thank you for the review our prices are very reasonable for a house with these facilities.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing